Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-17-2012, 12:38 PM   #1

Tire Opinions

I am a newbie. I recently purchased a 1999 Damon 34 ft. It still has the original F rated 245/70/19.5 Goodyear G159s on it. They look like new both tread and sidewalls, but according to the date codes, they are well over 12 years old. So... I am looking for new tires. If possible, I want to spend under $2000 total for all 6 mounted, etc.
I can get a set of Kumho 963 for $1778 (Korean made?)
or Kumho KRS03 for $2231 (Korean made?)
or Cooper/Road Master RM170 for $1674 (Some places say these are US other say China???)
or Hercules H902 for $1767 (Some places say these are US other say China???)
or Toyo (unsure of the model) for $2465 (Japan I assume?)
or Hankook (unsure of model) for $2035 (Korea?)
or Double Coin RT500 for $1525 (China, I hear in a Michelin joint factory?)

Leaving political thought out of it (buy only American), what do you guys thinks? Especially those with actual experience with these particular tires. Any other brands/models not listed I should look into? I looked in to Sumitomo, but the 19.5s are only 65 MPH rated. I would prefer 75 MPH or better to be safe. My usage will be very infrequent.

I am leaning towards the Kumho 963. Kumho seems to be a good Korean made tire. The odd thing is that the 963 shows up on the Kumhon Canada site, but not the Kumho US site. What is different between the 963 vs the KRS03?

Thanks for any insight.
tulsacars is offline   Reply With Quote