Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2015, 07:00 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 147
thank you all!
__________________

__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 8.3 Cummins
blkcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-10-2015, 07:00 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by blkcloud View Post
so.. both need to be plugged in when at a rv park?
If you do not have one I would get a 30 amp to 50 amp adapter for those
times you are at a 30 amp park only.
__________________

__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 07:20 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 147
Is this it?
http://www.amazon.com/Camco-55185-Po...amp+rv+adapter
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 8.3 Cummins
blkcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 07:21 PM   #18
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by blkcloud View Post
When i'm at home I sometimes plug my MH into a outlet at my shop.. I have the adapter with the 3 legs, but when I use it nothing in my MH will come on.. so I bought a new one thinking it was bad and the new one will not work either... so I bought the little black round adapter and tried it.. presto I have power... I'm sure this is simple to you all but.. why am I not getting any power with the 3 legged adapters? thanks in advance..
Quote:
Originally Posted by blkcloud View Post
I plug my MH into the round adapter that goes from 4 to 3, the 4 is the 50 amp coming out of my MH, the 3 plugs into a 110 ground fault outlet..
Quote:
Originally Posted by blkcloud View Post
im not sure how to enlarge the picture.. when I look at it on my photobucket its twice as big,but when I up loaded to the site it shrunk,,??
blkcloud
Forget about the pictures.
Simply use the adapter that DOES WORK... (and don't try to use the adapters that DON'T)!
I can't understand why you bought another adapter exactly like the one that didn't work and expected it to work.
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 07:23 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
Yes that is the one to change a 30 amp to the 50 amp to feed your MH
__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 07:35 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by wb7auk View Post
Yes that is the one to change a 30 amp to the 50 amp to feed your MH
Well, it doesn't actually do that either as a 50 amp RV can use 50 amps on both L1 and L2 giving you potentially 100 amps.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 07:41 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
Well, it doesn't actually do that either as a 50 amp RV can use 50 amps on both L1 and L2 giving you potentially 100 amps.
I was talking about the outlets not the current being supplied.
__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 07:52 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by wb7auk View Post
I was talking about the outlets not the current being supplied.
Probably should have stated that then.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 07:59 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
Probably should have stated that then.
You are right even tho I clearly was referencing the outlets on several of
my post.
__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 08:21 PM   #24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 647
Seems like the forum ought to have a training article on this to just refer someone to.

Here is an offsite training video.
__________________
RodgerS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 08:30 PM   #25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 647
Here is another one:
__________________
RodgerS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 09:08 PM   #26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 647
Here is the forum link
iRV2 Forums - Files - Electrical
RV Electrical Hook Ups : 50 and 30 Amp electrical service wiring (227.4 KB)
__________________
RodgerS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 07:12 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by mel s View Post
blkcloud
Forget about the pictures.
Simply use the adapter that DOES WORK... (and don't try to use the adapters that DON'T)!
I can't understand why you bought another adapter exactly like the one that didn't work and expected it to work.
Mel
'96 Safari
Mel, had you read my post that you quoted you would have seen that I thought my original adapter was bad... therefor I bought a new one....
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 8.3 Cummins
blkcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 10:39 AM   #28
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 472
I believe the quote was " so I bought a new one thinking it was bad and the new one will not work either..."

It never stated the original one was actually bad.
__________________

__________________
Fl_Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Amp But No 50 Amp Shore Power fixn2gocamp RV Systems & Appliances 27 10-03-2014 05:48 AM
Shore Power vs Battery Power Judy Z iRV2.com General Discussion 8 10-02-2014 08:44 PM
Shore Power vs Battery Power Judy Z Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 6 09-26-2014 11:32 PM
Uugghhh... No power but shore power TPLI Class C Motorhome Discussions 22 05-08-2014 09:41 PM
Can we use shore power and inverter together? MariannRobin Newmar Owner's Forum 17 04-09-2014 06:15 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.