Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2013, 07:10 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 25
Surge protection 50 amp class A

Looking at purchasing, but wondering when our RV is in storage it is plugged in to 30 AMP Can u and or should u use the 50 amp surge protector when plugged in to the 30 amp service?? Thanks
__________________

__________________
Ljgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-21-2013, 07:16 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,716
Yes, the 50A surge protector works fine with 30A service, we do it all the time. We have a hard-wired SurgeGuard unit.
__________________

__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:17 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Gadget63's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fair Play, SC
Posts: 986
Send a message via AIM to Gadget63 Send a message via Yahoo to Gadget63
From what I have read here, there is no problem plugging into 30 amps with a 50 amp protector and visa versa
__________________
Richie, Rose and our Australian Terrier Harley
2004 Bounder 35R, 2012 ACME EZtow,2012 Kia Rio Hatchback
Gadget63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:42 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 195
it will also work on15 amp service
__________________
newmar10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 05:22 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
Better have some method of locking it down if left in a storage area, though. They tend to grow legs if not the hard-wired variety..
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Lindsay Richards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tavares, FL
Posts: 1,644
We have a 50 amp and I sure wish I had spent the extra money to get the one that attaches to the coach side of the cord rather than the pedestal side. You have to lug it out and in each time and repack it in the compartment. I believe there is about $100 difference and the lock for the pedestal end is about $25. Really only about $75 difference. Would I lug it in and out hundreds of times for $75, no way.
__________________
http://www.linandnancy.com
Lindsay Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
DGBPokes's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2010
Location: McAlester Ok
Posts: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindsay Richards View Post
We have a 50 amp and I sure wish I had spent the extra money to get the one that attaches to the coach side of the cord rather than the pedestal side. You have to lug it out and in each time and repack it in the compartment. I believe there is about $100 difference and the lock for the pedestal end is about $25. Really only about $75 difference. Would I lug it in and out hundreds of times for $75, no way.
But, when I trade rigs, I take it with me, rather than buy a new
one.
__________________
2007 Newmar KSDP. 3912
2010 Nissan Frontier SE
DGBPokes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:08 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Lindsay Richards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tavares, FL
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
But, when I trade rigs, I take it with me, rather than buy a new
one.
I think you can install and uninstall pretty easily yourself. Maybe somebody has done it. Looks to me like it would be easy. Another factor I forgot to mention is that occasionally, a pedestal will be too low to use it. This has happenedd to me. Once out West, I woke up to find it submerged in a puddle when it rained all night, but lugging it is the main reason.
__________________
http://www.linandnancy.com
Lindsay Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:21 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 1,195
And if it gets fried in a bad surge, you can send the pedestal model back
to be fixed, and still be able to go camping, albeit without any surge
protection. I preferred the non-hard wired option.
__________________
macandphyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Lindsay Richards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tavares, FL
Posts: 1,644
Really no difference here. If the hard wired one gets fried, you can take it off reattach the cord as before without surge protection just like on the other end. Hopefully somebody will comment who has hard wired one.


Look at the first photo on this page to see my surge protector under water. Yikees.

http://www.linandnancy.com/kniveriverindians.html
__________________
http://www.linandnancy.com
Lindsay Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:40 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
stink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,414
I installed a hard wired model but as I installed I had a thought, why not install short cord with female plug wired to coach then install a male plug to your power cord. Then you can leave the portable model in the power bay.
__________________
Dave and Laura & two cats
02 Discovery with Accord toad
retired auto rv tech and teacher, wife rt nurse
stink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 05:48 AM   #12
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,134
I could not fit the hard wired unit where it needed to go so I got the 50 amp portable and spliced it into the power cord in the basement compartment. Works great , out of site and I can see exactly what is going on with the CG power as soon as I plug in.


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3269525287.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	433.3 KB
ID:	32513

Cliff
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:20 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Grandpadave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindsay Richards
We have a 50 amp and I sure wish I had spent the extra money to get the one that attaches to the coach side of the cord rather than the pedestal side. You have to lug it out and in each time and repack it in the compartment. I believe there is about $100 difference and the lock for the pedestal end is about $25. Really only about $75 difference. Would I lug it in and out hundreds of times for $75, no way.
I was going to have my rv guy install one with a hard wire installation and he talked me out of it. He said if you get to a campground that has just 1 less volt that it allows to run, you will be out of luck. So I also do the hauling it back and forth.
__________________
Grandpadave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:53 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Gadget63's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fair Play, SC
Posts: 986
Send a message via AIM to Gadget63 Send a message via Yahoo to Gadget63
The majority of RV parks we've been to have a locking lid on the shore power pedestal, and we lock it there. If not, we use a 30 amp power extension, keep the surge guard locked up in the basement and run the extension to the power pedestal. I agree that these things can develop legs and walk away.
__________________

__________________
Richie, Rose and our Australian Terrier Harley
2004 Bounder 35R, 2012 ACME EZtow,2012 Kia Rio Hatchback
Gadget63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.