Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2015, 10:10 AM   #1
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,345
ScanGuage D?

Have any of you used the ScanGuage D on your DP with the Cummins ISC350 engine? Thanks for your comments!
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-15-2015, 11:00 AM   #2
1977-2006
 
USMCRET's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,409
I've had it since sometime last fall. It does what it's supposed to do.
__________________

__________________
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910
ISC on a Spartan
USMCRET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 11:04 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
1ciderdog's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,325
I have it on a CAT 330 and it is capable of providing more information than I need.
__________________
Bob, Sandi & Marmaduke the Big Pug
SW OREGON 2004 Journey 39K, 330 Cat
If towing: a 2006 Mini Cooper or 1995 Wrangler
1ciderdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 11:28 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
znt1186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 490
Got one from my son for Christmas. Easy to connect and gives a lot of useful information that is more accurate than the dash gauges. It can give you a lot of different readings, but be aware that you will have to reset the readouts you want every time you turn of the ignition.
__________________
znt1186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 11:43 AM   #5
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by znt1186 View Post
Got one from my son for Christmas. Easy to connect and gives a lot of useful information that is more accurate than the dash gauges. It can give you a lot of different readings, but be aware that you will have to reset the readouts you want every time you turn of the ignition.

I just talked with Christina in tech support and she says there is a setting that will keep the unit from losing your selected readouts!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 11:54 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mccrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 352
Just installed one on my ISC 330 my only complaint is you have to have the engine running to access it. There might be a setting i haven't found yet
__________________
Bob & Elaine McClelland and the spoiled pup Izzie
2008 Monaco Diplomat
Desert Hills & Parker Az
mccrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 12:03 PM   #7
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrob View Post
Just installed one on my ISC 330 my only complaint is you have to have the engine running to access it. There might be a setting i haven't found yet

Bob, just curious, but why would you want to access it without the engine running?
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 12:05 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 72
I have the ScanGauge D on my 300 and love it. As noted above, Christina at ScanGauge can walk you through the steps that will "save" your settings when you turn off the power. Her information is also in the owner's manual, but you have to read the entire book to find it as the location of the settings, are in a section most of us wouldn't look. Or PM me and I'll send the info to you that she sent me.

Best price I found was $160 before a 15% discount, with free shipping. ScanGauge D Digital Trip Monitor SGD: Advance Auto Parts

As a mature citizen driver, I do wish the gauge screen was larger, and do wish I could view more the four gauges at one time, or alternatively, the firmware would allow the ScanGauge to move through self-set screens to allow me to see more screens, hands free.
__________________
Coulter & Friends
2004 KSDP 3353/Cummins 5.9/Allison/Freightliner
Central California
Coulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 12:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
chawkins99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Calera, AL
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrob View Post
Just installed one on my ISC 330 my only complaint is you have to have the engine running to access it. There might be a setting i haven't found yet
Mine works with or without the engine running.

Not only that, it works with BOTH battery disconnects disconnected That did surprise me.


Edit: The display goes off when I kill the engine but pressing any buttons brings it back.
__________________
Chris, Jo & Dell (Siberian Husky - 110lb of fur and muscle)
2003 Beaver Santiam 40DST - Cummins 330ISC
Closely followed by a 2012 Equinox AWD
chawkins99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 01:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Frutza's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Crown Point, In
Posts: 305
X2, Advanced auto discount, But on a Cat, works well
__________________
Mike & Becky
2005 Gulfstream Crescendo 8356
Frutza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 01:09 PM   #11
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,345
I just bought the ScanGuage D at RVWholesalers for $139.95 with free shipping!

ScanGuage D - RVWholesalers.com RV Parts and Accessories
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 02:46 PM   #12
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,345
I was just reading the user manual online for the ScanGuage D and noticed that the standard readouts do not include Exhaust Gas Temperature. I called tech support to ask about this.

They said that there is a "search" routine that can be run on an individual coach that shows all available functions that the ECM is putting out. I think she said that the results of the search must be sent to them for "decoding".

Is there anyone out there with the 2002 Monaco Windsor and ISC350 engine that has done this and if so, is the EGT an available readout? Thanks!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 02:57 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
chawkins99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Calera, AL
Posts: 466
I ran the scan on mine and sent to support.

No EGT but it did have "Power-Take-off set speed" as an option


Others were "Cruise Control set speed (MPH)" and "Transmission output shaft speed (RPM)"
__________________
Chris, Jo & Dell (Siberian Husky - 110lb of fur and muscle)
2003 Beaver Santiam 40DST - Cummins 330ISC
Closely followed by a 2012 Equinox AWD
chawkins99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 03:24 PM   #14
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by chawkins99 View Post
I ran the scan on mine and sent to support.

No EGT but it did have "Power-Take-off set speed" as an option


Others were "Cruise Control set speed (MPH)" and "Transmission output shaft speed (RPM)"

What is "Power-take-off set speed" ?
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F-53 Temperature gauge or idiot light Raining Star Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 16 10-15-2014 12:24 AM
ScanGuage II gr8grumpy Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 09-26-2014 06:05 PM
ScanGuage good deal online. noserider Class A Motorhome Discussions 37 09-13-2014 09:22 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.