Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2013, 12:00 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Various outlets only work with inverter

Greetings to all!

I have a 2013 Thor Challenger 36FD and i am currently camping. Upon arrival and hookup there are a few outlets that do not work. To be specific they are the outlet in the bedroom for the TV, outlet in the front of the cab for the main TV and partial outage of the outlet inside the passenger overhead compartment (which escapes my understanding, one plug works the other doesn't). When i turn on the inverter that is the only way power gets to these plugs.

RV was serviced for minor hydraulic arm replacement and roller replacement on large full wall slide. RV was picked up and upon return to the house in the driveway for one day the batteries died. The chasis battery was dead as well so the RV was jumped and the generator restarted to charge the batteries. No other issues. Anyone's help would be much appreciated.
__________________

__________________
AndyC321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-30-2013, 12:25 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
jdoc's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Big Spring, Texas
Posts: 768
Send a message via Yahoo to jdoc
Andy, have checked your GFCI outlets? Could be one of them has tripped.

Jerry
__________________

__________________
Jerry and Janell
Navy by record Marine by choice
2005 Bounder 38N DP 300 CAT 2017 Jeep Wrangler
jdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 12:36 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,971
The problem may not be in the coach , but in the power pedistal if your coach has 50 amp service, one feed from the pedistal may be dead.
Run the generator , if all the plugs work then you have to have the power from the pedistal checked.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 12:52 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 763
I have outlets and other stuff where the inverter has to be on to power them even when on shore power so your set up may be normal.

I'm wondering if you accidentally left your inverter on when the coach was not plugged in and you refrigerator was on "electric." Some refrigerators are on the inverter and some not so I don't know if that is what happened to you or not. I know we accidentally left the refrigerator on electric once and it drained the batteries pretty quickly since ours is wired to the inverter. But something had to be left on that takes quite a bit of power for your batteries to be drained overnight. The strange thing is why your chassis batteries were also drained overnight. That doesn't make sense since there is an isolator to prevent the chassis batteries to be taken down with the house batteries.

I don't know. I'm not much help here.

-harry
__________________
amanda_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 03:24 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Hello Andy and We are glad to have you join us here and we look forward to reading of your adventures and experiences. Congratulations on your new rig. I am sure you will enjoy the website and forums. Good luck, stay safe and keep us posted.
Can you please give us the make and model number of your inverter? You may also want to call Thor and ask to speak to someone in tech support about the issues. I would also have the chassis batter checked to be sure it does not have a bad cell; even a new battery can be defective.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:54 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Cat320's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
American Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by amanda_h View Post
...I have outlets and other stuff where the inverter has to be on to power them even when on shore power so your set up may be normal...

-harry
We have friends with a Safari, it works as noted above.
__________________
2014 American Eagle 45T
DD 500
Pulling a Honda CRV
Cat320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 06:01 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
We had the same issue with our Safari and it ended up being the post we were plugging into. It happens every so often at different places, even if they say it is 50 amp service. Even had the guy at the site test the box and it read fine but when we moved to a new spot there was no trouble! Good Luck!!
__________________
BLSCOTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 06:10 PM   #8
Member
 
esfritzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 94
Unless you have a very large inverter (2000 watt or higher), you will probably only have the front TV, DVD and maybe two outlets working. Sometimes, these outlets may be one up front near the drivers' seat and maybe one outlet near the kitchen. I have an older Newmar with a small 400 watt modified sine wave and that is all I get powered.
__________________

__________________
esfritzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.