Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2015, 01:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 79
Surge Protector

If I buy a 50amp unit can I use it for 30amp as well? Does it have to be 50amp unit for 50amp, and 30amp unit for 30amp?
__________________

__________________
kayla44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-07-2015, 01:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
FreedomDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: fulltiming
Posts: 294
The 50 amp unit is set up for two incoming lines. The question would be how to wire a single 30 amp line. I'm sure it can be done but I would feel a lot better matching up the device with what it was made to do. I don't like messing around with electricity.
__________________

__________________
Bob & Joan Alexander, 2010 Tiffin Phaeton 36 QSH, 2013 Jeep Wrangler (toad)
Lobo & Juniper (woof, woof)
FreedomDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 01:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jim_HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Full time RV'er
Posts: 1,654
The built in current sensing device, and the two voltage sensing circuits would have a fit if you wired up a 50 Amp unit to 30 Amps, I'd think.

Just call Progressive Industries, they'll tell you.
__________________
'02 Winnebago Journey DL, DSDP, 36' of fun.

Visit my RV Travel & Repair Blog at : http://chaos.goblinbox.com
Jim_HiTek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 01:45 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayla44 View Post
If I buy a 50amp unit can I use it for 30amp as well? Does it have to be 50amp unit for 50amp, and 30amp unit for 30amp?

Yes. If you have a 30 amp RV, you would plug the 50 amp unit into the pedestal then a 50/30 adaptor then your RV. If a 50 Amp RV, you would plug a 30/50 adaptor into the 30 amp pedestal then the 50 amp unit, then your RV.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 06:25 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Pigman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,937
Our Progressive is hardwired into the shore power line in the basement. When we're plugged into a 50A service, the unit works just fine. When there's only 30A service available, I plug my 50A RV shore line into a 50A female to 30A male adapter at the pedestal and the unit works just fine. When I only have a 20A service available, I plug my shore line into the same adapter as above and then add a 30A female to 20A male adapter to that and then plug it into my 20A feed at the pedestal (or extension cord). The unit works just fine in that configuration too. My RV will shed loads as needed to utilize whatever power I have available, but the Progressive handles whatever is delivered to it, be it 50A, 30A, or 20A. Of course I can't run the microwave, and 3 air conditioners on 20A, but the Progressive surge protector keeps right on protecting.
__________________
Pigman
2013 Tiffin Allegro Bus 43QGP
2011 Chevy Silverado 1500 Toad
Pigman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 09:40 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayla44 View Post
If I buy a 50amp unit can I use it for 30amp as well? Does it have to be 50amp unit for 50amp, and 30amp unit for 30amp?
The short answer to your first question is YES, but the 50 surge protector. It can be used for 30 amp and 20 amp service as well. Been there, done that lots of times.
__________________
Stik
Full Timing since 2005
09 Journey 34Y, 2015 Grand Cherokee Toad
stik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 02:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
britcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayla44 View Post
If I buy a 50amp unit can I use it for 30amp as well? Does it have to be 50amp unit for 50amp, and 30amp unit for 30amp?
As previous posters said, you need a 50/30 adapter cord ( sometimes called a Dogbone ). 50A Surge Protector runs fine on 30A service.
__________________
2014 Newmar Ventana 4037 / 4018
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd.
1940 Chevrolet Pickup
britcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 09:25 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,790
Not only will a 50 amp unit work on 30 amps. It will work better.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 50 Amp Surge protector necessary? Iggyval Newmar Owner's Forum 38 06-22-2015 06:37 AM
Progressive surge protector Cola ny MH-General Discussions & Problems 17 12-30-2014 07:17 PM
Surge Protector "buzzing" noise Pa Uon RV Systems & Appliances 12 08-17-2014 09:43 AM
Surge Protector / Regulator In-line Sequence jigsup Newmar Owner's Forum 17 06-16-2014 09:39 PM
Surge Protector Install on 4018 Dutch Star Dutch Star Don Newmar Owner's Forum 16 02-22-2014 05:34 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.