Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2014, 09:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
caheath's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Everywhere USA
Posts: 152
Using a 30 Amp Portable Electrical Management System at a 50-amp pole ?

Here's the scenario:

I have a 30-Amp motor home and I'm using Progressive Industries' 30 Amp Portable Electrical Management System (Amazon.com: Progressive Industries PT30C 30 Amp Portable Electrical Management System: Automotive) to protect my system. But then I find myself at a FHU site that ONLY has a 50-Amp hook-up.

Can I use a dogbone to adapt the 30-Amp PEMS to the 50-Amp outlet? And, will the PEMS still provide protection for my motor home?l
__________________

__________________
Consuelo
2004 National Dolphin LX 6342 on W22
Blog
caheath is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-22-2014, 09:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Yes and yes. What you're looking to do is fine.
__________________

__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 10:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
rlyons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 182
Yep, doing it right now.
__________________
Roy & Sabine Lyons
98 Itasca 35' Class A Gas with Banks Powerpack
98 Honda CRV Toad
rlyons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 10:15 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
TonyDi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 10,476
Yep thats what the dog bones are for.
__________________
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
Newmar Dutch Star 4320, Spartan MM Chassis, Cat C9, Jeep Grand Cherokee Hemi, Blue Ox Aventa LX, and Brake Buddy. TST 507 TPMS
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 06:23 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,829
Someone (I have no idea who since you linked to their page) does not know the difference between an enegery MANAGEMENT system which by its nature can never be portable and an enegery MONITORING system which that is.. But

Like everybody else says the answer is YES.

And for those wit a 50 amp unit and rig and a 30 amp site.. The answer is YES as well there.

The Enegery monitor should be the same size as the RV. Post size is not a factor as there is an adapter for that.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 07:47 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
757driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
Someone (I have no idea who since you linked to their page) does not know the difference between an enegery MANAGEMENT system which by its nature can never be portable and an enegery MONITORING system which that is.. But

Like everybody else says the answer is YES.

And for those wit a 50 amp unit and rig and a 30 amp site.. The answer is YES as well there.

The Enegery monitor should be the same size as the RV. Post size is not a factor as there is an adapter for that.
I agree with your reasoning with what it is but, the manufacturer of this particular unit calls it an Electrical Management System.
__________________

__________________
Don & Gerri
2014 Entegra Anthem 44B
2014 Honda CRV Touring

FMCA F443497
757driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a 30 amp outlet HNA RV Systems & Appliances 58 02-09-2014 08:08 AM
Power to rear camera - upgraded system 04Beast Newmar Owner's Forum 10 01-28-2014 06:07 PM
Monaco air system leak jhment Monaco Owner's Forum 11 10-19-2013 08:57 PM
Please help! New fulltimer with distressing electrical problem! ocipura Class A Motorhome Discussions 67 09-18-2013 02:41 PM
Upgrade Travel Trailer Electrical BassinDmax Boondocking 2 04-23-2013 09:53 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.