RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-13-2019, 04:19 PM   #1

Transfer Switch problem ITS-50R

Hello,
I have a Monaco Diplomat 2004 and I have an electric problem: My generator (which runs normally) doesn't provide the power to the coach. A few months ago I overloaded my generator by accidentally running two AC's, the coffee maker, the washer and a vacuum cleaner (please don't judge, my DW would get upset)
After 20 minutes fighting with our Inverter I finally realized that it's a good idea to check the fuse on the generator. So I solved that problem there. But a month later, while boondocking again, I started the gen, and there was no power. I've called a Monaco tech who told me that from the symptoms I gave him, the Transfer Switch got bad. Now the only way to have two AC's at the same time is to be connected to a Shore Power. In March, I also had to connect my coach to a building a few times (regular 15 or 10 Amp plug). And while plugging it, I was tripping a fuse in that building. After a several attempts I was finally able to connect and to run at least 1 AC (another problem is that my batteries then wanted to be charged and I didn't have enough power for the charger and the AC, so I tripped the fuse again). My original ATS is: IOTA ITS-50R and I know they are not available anymore.
My question is: what kind of Transfer Switch should I buy, and: what could cause the failure of the ATS? (I don't remember, but it's possible that we started a gen while being connected to a shore power once.)
Thanks,
Kuba

Kuba is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!