Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-22-2016, 07:57 PM   #1

Shore Line Power Upgrade

Hi Folks, I am new to RV'ing but very familiar with electrical, plumbing, cabinet making and such.

RV: 2000 Winne Brave SE 31'

Here is the issue, I know its a common one. I have 2 AC units, a 30 amp panel, and a 45 amp gen. When on shore power I can run 1 AC (on switch front or back) when I am on gen I can run both AC units on the same 30 amp plug/cord.

I want to upgrade the shoreline to a 50 amp with a transfer switch. Really all I care about is being able to run both AC on shore power.

My question is how in the heck is this thing wired? Yes this was a factory install. The rear AC is not hot to the gen outlet because of the internal switch. Additionally the power block (yes this what I call the fuse block/inverter/12v transfer switch) must be able to sense the difference in power inputs because if I try to turn on the 2nd AC it prevents it when on 15/30 amp shore power.

*For note I opened the shore power/gen outlet connection box and it is just standard 12g 3 wire coming from the gen and going to the power block.

I want to upgrade this so I can run the 2nd AC on shore power (50 amp) without removing the straight 30 amp internal front back switch from the loop as that would limit functionality. Adding the 110v transfer switch is a bonus and should be really easy once I get this issue figured out.

Thanks for the help in advance.
imob is offline   Reply With Quote