Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2016, 08:00 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 93
Transmission Control Module

I have a 2008 Monaco Dynasty and am having trouble with the gear box locking up. The diagnostic tests show there is a sensor error with the transmission Control Module. Can anyone help me find the tcm and is there at my battery fuse? Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Arby49 is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-05-2016, 12:51 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 14,060
I'm assuming it's an Allison Transmission? Much information available online about the different models of these transmissions. Yes, there would be a fused power source for the TCM, it would most likely be with other chassis fuses.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 01:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
MtnTrek's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Currently; Coburg OR. then on to WA
Posts: 760
Allison 3000?

Allison 3000?
By locking up you mean going into safety limp mode?
Were there any more specific fault codes?
My understanding is that the TCM replacement is a very tedious process on these transmissions.
You might start by inspecting all the harness feed through connectors for integrity, disconnect, spray w/ contact cleaner reconnect.

You may already have this doc.?
http://www.rvtechlibrary.com/transmi..._operators.pdf


Best of luck.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	allison 3000.png
Views:	30
Size:	96.5 KB
ID:	134987  
__________________
J & J + Kickr's the Vonderhund
DRV Suites, ES-38RSSA (19.6K#)
GM Denali, 3500HD-Max, CC, 8'-DRW (9.2K#)
MtnTrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 06:28 PM   #4
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 8,175
"Arby49"....Your TCM should be in the front run bay.....the bay under the driver's window. Here is a photo of mine in my 2005 Monaco Diplomat. When you remove the screwed on cover, there are Bosch relays inside.

Mine was located in the lower right of the bay, under the ECM.

__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 07:21 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,159
My TCM failed ~3 years ago, worked fine as we were preparing for a trip and then when I tried to start the rig the display panel went crazy along with dash lights and the rig wouldn't start. Had it towed to a shop and they ultimately replaced to the tune of +$3500. I was out of town & my wife had a big trip planned so we couldn't wait.

If you have time you can send yours off for repair for ~$500.

My TCM was in the front drivers side run bay as the previous post suggested. I believe this is power via a wire from the main chassis battery. Make sure it is clean and connected tight.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 11:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 255
Arby,

The TCM on our coach is powered directly from the chassis batteries by a dedicated wire. There is an inline fuse at the battery. The fuse holder went bad, causing the transmission to drop into neutral. It did not display any faults, nor did it trap any codes. Replacing the fuse holder was one of those "WTH, it can't hurt" fixes that actually did work.
I also know that failing to properly tighten the battery terminal that powers the TCM will cause weird displays on the transmission panel.
I'd make sure you have good connections and charged batteries, first.

HTH,
__________________
Bob

Home: 2003 Monaco Executive 43 SDDS, ISM
bobcovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 07:48 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 93
TCM

Thanks Dutch Star Don. Found the TCM in the middle bay attached to roof of the bay. Still have not found the associated fuse, but continuing to look.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Star Don View Post
"Arby49"....Your TCM should be in the front run bay.....the bay under the driver's window. Here is a photo of mine in my 2005 Monaco Diplomat. When you remove the screwed on cover, there are Bosch relays inside.

Mine was located in the lower right of the bay, under the ECM.

__________________
Arby49 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 07:57 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 93
Thank you bobcovey. I did find the TCM in the middle bay mounted to the roof. I had to remove the overhead panel to find it though. The guys at Monaco Tech Support were a big help. Still have not found the TCM battery fuse though.
__________________
Arby49 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 08:01 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 93
Thank you MtnTrek for the link. I have downloaded it and will eventually read it cover to cover. A lot to learn for a rookie!
__________________

__________________
Arby49 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
transmission



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
allison transmission interface module travler1 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 03-26-2010 01:39 PM
Where is the auto-leveler control module? zooom Monaco Owner's Forum 5 08-23-2006 04:28 PM
2004 Pace Arrow Electronic Control Module Bob (WA0MQE) Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 3 04-25-2005 07:21 AM
Power Control Module Walby Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 5 03-10-2005 11:39 AM
Wiper control module GerrySr Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 01-03-2005 01:35 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.