Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2012, 11:30 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
JohnT's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: On the road.
Posts: 1,334
I DIDN'T have anything when I plugged in to the power pole at the KOA in Billings. The pole had a shorted neutrol wire. $4k later after replacing most everything plugged in, I now use the Progressive Industries HW50C Electrical Management System. It protects you against EVERYTHING you may run into, including surges, low voltage, high voltage, loose connections, etc.
__________________

__________________
John & Diann
Cooper
2014 Dutch Star 4364 - 2011 CRV EX-L AWD
JohnT is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-06-2012, 11:59 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
Kenc1325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Welland,Ontario
Posts: 137
Thanks sharmanrn for asking the questions I am new at this as well and the answers are a great help and might save us a lot of trouble down the road . Thanks to all that have answered the knowledge is price list .
kenc1325
__________________

__________________
Kenc1325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:49 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 127
OK so I've been so busy packing I'm feeling brain dead. The Southwind has 30 amp service...you all are talking 50 amp...is that ok (more amp is ok and is better)?
__________________
sharmanrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:55 PM   #32
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharmanrn View Post
OK so I've been so busy packing I'm feeling brain dead. The Southwind has 30 amp service...you all are talking 50 amp...is that ok (more amp is ok and is better)?
All of these come in 30 amp as well and that's what you'll need.

Cliff
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:57 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 127
Thx Cliff
__________________
sharmanrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 03:00 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,404
Sharmanrn, if i could only afford one upgrade for my RV, it would be the Progressive Industries Surge Protector with low voltage protection.

I have the hardwired 50 amp with remote display.

The 30 amp equivalent is shown here EMS-HW30C you don't need the remote display, but I am lazy.

One point to consider on the location of the remote display, it is bright, so if you install it in the bedroom go for a hidden area. Mine is in my closet.
__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 12:06 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
lass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tarpon Springs, Fl.
Posts: 878
2 more questions on protection.

How difficult is it to install the EMS on the Ventana and is the remote display also hard wired to the EMS ?
__________________
2013 Newmar Ventana 3434
2017 Jeep GC Summit
lass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 12:35 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,404
The remote display is connected via a telephone cable from the Progressive Industries unit to the Display. The phone cable will need to pass through in to the coach from the compartment where you install the the unit.

I found the hardest part of installing the Progressive Industries unit to be manipulating the heavy electrical cable in to place, short runs of heavy cable are a bit hard to work with.

The directions are fairly straight forward on the appropriate connections.

You will need to decide whether you are going to protect the RV from just CG issues or if you want to protect the RV from both CG and Generator issues. This will help you decide where to place the unit.
__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 02:44 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pawleys Island SC
Posts: 339
"You will need to decide whether you are going to protect the RV from just CG issues or if you want to protect the RV from both CG and Generator issues. This will help you decide where to place the unit."

There's a little more to it than that. If you install the EMS before the Auto Transfer Switch, it will protect that switch, but the switch will not be protected if you install the EMS after the Auto Transfer Switch.

The electrical problems caused by generators that will harm stuff in the coach can generally be found by an initial inspection. The evil dirty things like a neutral going bad generally don't happen after the generator is running.

With a before Auto Transfer installation, it is very easy to check the initial quality of the generator after the generator is running by connecting the CG cord to any 120 volt outlet served by the generator. The EMS will give all of its normal readings so you can check.

Has anyone ever had an electrical generator problem that an EMS would find other than initial high or low voltage or frequency from an initial check as described above?
__________________

__________________
Wil Andrews
2007 Newmar Kountry Star DP
Cummins ISL, Cummins E-Brake
wil01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.