Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2013, 08:35 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
What am I doing wrong?

Enjoying a great weekend camping, when out of blue our Winnie's house batteries aren't being charged by the 30amps at the pedestal. Discovered the issue two days into our weekend when fridge spit out code saying lo dc power. Battery bank charges when I fire up the engine.

I checked fuses and all look good. I'm puzzled, which when it comes to our new Winnie, is easy to do right now.

2013 Vista 35B is the make.
__________________

__________________
Bryan & Jennifer
2013 Winnebage Vista 35B
Celina, TX
griff4217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-16-2013, 08:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
336muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,569
Check breaker on inverter, could be 30amp white pop out type.
__________________

__________________
American Tradition 42R-Cadillac SRX Blue Ox Koni 5050XL MCD Scangauge D Samsung rf197
Fulltime since 2012
336muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 08:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
waroland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mt Juliet, TN (Homebase)
Posts: 432
Sounds like your converter is not working. Need to check A/C breakers.
__________________
2002 Fleetwood Revolution 38B
2006 Honda CR-V Air Force One
waroland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 08:53 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
donhoward49's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 868
I am confused also. I would think that your fridg would automatically run on electric. Not DC & propane. Are you sure their is power at the plug in? Most have a breaker (that should be turned off when you plug in).. Check power at the post, then breakers inside first thing.
__________________
2004 National Sea Breeze LX8375, Towing a 2012 Liberty.
donhoward49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 09:04 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
Yeah, turned off breaker at pedestal b/f hooking up on Thursday. I'm getting power from Pedestal as we've needed the A/C and microwave this weekend. All my fuses look good in coach.
__________________
Bryan & Jennifer
2013 Winnebage Vista 35B
Celina, TX
griff4217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 09:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
donhoward49's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 868
Thats about all I can think off. Someone will come to your rescue. Do You have an Inverter? See if it is ON. Turn it off, switch by the door or on the inverter unit. Maybe the inverter is tiring to power the fridg through the batteries.. Is their a switch on the fridg to select Gas or Electric...
__________________
2004 National Sea Breeze LX8375, Towing a 2012 Liberty.
donhoward49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 09:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Shadowcatche's Avatar
 
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,219
A VOM is your friend check from where you do have power to where you do not the problem is between the two. A VOM will diagnose 90+% of electrical problems.
__________________
Shadowcatche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 03:59 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
SuperGewl's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,782
Is the Fridge setup for Auto operation? If Fridge stated loss of 12vdc power then it was running on 12VDC or Propane and NOT 110VAC. Look at controls on fridge and set to AC or Auto so it will run on whatever power source is available. Next you need to check House batteries also, verify that the breaker is not tripped. Best way is to trip it then reset it. Batteries should charge from 30amp and NOT just hitting the gennie.
__________________
Retired Navy Submariner
2014 Itasca Sunstar 35F; 5 Star tuned; 2014 Jeep Cherokee TrailHawk
SuperGewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 11:17 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
Check the voltage at the batteries when on shore power and then on generator. It should be somewhere between 13.6 and 14.4 dcv. That would indicate the batteries are being charged via the inverter/converter.

If not charging, then check for large rated fuse(s) on wiring between the inverter/converter that may have failed. Also check inverter/converter for breaker on unit that may have popped.

If all the above is good, the charger likely is the problem.
__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 11:26 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
BillJinOR's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 765
I may be wrong, but the fridge CONTROLS run on 12 volt ALL the time .. On gas or 110 ( very few fridges now have a 12volt heat cycle .. 3way) with no 12 volt it won't run on gas or 110 !
My bet your converter is not working ,breaker off or just plain broken.
__________________
2003 Beaver Marquis
2016 25' (20'box) CargoMate car hauler
Bill
BillJinOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 11:32 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Bug512's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Warren County, NJ
Posts: 1,334
I think even with AC power available the refrigerators control circuitry needs 12VDC to operate. The AC is for the heating element.

This is from Norcold's owners manual:
Electronic controls operate on 12 Vdc. When an AC/DC converter is used to supply DC power, the refrigerator circuit must be connected to the appliance output terminals of the converter (filtered side).
If the refrigerator circuit is connected to the unfiltered side, the AC ripple generated by the converter may cause a dc LO fault code to display.
To troubleshoot a dc LO fault, connect a charged 12 volt automotive battery to the power board. If the dc LO code clears, the fault was caused by unfiltered DC power.
If the dc LO code does not clear, replace the power board.

Check the batteries, water, electrolyte, voltage.
__________________
Gene & Ginger
No RV at this time.
04 Winnebago Adventurer 33V, 05 Jayco 23B, 02 Coleman Cheyenne
Bug512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 11:55 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palisade CO
Posts: 3,562
Have you checked to see if the AUX switch (battery disconnect switch) by the door has accidentally been turned to off?
__________________
Clay WA5NMR - Ex Snowbird - 1 year, Ex Full timer for 11 years - 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N Workhorse chassis. Honda Accord toad.
Clay L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:25 PM   #13
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,753
As stated battery cut off switch needs to be on when ever your using the coach and appliances, for batteries to be charged by converter.
Converter also needs the 110 in its outlet check the load center circuit breaker.

RV ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:55 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
rhusak's Avatar


 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Conifer, Colorado
Posts: 721
Hi All..
I ALWAYS carry a 3 stage battery charger with me.. Never needed it. Probably cause I carry a charger.. But have lent it to camp mates who have had Inverter issues and they were sure happy I had it.. Cheap insurance.. Who wants to fix electrical issues when you are supposed to be having fun?
Ron Husak
Currently at Lake Havasu AZ
__________________

__________________
rhusak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.