Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2013, 06:28 PM   #1
Member
 
outthere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 67
smoked the inverter

Hi all, just had a building built for our 2000 tiffin mh. They wired it for 30 amps and wen I plugged it in, it fried the INTELCI POWER 9100 inverter(model #PD9155). Is there something the elect company done or just a fluke? I hooked the meter up to the new plug and its 240 volts.. Help please before I try to make them pay for something that was not their fault. used the mh 2 weeks ago and no problem.. Thanks..
__________________

__________________
outthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-17-2013, 06:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ranger Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Where the Rig is Parked
Posts: 933
They wired something wrong or you told them something wrong. It needs to be a 120 volt 30A circuit and not a 240 volt 30A circuit which is what you obviously got there.
__________________

__________________
Ranger Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 06:33 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
So sorry to hear of your troubles, but if you just asked an electrician to install a 30 amp household outlet, he probably put in a 240v 30 amp service instead of the 30 amp 120v service which is unique to RVs.

IMHO, if you asked to have an RV service installed... they should pay. On the other hand if you asked to just have a 30 amp service installed, you're probably on the hook... poorer but wiser.

Best of luck.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 07:01 PM   #4
Member
 
RaynMary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 61
We had our electrician wire a 30 amp outlet for oir rv. The night before the appointment, he called us with a question about the outlet. We took the opportunity to fax him some info. : http://www.myrv.us/electric/
He then wired the outlet, no problems. I did check it myself before plugging in.
__________________
Illinois
2015 Thor Vegas 24.1
RaynMary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 07:20 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
The typical rv inverter takes a 120v input consisting of a 120v hot leg plus a neutral leg. Sounds like you put -120v (for brevity of explanation let's say that leg is equal in voltage but opposite in sign) so the potential voltage is 240v which fried the inverter.
Sorry to hear that.
Now you have to check out all your other gear on that leg, as you have probably put 240v into your fridge, micro wave, tv, etc. Hopefully the initial plug-in tripped the breaker quickly & minimal damage was done.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:13 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Common mistake for electricians that are not familiar with 30 amp RV power. They will wire it as a 30 amp, 240 volt plug.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 01:09 PM   #7
Member
 
outthere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 67
thanks all. he forgot to tell his helper, and he ran 240 wire and all. he said he would pay for the inverter, $274.00. I'm a industrial pipefitter/welder by trade and i hate to see someone make mastakes like that. I did not want him to pay if there was a miss understanding.. So,, all is well, fridge and microwave/ a c are ok. THANKS AGAIN!!!
__________________
outthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 02:27 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
buck454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NorthEast Texas
Posts: 671
Excellent. You, and the electrical company, were lucky of no futher damage other than inverter. Nice to know the company made the right correction in the end. Good business.
Glad all went well.

Suspect several of US learned from your incident.
b
__________________
competitive shooter RVer
2006 Gulfstream Friendship G7 8411 400HP Cum.
RM Sterling/'07 Chevy Colorado CrewCab 4x4
buck454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 02:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
no3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 516
Just had a 50 amp service installed at home and handed the instructions to him bevore he started, we both did a check when done to ensure it was done properly. (think he did not like the idea of me providing instructions, or watching him do the work, it's our house and our MH not his)
__________________
2009 Berkshire 390 QS and toad
Retired and traveling
no3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 09:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Jim_HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Full time RV'er
Posts: 1,659
Are you sure everything else is OK? I don't see how all that equipment looking for 120Vac would survive very long on 240Vac. Usually in these cases people tell us of several items ruined, not just the converter.
__________________

__________________
'02 Winnebago Journey DL, DSDP, 36' of fun.

Visit my RV Travel & Repair Blog at : http://chaos.goblinbox.com
Jim_HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.