RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2017, 01:35 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
TPMS for the Toad

We are newbies, currently researching TPMS for our coach and toad. Our toad has a tpms installed form the factory, I believe it is inside the tire. How will that work with tpms on the coach? If we put the same tpms on both coach and toad, will the external tpms override the factory installed? Any ideas?

Thanks!
__________________

imfuzzybug is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-17-2017, 02:14 PM   #2
Senior Member - DIYer
 
Waiter21's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 5,216
I use an aftermarket TPMS that screws onto the valve stem. I install them when I'm getting ready to go on a trip, then remove them when I get home.
__________________

__________________
1999 Fleetwood Southwind 35S (Ford F53 6.8L V10 275hp 4R100 4 spd trans) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue.
(www.1999Southwind.com)

It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
Waiter21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 02:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,326
Putting an external one on the toad to match your coach will not interfere with your toads internal. Have used both for several years.
__________________
Terry & Alice
2006 Bounder 38L DP
2012 GMC Terrain
firedoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 03:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Enjoying the Western States!
Posts: 7,817
We blew a front tire on the Jeep while towing and even though we had a rear monitor we couldn't see it because of the fender. With the power of a diesel motorhome we didn't even feel any difference while driving. I don't know how long we drove with it before someone passed by with the dreaded hand pointing to the rear. We pulled over and we were practically riding on the rim. Within days we got the TPMS for the Jeep. We had already had it on the motorhome. We think they're very important.
__________________
Full-timed for 16 Years . . . Back in S&B Again
Traveled 8 yr in a 2004 Newmar Dutch Star 40' Diesel
& 8 yr in a 33' Travel Supreme 5th wheel
twogypsies is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 03:44 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Sweetbriar's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,586
I haven't found or heard of an aftermarket TPMS system that will interface with a toad OEM system unfortunately. Also I haven't heard of an aftermarket TPMS sensor installed on a toad that interfered with the OEM system.

Good thing to have on the toad. The cost of four additional sensors will quickly pay for the cost the first time there's a problem. I don't always travel with the toad so the additional sensor, which I only install when towing, double as back ups for the coach incase I have a low battery or other such problem with a coach sensor.
Sweetbriar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 03:47 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,120
The internal TPMS on your car will not communicate with any aftermarket TPMS system. That's why you need external sensors on your coach and toad.
__________________
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2016 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ AWD V6
lllkrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 05:54 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetbriar View Post
I haven't found or heard of an aftermarket TPMS system that will interface with a toad OEM system unfortunately. Also I haven't heard of an aftermarket TPMS sensor installed on a toad that interfered with the OEM system.



Good thing to have on the toad. The cost of four additional sensors will quickly pay for the cost the first time there's a problem. I don't always travel with the toad so the additional sensor, which I only install when towing, double as back ups for the coach incase I have a low battery or other such problem with a coach sensor.


That will work but you neeed to reprogram them PITA!
__________________
Terry & Alice
2006 Bounder 38L DP
2012 GMC Terrain
firedoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 06:32 PM   #8
Senior Member - DIYer
 
Waiter21's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 5,216
This is the one I bought and use on my toad when towing behind the MH.

A couple notes:

1) The solar panel doesn't do a good job of keeping the internal battery charged. I would plug the power cable into the receiver to charge the battery every couple days.

2) The transmitters don't have far enough range to provide consistent readings to the receiver when I mounted it on the MH dash so we placed the receiver on the wall behind me. I could hear any alarms, and we'd look at the pressure readings during stops or whenever walking to the back of the MH.

It did sound an alarm one time, we evidently picked up a nail and the pressure was slowly dropping in the tire. Had to buy a new tire at Walmart.

Solar Wireless TPMS Car Tire Pressure LCD Monitoring System + 4 External Sensors | eBay
__________________
1999 Fleetwood Southwind 35S (Ford F53 6.8L V10 275hp 4R100 4 spd trans) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue.
(www.1999Southwind.com)

It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
Waiter21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 06:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
CarlAda's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by firedoc View Post
That will work but you neeed to reprogram them PITA!

Shouldn't have to reprogram them. Just label them so that you always return them to the correct tire and you shouldn't have a problem. At least I don't with mine (Pressure Pro)
__________________
2007 42' Country Coach Intrigue #12149 CAT C-13, 2014 SRX, Roadmaster Sterling, SMI AirForceOne
FMCA, Good Sam, CCFI, CCI, NWCC
CarlAda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 08:10 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlAda View Post
Shouldn't have to reprogram them. Just label them so that you always return them to the correct tire and you shouldn't have a problem. At least I don't with mine (Pressure Pro)


Not if you take one from your toad and use it for a spare for the coach! Hopefully they are set to different parameters.
__________________
Terry & Alice
2006 Bounder 38L DP
2012 GMC Terrain
firedoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 08:11 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
les.warden's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Auburn, IL
Posts: 840
TPMS for the Toad

I have 6 on the MH, 2 on the tow dolly, and 2 on the rear wheels of the toad. MH all set at 110 (haven't weighed the MH yet), dolly set at 45, and toad set at 35. I have signal extenders at the back of the MH. One inside and one outside. I installed the outside extender just today because I kept getting Loss Of Signal on a couple sensors. Explained this to company and they sent me the outside extender to fix. Will know for sure next trip. IMHO, you should have a TPMS sensor on every wheel on the ground. The sensors are much less expensive that possible damage without them.
http://www.minderresearch.com/tireminder/
__________________
Les & Pam
2017 Phaeton 40QBH-All Electric-380 ISL
2016 Jeep JKUS with Ready Brute Elite towbar
les.warden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 07:33 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Sweetbriar's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by firedoc View Post
Not if you take one from your toad and use it for a spare for the coach! Hopefully they are set to different parameters.
Can't speak for every make and model TPMS available but my TST based system individual tire position parameters (high/low pressure and temp alarm) are preset for each tire position and sensor address programing establish which sensor is on which tire. I never need to change tire parameters only sensor address, a four digit alphanumeric code, when I move or replace a sensor. Takes maybe two minutes. All my sensors are marked for which position and which vehicle.

Once programmed for the coach the sensor stays with the coach. The dead one goes back to TST and when the new one arrives it gets marked, programmed for the toad tire position needed and set aside for the next time we take the toad along. Reprogramming for a new or moving a sensor between toad and coach isn't much harder than resetting the dash radio time twice a year for the spring and fall time shift or scanning for new radio station as we move on down the road.
Sweetbriar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 07:44 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
CarlAda's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by firedoc View Post
Not if you take one from your toad and use it for a spare for the coach! Hopefully they are set to different parameters.
Of course. I did say that they had to be returned to the same position as removed (hence the label). Obviously, if you change the position of the sensor, the receiver doesn't know that and you'd have to reprogram.

And, you don't run your toad tires at 120# ???? No wonder I keep blowing tires!
__________________

__________________
2007 42' Country Coach Intrigue #12149 CAT C-13, 2014 SRX, Roadmaster Sterling, SMI AirForceOne
FMCA, Good Sam, CCFI, CCI, NWCC
CarlAda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
toad



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS, Chinese Style (Carchet TPMS) motojavaphil 5th Wheel Discussion 9 08-02-2016 05:21 PM
To TPMS or not TPMS.... Boostable Just Conversation 14 04-02-2016 08:30 AM
TPMS and toad OEM pressure sensors TXBart Entegra Owner's Forum 14 01-09-2014 12:23 PM
Reading Jeep Liberty Toad TPMS data from the MH driver's seat? Full.Monte Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 06-09-2013 10:42 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.