Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2015, 05:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
tbird2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Speedometer

I am traveling on trip and gauges started to fluctuate on the dash. They act like they do when you first start the coach, where they sweep all the way to both sides. I had new chassis batteries and house batteries installed a couple of days before the trip. I am driving a 2008 American heritage. 600 cummins on a spartan chassis. I will be in ElPaso around 7:00 any
Suggestions would be appreciated either service centers or trouble shooting help. Thanks Dave
__________________

__________________
tbird2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-04-2015, 06:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,598
You may want to check to make sure all battery connections are tight and also that they installed all the wire back and that they are tight. I believe the transmission has a dedicated wire to the batteries, it may be loose. Also check that the (-) ground is tight both at the batteries and the chassis.
__________________

__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 06:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,263
The needle swings point to a bad electrical connection. Since you replaced batteries, I'd start there, remove and clean each connection, including all ground connections. If that doesn't correct the problem, then you'll have to remove and clean connections at the ECU and instrument panel.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 06:42 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
tbird2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
There are two wires of different type, by that I mean of smaller gauge than the original battery cables. Do you suppose one of those is the trans dash indicator cable. I am getting a trans light that comes off and on on the dash as well.
__________________
tbird2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 06:43 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
tbird2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Are those connections on the chassis battery or house battery.
__________________
tbird2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 06:45 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
tbird2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
The two wires I referred to in my first response are in the house battery compartment
__________________
tbird2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 07:35 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,263
Your house batteries should only be for house functions. Chassis batteries should provide power for the ECU, dash, and driving functions. Usually the only exception is electric steps or generator start, which may be on the chassis batteries, but not always.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
speedometer



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
defective speedometer bryanoverbee Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 05-19-2015 11:59 PM
Speedometer Gear Removal Jpony56hd Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 6 02-15-2015 11:11 PM
New Speedometer Needed - How Do I Correct Mileage? MarkinOR Monaco Owner's Forum 10 07-02-2014 11:20 AM
Odometer & speedometer error 1ciderdog MH-General Discussions & Problems 26 02-07-2014 07:38 PM
Speedometer reads low NobodyJr Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 01-28-2014 11:06 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.