Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2007, 05:39 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 106
Any reason I should not use the generator on my motorhome to power two fridges and the furnace blower during a blackout? My RV generator is 5500 watts Generac. I would just plug in to the outside outlets on the side of the motorhome.
__________________

__________________
TallPaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-06-2007, 05:39 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 106
Any reason I should not use the generator on my motorhome to power two fridges and the furnace blower during a blackout? My RV generator is 5500 watts Generac. I would just plug in to the outside outlets on the side of the motorhome.
__________________

__________________
TallPaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 05:52 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 115
No reason not to. You will find that the outside outlets don't allow more than a 15amp load and are connected to a GFCI inside the coach. A better answer is to put an outlet in the generator compartment connected directly to the gereator output and use a 30 amp RV extension cord to feed power to a breakout box inside the house. If you are really ambitious you can have an electrician install a transfer switch to power only certain circuits in the event of a power outage.
You can also backfeed the breaker panel but it's a dangerous practice. If not done right it can energize the main lines outside the home and possibly fry a worker trying to fix the lines.
__________________
"Where are we going again, Dear?

1997 Damon Challenger
Matt B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:10 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 106
Well, my past practice is to run two extension cords into the house and physically plug the fridges into them (and a couple of lamps). Haven't had to run the furnace yet. Most blackouts are summer during T-storms or high energy use from air cons.

Have a 3000 watt (peak) Winco generator that would not start the gas dryer. Motor on dryer must have a huge start up draw. Winco too noisy and where to keep it? Limited fuel tank. Besides hard to seal the gen off the motorhome.
__________________
TallPaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 06:35 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Fred and Bonnie's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest or SoCal
Posts: 2,838
Send a message via ICQ to Fred and Bonnie
I realize this may be inaccurate, but when you power your house through an outside outlet the power may feed to the local power grid, exposing others to possible shock hazards. When stationary generators are installed I would think some sort of reverse current protection would be required.

Fred
__________________
Fred and Bonnie
2005 Dolphin LX 6375
Abby, Ruffles & Scarlett, "The Cats"
Fred and Bonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 07:14 PM   #6
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,762
Have done the exact same thing but in the winter most of the time used a heavy cord to power fridge and pellet stove same generator.
My fuel tank is full in the winter have run all night.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 12:35 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: south side Virginia
Posts: 151
I have run power back to the house"main shut off" and plugged the house reefer & freezer in and one light many hours-microwave---coffee==-A couple years back Hurricane-here in Va.-I put 150 hours on the generator,
rich in Va.
__________________
98 Bounder 34J-Chevy, 2 Saturns (toads)
2000 Casita 13 ft deluxe Towed by 1990 Chevy G20 Van Lifetime Good sam.
Lamont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 06:33 PM   #8
Administrator Emeritus
 
rebelsbeach's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 9,731
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Fred and Bonnie:
I realize this may be inaccurate, but when you power your house through an outside outlet the power may feed to the local power grid, exposing others to possible shock hazards. When stationary generators are installed I would think some sort of reverse current protection would be required. Fred </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Excellent advice!!
__________________
2017 40' Renegade Verona LE LTS
2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 4 door
Blue Ox Avail and SMI Air Force One
rebelsbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 06:41 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
yudamann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Outer Banks NC
Posts: 141
Another reason to disconnet your house main disconnect switch at the main power panel if feeding through a house convenience outlet from your RV generator [besides possibly electrocuting a power company worker], if you don't, when the power is restored the grid power will most likey be out of phase with your generator phasing. And, the grid power will win! it ould do major damage to your generator set by forcing it to get in phase w/ the power grid. A tremendous amount of 'back torque' on your gen set an occur. I have seen generators wrenched off of their mounting bolts when this happens.
__________________
Outer Banks NC
2005 Allegro Bus 38 ft.
2004 Acura MDX toad
yudamann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 06:44 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Waynesboro,PA USA
Posts: 644
We run a 30 amp cord out the MH window and run 2 sump pumps. Have never had the power off long enough to run the friges.
__________________
Downsized Winnebago C, 24 V /08 Saturn Vue/2014 Town and Country Van/03 Goldwing (Big Red)Recently triked Roadsmith kit
Beabop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 03:29 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,190
The natonal electrical code requires that an interlocked switch be used to connect a generator to a home on a power grid. The interlocked switch (transfer switch etc) whether manual or automatic will not allow the generator and grid power to be connected at the same time.

If you connect without one your homeowners insurance probably will not cover you if there is an incident.

Better safe then that other thing!
__________________
Neil V
2001 Winnebago Adventurer WFG35U
NeilV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 04:42 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
sal avitabile's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: leesburg florida
Posts: 184
can i use the same box at the genny or do i have to isolate the coach?
Sal Avitabile
__________________
2005 Fleetwood Bounder 34F
8.1 Vortec Chev, Allison 5 Speed,2006 saturn vue 6Cyl auto Frt wheel dr Toad
sal avitabile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 01:30 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,190
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by sal avitabile:
can i use the same box at the genny or do i have to isolate the coach?
Sal Avitabile </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You need a separate transfer switch to disconnect the house from the utility lines and divert the power from the coach into the houses circuits.
__________________

__________________
Neil V
2001 Winnebago Adventurer WFG35U
NeilV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bushman is Home 5,780 Miles went under the Motor Home! Bushman512003 Canada Region 16 04-25-2007 03:01 PM
Home Again brad03ca Canada Region 5 01-30-2007 05:25 AM
Home again Home again jiggity jig Chandler Bing Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 03-02-2006 05:49 AM
Home Again ! allendp South Central Region 4 01-17-2006 09:11 AM
Home Depot 5000 Watt Generator max49 RV Systems & Appliances 5 06-23-2005 05:25 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.