Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2012, 05:49 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 15
Swapping out inverter?

I recently purchased a new to me 2006 HR Admiral and it has a 140watt inverter. This may be a stupid question but can I simply transfer all wiring over to my larger 1000w inverter I took out of my old motorhome? I want to run my tv and sat. reciever/dvd player off this inverter. Also for some reason the inverter plugs into a 110 wall plug, is that for a fan or is that so when i am hooked upto shore/generator power it has power running through it as my tv is always plugged into it.

Thanks in advance for the help.
__________________

__________________
howes1387 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-24-2012, 09:21 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 53
It's possible that the 140w inverter is a small pure sine inverter, just for running a computer or other digital electric item. As far as switching the 1000w inverter, I'm sure someone with more knowledge than I (just about everyone) will answer that part.
__________________

__________________
cdat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 02:14 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,191
Short answer is NO!

A 140 watt inverter (unless you meant 1400) will have very small conductors (wires) supplying it.

Let's just use some off the cuff math.

Ohm's law is volts equals amps tiems resistance

Watts equal amps times volts

and we will just guess and state for demonstration the inverter is not 100% usful of the power, so we will just guess that the overhead of the inverter os 20%, so power in is 20% more than power out, this is only to demonstrate the math.

So a 140 watt inverter will need 168 watts

watts is volts times amps, so divide 168 watts by 12 volts and get 14 amps, so a #12 wire will do for a SHORT distance, forget about voltage drop over the length of the conductor for now.

For the 1000 watt inverter is will need 1200 watts in

1200 watts /12 volts equals 100 amp, thus a #2 or so size wire.

If you had a factory installed correctly installed 1400 watt unit you are fine for wire size, and a direct swap should work unless there are control or display functions.

If you have a 140 watt unit the supply wires will need to be upgraded which would include confirming the supply point is capable of supporting the large load.

You also need to upsize the wire to compensate for losses and peak use, but that is a whole nuther discussion.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 05:34 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 15
i just tested my tv on and sat on at the same time and it seemed to work off the 140 watt inverter, do i have anything to worry about?

i never dialed my sat in but it was searching for the signal, will it make a difference when it acually finds the sat?

thanks for all the help
__________________
howes1387 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 08:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,191
It will work fine until you exceed the capacity of the wiring.

If the wires area over-fused you may have hot wires.

Verify the wife size that supplies your unit.

Next verify the fuse via removal to confirm it, then make sure the rise matches the ampacity of the wires, if #12 is used then 20 amp fuse.

That will support 240 full watts into the inverter with little risk
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 03:21 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 15
sorry what i meant was do i even need to change the intverter out or will the 140 watt one work for what i need to run, (tube tv/sat receiever)
__________________
howes1387 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:34 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,191
Not sure but you can be.

Every device must have a data plate located on it describing the power needs.

Usually where the power cord is.

So locate this plate on all of your devices and record the loads.

You are looking for numbers with the following units.

W for watts
WATTS
A for amps
AMPS
VA for VoltAmps

Since your inverter is rated in WATTS you need to convert all readings to WATTS,
So any reading that is listed as W, WATTS or VA can be used as is.

Any reading that is listed as A or AMPS needs to be multiplied by 120

Now simply add all of these up, if less than 140 you are good to go.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 01:09 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Florida Cooters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 12,382
Depends on how big the tv is. Add up the watts needed for everything that you want to power at the same time. 140 watts is the budget.

You could probably upgrade to 300 watts without stressing the wiring too much, but I would want to see it - or at least know the wire gauge and length) before saying that definitely. It's really only the wiring from inverter to battery that is a concern - it is hard to imagine that the output wiring is not rated for at least 3 amps or 360 watts (18 gauge wire).
__________________
Gary Brinck
2004 American Tradition; 2007 GMC Acadia
Homebase in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 02:42 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 509
Are you sure its only a 140W inverter? That is extremely small for a class A motorhome. I doubt 140W would operate a TV and satellite receiver unless the surge rating on it is much higher.

If you do decide to replace it, the key is sizing the wires for the load, especially on the 12V side.

The Engineering Toolbox has a nice table to show the min wire size.
Amps and Wire Gauge - 12V Circuit
__________________

__________________
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.