Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2013, 06:36 PM   #1
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,328
Where do you locate your outside temp sensor?

I have one of the indoor/outdoor thermometers in the MH and have been trying to figure out a good place to locate the outside sensor. I didn't want to mount it to the wall outside because sometimes it would be in direct sunlight and the reflected heat from the wall surface would cause the temp to read higher than the actual ambient temp outside.

Finally I came up with what I feel is a good solution. The propane tank has it's own bay up front, and there is no floor in the bay, just support beams. I mounted the sensor on the wall next to the propane tank.

Does anyone have a better suggestion or can you see any reason that this location should not give me an accurate temp? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-17-2013, 06:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
I've read in other posts, that is a good pace to put it.
__________________

__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 06:42 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
ernieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,109
My precious coach (Winnebago) had it installed inside the lower front cap from the factory. I installed the one on my current coach near the propane tank and it seems to be accurate.
__________________
ernieh
2012 Phaeton 36QSH
2007 Wrangler Toad
ernieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 06:44 PM   #4
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by ernieh View Post
My precious coach (Winnebago) had it installed inside the lower front cap from the factory. I installed the one on my current coach near the propane tank and it seems to be accurate.
My coach has the generator right behind the front cap so that wouldn't work.
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 06:53 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
dannynpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 22
We have ours mounted on the propane tank next to the regulator with zip ties. Seems to work just fine and easy to remove when needed.
__________________
dannynpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 06:59 PM   #6
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannynpat View Post
We have ours mounted on the propane tank next to the regulator with zip ties. Seems to work just fine and easy to remove when needed.
Does the propane tank not get cold when it is full of propane?
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 07:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
CampDaven's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fulltime, USA
Posts: 14,459
Blog Entries: 1
Mine is in PA on my daughters porch. The weather channel is close enough.
Easy-peasy.
Just sayin...
__________________
Dave and Nola, RVM1
The Journey is Our Destination!

http://davenola.blogspot.com/
CampDaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 07:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
777 Driver's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 745
I mounted mine under a slide in a location that doesn't interfere with the slide movement. Under the slide, it's always in the shade and exposed to the ambient temperature. I attached it with 3M mounting tape: http://www.3m.com/product/images/Sco...g-Tape-300.jpg

I considered mounting the sensor in the propane compartment. I decided against that because I was concerned that the large mass of the propane tank might have an effect on the temperature. Any time a propane appliance is burning propane, there will be evaporation of the liquid propane that will lower the temperature of the tank.

Take care,
Stu
__________________
"A superior pilot is one who uses his superior judgement to avoid situations which might require the demonstration of his superior skills."
Anthem 42DEQ in production
777 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 07:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
corvettec3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kentville, NS
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
Does the propane tank not get cold when it is full of propane?
You are correct Joe, it does get cold. When you open the valve and light an appliance, you are drawing off vapor and burning it. This lowers the pressure in the cylinder and the propane liquid begins to boil to replace the vapor. Propane boils at -44F, so the cylinder will actually cool down as you use it due to this boiling action.
__________________
_______________________________________
Binnie, Wanda & Yasper (Labradoodle)
1999 Winnebago Chieftain 35U F53 Chassis V10
Towing 2014 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
corvettec3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 07:31 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ed S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 962
Mine is in the garage to monitor the temp as we go down the road with the dogs. I just step outside to see what the temp is outside as needed, lol
__________________
Renegade Garage Unit
Ed S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 07:49 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
dannynpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 22
Well I used mine last week while camping in 25 to 40 degree weather at night with heat on and it recorded temps about 2 degrees higher that the local time and temp showed. It might not work for everyone, but it works good enough for me.
__________________
dannynpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 07:55 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
ronspradley's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,628
I have two outside gauges. One curb side storage compartment. The other street side wet bay storage compartment. That one lets me know if I get freezing temps so I can run furnace to keep it above freezing. Having one on each side lets me discount the reading on the sunny side.

ronspradley
__________________
1993 Gulfstream Sun Voyager DP 30'
200 HP Cummins B5.9, 4sp Allison AT542
Toad 1998 Honda CRV, 2006 Honda CRV
Life's too short to drink cheap beer.
ronspradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 12:11 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
ernieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
My coach has the generator right behind the front cap so that wouldn't work.
So was mine and it seemed to work OK, but location is everything.
__________________
ernieh
2012 Phaeton 36QSH
2007 Wrangler Toad
ernieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 07:39 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Bill2's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere on the road
Posts: 425
Even though the generator is in the front cap, how often do you actually run it? I have mine mounted on top of the water tank for the window wash, which is right in front of the generator and it works flawlessly. Never had a problem with it.
Bill
__________________

__________________
Bill O'Dell,Retired U.S. Army, Retired LEO, 2014 Tiffin, Phaeton, QBH, 2011 Jeep Grand Cherakee LTD
Bill2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.