Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2012, 06:13 AM   #1
Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: arkansas
Posts: 49
thermostat problem

Help. I went to check out our 2000 tropical for road ready and see no power going to my 4 button thermostat. There was power and everything working fine last month. Today nothing. Nothing on shore power or generator. Does anyone know of a breaker that may need to be checked? I unplugged and re connected the thermostat and the two telephone type wires to the two air conditioners but that did nothing. I also tried connecting the thermostat to the phone type wire on zone 2 and still nothing.
Thanks
Charles
__________________

__________________
charlespool is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-06-2012, 07:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
nightriderrv's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 1,682
How long has it been unplugged, batterys might be dead need to charge, disconnects are off, will the lights work inside when plug up, will the gennie start that cranks off the house batterys
__________________

__________________
Mark Anderson - Nebo NC - western NC - RV Restoration tech - 9 Doggies - Outdoors person
1990 33ft Wilderness Cimarron 33X
nightriderrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:34 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
vraines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 695
While I am not familiar with your brand of RV, I have had similar problems with a thermostat. Do some research on initializing the thermostat. It usually involves disconnecting and reconnecting the 12 volts, then pushing two of the buttons to start the setup process. Some of those thermostats are affected by electronic interference from the fluorescent lighting. I am sure there is a fuse for the thermostat, and they are not normally located in the main fuse panel. Maybe under the bed.
__________________
2007 Dutch Star 4320
2010 Mazda Miata 6 speed
Roadmaster tow
vraines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:37 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlespool
Help. I went to check out our 2000 tropical for road ready and see no power going to my 4 button thermostat. There was power and everything working fine last month. Today nothing. Nothing on shore power or generator. Does anyone know of a breaker that may need to be checked? I unplugged and re connected the thermostat and the two telephone type wires to the two air conditioners but that did nothing. I also tried connecting the thermostat to the phone type wire on zone 2 and still nothing.
Thanks
Charles
If you are sure you have 12+volts in the coach, then I would have to advise to do what you already did. Those data cable contacts are known to corrode and lose the connection at the thermostat and at the AC control boards. You might try some contact cleaner on all connections. Open both AC control boxes and check the 3amp fuses, hopefully thats your problem.

If all that checks out, I suspect a mouse got your data cable....happened to me.

Get yourself a phone cord that will reach the thermostat and the Zone 1 control box. Now you will need to remove 1 jack and replace it by rotating 180 degrees. When a standard phone cord is layed flat, both jack clips will be pointing up. With a data cable, one jack must be reversed. If you are not comfortable doing this, radio shack can make you one for a few bucks.

Plug the new cable in between the tstat and Zone1 and reset the tstat. If all is now well, you found the problem.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.