Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2012, 04:55 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
sgtjoe's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,809
Update on what do you think

So I take her in for the gasket replacement on the a/c. The guy who quoted me wasn't there today, day off. Not only did it end up costing more then quoted but now my a/c's won't work and neither will the furnace or blowers. My wall thermostat does not work. I have a little hand tester that beeps when it touches hot wires. The wire coming in to feed the electric is hot, so is the one on the rear a/c. Yesterday was such a great day I exercised my generator using both a/c's to put a load on her. This morning it was cool so I fired up the furnaces to warm her up for the trip to the shop.

So any thoughts as to what may have happened? It goes back on Friday and it turns out the guy who quoted me the good price is the Store Manager.
Checked all the breakers. Anything else??

Checked it on shore power and generator.
__________________

__________________
Joe & Angie
Shih Tzu's Cookie & Rocky
2001 Tradewinds 7390 2011 CRV EX-L Navi w/ RoadMaster FuseMaster
sgtjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-31-2012, 07:31 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
There are control wires the need to connect to the unit.H e probably did not reconnect them or the power to the unit when he reinstalled it.

Sounds like a real dufus to me. I'd insist they change what they charged you back to the originally quote price after they fixed it. If they won't honor the quote, file a complain with the local BBB.

Ken
__________________

__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 09:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,608
Another reason for the popularity of the DIY mindset. It's NOT just about being cheap....
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
sgtjoe's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,809
I'm thinking somehow the wire going to my thermostat is not connected or grounded out. This must be why I have no power to it to run the furnace's. Is there a way he could have damaged the circuit board?
__________________
Joe & Angie
Shih Tzu's Cookie & Rocky
2001 Tradewinds 7390 2011 CRV EX-L Navi w/ RoadMaster FuseMaster
sgtjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 05:41 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 671
Take it back and tell them about it. They should stand behind their work if they are reputable.
__________________
92' Holiday Rambler 1000
The wife, me and two furry kids
If you have it, a truck brought it.
blackf3504dr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
Assuming this the 5 button Dometic CCC system, do a system reset at the tstat. This is necessary sometimes under your circumstances. If you want to do your own diagnostics, let me know.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:54 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
sgtjoe's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,809
How do you do a reset??
__________________
Joe & Angie
Shih Tzu's Cookie & Rocky
2001 Tradewinds 7390 2011 CRV EX-L Navi w/ RoadMaster FuseMaster
sgtjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 07:24 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
With power switch off, hold down Mode and Zone buttons, then turn power on. When display shows "FF", release both buttons. This rescans the system looking for ACs and furnace. If successful, they will now be visable on the tstat.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:05 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
sgtjoe's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,809
Tried it with 12v power, didn't work. Do I need shore power hooked up?? Heading out for the day, back late tonight.
__________________
Joe & Angie
Shih Tzu's Cookie & Rocky
2001 Tradewinds 7390 2011 CRV EX-L Navi w/ RoadMaster FuseMaster
sgtjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:01 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtjoe
Tried it with 12v power, didn't work. Do I need shore power hooked up?? Heading out for the day, back late tonight.
Yes you need 12v for the tstat to work and recognize what's connected to it. You only need 120v to run the ACs. I'll assume for now 'didn't work' means the tstat didn't see some or all of the units. Heading out also, more later.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 10:00 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
sgtjoe's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,809
Yep, got nothing on 12v power. Plugged into shore power (30amp) and still nothing. This is the 5 button tstat.

Talked to the store manager yesterday and his service folks hadn't told him a thing about this. Going in at 11:00 when he's in.

Also noticed on the receipt in small letters, no warranty on leaks due to solar panel wire running between seal and a/c gasket. Weird huh? Since National ran them there from factory for 11+ years and never a problem. Lesson learned here so far

DO IT YOUR SELF
__________________
Joe & Angie
Shih Tzu's Cookie & Rocky
2001 Tradewinds 7390 2011 CRV EX-L Navi w/ RoadMaster FuseMaster
sgtjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:52 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
They apparently messed up the data cable that allows the tstat to communicate with the furnace and ACs. It's about a 20 min job to find the problem, wonder how long it will take them?
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:51 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
sgtjoe's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,809
Everything works now. There was a ground on the cable that was loose. I think when he pulled the cable to disconnect he pulled on the wiring harness. Took him about twenty mins to find it.

As for the 236.00 charge compared to what I was given over the phone, they won't change that. The labor book shows 1.5 hours to change the gasket at shop rate of 95 an hr. Then to install the black tank vent I was charged 1/2 hr labor, if I knew that it was going to be a 48 dollar labor charge I would have said no. Lessons learned.

1. Do it your self
2. Get quote in writting before they get the keys
3. Get quotes from Service Manager, not Store Manager.
4. Don't do business with them again.
5. Remove tatoo on forehead that says "screw me"
__________________
Joe & Angie
Shih Tzu's Cookie & Rocky
2001 Tradewinds 7390 2011 CRV EX-L Navi w/ RoadMaster FuseMaster
sgtjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:57 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtjoe View Post
5. Remove tatoo on forehead that says "screw me"
__________________

__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.