Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2011, 09:51 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Howermj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
Stumped: no shoreline or genny power...

Hello all,

Newbie here. Wondering if i'm doing something wrong (i.e., bonehead mistake) or if I have serious problems.....

Background:
- 2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 39'
- low mileage, everything listed below worked just fine this morning at Yellowstone
- just had a grease and brake job in Great Falls, MT...didn't touch any systems listed below

Problem:
- plugged into 50A shoreline, no lights on Freedom 458 nor remote control panel, no transfer of power to coach (no outlets)
- running genny, no lights on Freedom 458, no transfer of power to coach...after about 2 mins, genny starts acting like it's under load

Troubleshooting:
- shoreline cable tested good
- fuse tested good
- CB on Xantrex 458 reset, no power
- CBs (all of them) inside coach reset...still no power
- coach disconnect switch (both of them...one in battery compartment, one in footwell) in correct position
- batteries (chassis and coach) test just fine
- switching to inverter mode on 458 control panel works fine...we get internal 110 power to outlets

I'm stuck in Shelby, MT, on my way to Anchorage for my 8-year old's summer vacation. He's bummed to say the least.

Any ideas?

Dr. Mike
__________________

__________________
Dr. Mike
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser
Howermj is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-08-2011, 10:10 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Hi Mike, welcome to the forum. Sorry to hear about your problems. Have you tried another shore power 50 amp power plug in the campground? Does your motor home have a surge supressor? If so does it have any LEDs to tell you the status and does it have a reset function?
__________________

__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 10:14 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Howermj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
Mike,

Tried two different sites, both 30 and 50A service -- no luck. Even hooked the managers multimeter up to make sure they were delivering power.

Surge suppressor...I don't think so, but from all of the stories I've read here, I think I need to invest in one.
__________________
Dr. Mike
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser
Howermj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 10:18 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
If no surge supressor then the problem is most likely in the transfer switch and it is stuck or the contact are dirty or burned. Do you feel like you are able to open it up and check it out with everything unplugged?
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 10:27 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Howermj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
I'm sure I could open it up...if I knew (a) where it was, or (b) what it looked like.
__________________
Dr. Mike
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser
Howermj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 10:34 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Howermj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
A ha... So the transfer switch is built into the Freedom 458. I'll open her up in the morning and then limp back to Great Falls to find an open shop.
__________________
Dr. Mike
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser
Howermj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 10:35 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Martind4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Marshfield, WI
Posts: 433
The shore power cable terminates inside the transfer switch. Usually a box about 8" square, make sure the power and generator are off, then remove the cover. As Mike said, it might just be some stuck contacts or even loose connections.

I just did a quick lookup on the Freedom 458 and there's no mention of transfer switch being included. It does have automatic switching between inverter power and incoming AC power.

Do a search on this forum on "transfer switch" and you'll find a lot more help.
__________________
Denny, Connie & Shadow (former barn cat made good)
2000 Itasca Horizon, Cat 3126B, Freightliner Chassis
Martind4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 10:42 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Mike, I doubt that the transfer switch is part of the Freedom 458. As Martin has stated It is normally a square gray electrical box roughly 8"X8" normally located in the bay that your shore power cable comes into. It will probably have a name plate on it.

Go to this site if you want to see one. It may or may not be the one you have
ESCO: ES50M-65N Automatic Transfer Switch - Simple Design, Lower Cost

If it is yours then here is the technical data
http://www.escousa.net/Merchant2/gra...air_060607.pdf
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:12 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Howermj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
I pulled the manuals for the 458...transfer switch is included in the charger/inverter box. http://www.xantrex.com/power-product...eedom-458.aspx

Found another post of someone with a similar problem where it could take weeks to get new parts (http://www.gsowners.com/viewtopic.php?t=1972&start=0).

Not sure what my next step will be. I didn't plan on $1200 to replace the system quickly. I may just end up running no shoreline or genny power for the 5 week trip to AK. That would suck, but at least I wouldn't disappoint my little boy who's been planning the trip for a year.
__________________
Dr. Mike
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser
Howermj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:27 PM   #10
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Howermj View Post
I pulled the manuals for the 458...transfer switch is included in the charger/inverter box. Inverter Charger | Freedom 458 Inverter/Charger | Xantrex

Found another post of someone with a similar problem where it could take weeks to get new parts (Gulf Stream Owners RV Forum • View topic - Lost AC power).

Not sure what my next step will be. I didn't plan on $1200 to replace the system quickly. I may just end up running no shoreline or genny power for the 5 week trip to AK. That would suck, but at least I wouldn't disappoint my little boy who's been planning the trip for a year.
I think you're misunderstanding the transfer switch that IS inside the 458....it transfer's either 110 volts from gen/shore or from inverter.......Your "report" said that you've lost ALL power into the coach except power FROM your inverter....It is not the 458 transfer switch that may be your problem. The transfer switch that MAY be your problem is at the coach end of your shore power cable. It's a box that will have 3 cables connected to it internally. The 3 cables are connected to your gen.....shore cable and 110 volt panel inside the coach. The box may be plastic or metal......gray or black and about 8" square and maybe 3" thick. I've seen them in the electrical bay and also inside the coach under the bed in t he rear of the coach.
What I (and others) are trying to tell you is that THIS transfer switch transfers power to your 110 volt panel (inside the coach) from either shore cable or gen. THIS transfer switch may not be making a connection to either source of power and needs to be checked out. Hope this helps you
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:32 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
steved44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
Still think its not the 458 inverter. I have one of those and the only thing it switches is between incoming AC power and Inverter power. The transfer switch (between shore power and generator power) is a separate thing and on my bus is located on the opposite side of the bus than the inverter. I think your transfer switch is stuck. Your shore power cord should come directly into the transfer switch. the other wires coming into the switch are from the generator, which if running, makes the transfer switch automatically change to use power from it. That switch box has quite a few manual contacts which can stick together if the transfer takes place while a load is on the system. Like having the Air Cond running while switching. Good luck Steve
__________________
steved44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 01:20 AM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Mike, I just read up on the Freedom 458 and it is a pretty bad writeup and doesn't help much but one thing it does take about is how to reset the unit. There is an INVERT button on the inverter box in the upper left corner that is also used to reset the whole unit. I would try pushing that INVERT button and see if it will reset and control the transfer switch correctly. If that doesn't fix it then you should try powering the whole motorhome down and turn off all the batteries and disconnect shore power and make sure the Freedom 458 is totally powered down then power it all backup again. If still nothing then hit that INVERT button again.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 06:39 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 452
Dr Mike,

Here is a picture of the one in ours. Note the heavy black Romex cables, there will be two in and one out. One from the genset and the other from shore power, then it feeds the distribution panel.

Bob
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3381.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	264.9 KB
ID:	11951  
__________________
2006 Fleetwood Bounder 35E
Bob and Inga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 07:11 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
rmmpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 1,146
Mike,

Just a thought here; my Son lost all 110 in his Allegro and it turned out to be a tripped GFIC, which was out of the way (read that hidden) under the rear bed. For some reason it was wired to kill all power in the coach.

Start with the simple things first.

Good luck.

Bob
__________________

__________________
Bob (Squidly Down Under) & Peg - 2013 Ford Focus pushing a 2011 Phoenix Cruiser 2552S
"In God we trust" to preserve our country and bring our Troops safely home.
Carry on, regardless..................
rmmpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No ac power from pole dennis46c Monaco Owner's Forum 6 06-01-2011 09:28 PM
NO DC POWER but have AC Power: Here is what I found out first5thwheel 5th Wheel Discussion 0 05-20-2011 01:29 AM
Pure Power opens Navistar engine research center in South Carolina DriVer Navistar MaxxForce Engine Forum 0 01-26-2010 04:02 PM
No aux power from house batteries John Trent Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 02-17-2008 11:59 AM
No Eletrical Power from Power Tech Generator Field Trip Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-27-2005 06:23 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.