Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-04-2014, 02:21 PM   #1

Small Class A or Super C?

Hello all, I am new to the forum, but I've been RVing for about 10 years now.

Started with a pop-up, switched to a 32' TT for more living space and room for dogs. Got rid of the TT and diesel GMC 2500 because we didn't have time to hassle with retrieving it from storage and loading/hooking it up for a short 2 day weekend when i was deploying for 6-7 months per year. Bought another pop-up this year and quickly added an inverter, 100W solar panel, battery monitor and a 200ah AGM battery. Lots of work, but works great for just the two of us.

We're working on a family now, and with the possible adoption of a group of siblings in the near future, we think that pop-up with kids and three dogs may not be a fun place for long.

We're leaning toward a motorhome in the mid 30 foot range. We don't want a van based Class C due to the tiny passenger side footwell (we're both nearly 6 feet tall) and the low towing capacity.

Our "requirements" are a king bed for us plus either bunks or a drop down overhead queen, a kitchen with some counter space (in addition to the sink and stove), and the ability to SAFELY tow 5,500-6,000 lbs.

Can we realistically do this with a gas class A? If so, what are some good options? The Bounder Classic 34B seemed great, until I realized there was no way we could put a reasonable load, 4 people, 3 dogs and full tanks and still pull our Durango (or anything else).