Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2011, 07:03 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Transfer switch problem?

we have our shore line plugged in but no power, but if we start the engine the shore power will work. Is this a auto transfer switch problem? Thanks for the help.
__________________

__________________
07 Winnebago Journey 39'
Hawkeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-23-2011, 07:46 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bob (WA0MQE)'s Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Between Colorado Springs, CO & Fulton, TX
Posts: 1,515
Blog Entries: 1
I don't know why starting the engine would make any difference. The engine has nothing to do with the 110 VAC side of the electrical system. Maybe it's just a vibration issue. I would certainly suspect the power cord connections, transfer switch, and/or main breaker box.
__________________

__________________
Bob 2006 Monaco Camelot 40PDQ
US Navy Carrier Battlegroup 1959/1963
Summer in Colorado, Winter Texas Gulf Coast
Bob (WA0MQE) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 07:59 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,382
If your inverter is supplying the 120v when cranked, you may still not have power. Will your roof air work when cranked?
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 06:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
my AC was not working, then started to work when I tried 10 minutes later, would the transfer switch do this? my shore power is good.
__________________
07 Winnebago Journey 39'
Hawkeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 08:48 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
mrschwarz's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 876
Send a message via Skype™ to mrschwarz
The ignition shouldn't affect the inverter or transfer switch. You may have loose connections that the vibration from the engine cause to connect. You should disconnect all AC and DC power. Open the transfer switch and check the connections.

If this is not something you are comfortable doing, have someone qualified do it for you.
__________________
Michael
2017 Allegro Bus 45OPP, Cummins ISL 450, Allison 3000
mrschwarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 09:43 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,790
I too feel the ignition should not affect the transfer switch.. However I note the following.

Transfer switches come in two types that I know of... Mine. if there is no power at all, then "Shore Power" is selected ... When you plug in nothing happens (As far as the switch is concerned) as that's it's resting position.

When the Generator kicks in then it powers up the relays and they transfer over.

The other kind.. No power NOTHING is selected.. IF you plug in to shore it pulls in the "Shore Power" relays.. Or if you start the genny it pulls in those relays.

I have never seen one that takes 12 volts.

HOWEVER: Some rigs have Energy Management Systems and I'd not put it beyond them to use 12 volts to run their computer.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 11:06 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
mrschwarz's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 876
Send a message via Skype™ to mrschwarz
My exposure is limited, but I have never seen a transfer switch that needed input from both sides to activate anything. I would worry about both relays engaging at the same time. Such switches exist?
__________________
Michael
2017 Allegro Bus 45OPP, Cummins ISL 450, Allison 3000
mrschwarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 03:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Dave78Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,513
Hawkeye,
You have a interesting one.
First, you have:
A 50 AMP ATS
A Powerline EMS system by Intellitec.
You may or may not have a 2K Inverter.
110VAC Wiring diagram: http://www.winnebagoind.com/diagram/...ire_158345.pdf
W/O 2K inverter is on pdf page 2
with 2K inverter is on pdf page 3 (results in different indications depending on nature of problem)

Powerline EMS manual selection is at Energy Management Systems
Winnebago versions are at bottom of first table. Not sure which of the 2 you have but both work basically the same.
Both versions DO USE 12VDC from the coach battery to power the control board. I didn't trace it through the wirring but it would not suprise me that the AUX BATTERY DISCONNECT switch would have to be ON for power to be provided to the EMS unit. Starting the engine may have provide 12VDC to the EMS unit.

When this problem occurs, what is indicated at the EMS monitor?

Wiring TOC for your unit: Table of Contents

Dave
__________________
Dave in Virginia
1978 Winnebago Chieftain
Dodge M400 - 440-3
Classic Winnebago Site: http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/forum/index.php
Dave78Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 05:12 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Bigd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave78Chief View Post
Hawkeye,
You have a interesting one.
First, you have:
A 50 AMP ATS
A Powerline EMS system by Intellitec.
You may or may not have a 2K Inverter.
110VAC Wiring diagram: http://www.winnebagoind.com/diagram/...ire_158345.pdf
W/O 2K inverter is on pdf page 2
with 2K inverter is on pdf page 3 (results in different indications depending on nature of problem)

Powerline EMS manual selection is at Energy Management Systems
Winnebago versions are at bottom of first table. Not sure which of the 2 you have but both work basically the same.
Both versions DO USE 12VDC from the coach battery to power the control board. I didn't trace it through the wirring but it would not suprise me that the AUX BATTERY DISCONNECT switch would have to be ON for power to be provided to the EMS unit. Starting the engine may have provide 12VDC to the EMS unit.

When this problem occurs, what is indicated at the EMS monitor?

Wiring TOC for your unit: Table of Contents

Dave
Makes sence to me I smell a ground somewhere

Dick
__________________
Bigd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 08:15 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Problem solved, the coach batteries are bad, new batteries and all systems are good to go. I guess this was affecting the transfer switch somehow?
__________________
07 Winnebago Journey 39'
Hawkeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 08:39 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,790
As I said... (Somewhere recently) I do not know of any transfer switch that needs 12vdc.

HOWEVER if you have an energy management system.. IT might use 12vdc for it's computer and control circuits... I'm guessing you do.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 05:36 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,066
No, not the transfer switch. But it would affect the Energy Mgm't System (EMS) as Dave described, and with the EMS powered down due to loss of 12v, it is readily conceivable that most 120v power would be interrupted.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slideout switch problem run2 Monaco Owner's Forum 4 02-11-2011 09:09 AM
2008 Sea Breeze - Shore power transfer switch? jbobst National RV Owner's Forum 1 08-30-2010 07:22 PM
Transfer Switch SC RV'er Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 12 03-24-2010 11:58 AM
Surge Protector - Before or After Transfer Switch mrschwarz RV Systems & Appliances 5 08-20-2009 05:32 AM
Battery Cut-off Switch Problem chiefdave MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 06-28-2009 04:00 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.