Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2014, 10:53 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
CountryFit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Between the Oceans
Posts: 3,530
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr4Film View Post
CountryFit,

That board is located in each of your rooftop A/C's not in your 5 Button Comfort Control Center.

Each board has to have the Dip Switches set appropriately otherwise they won't work correctly.

Do you have the manuals for the A/C's and the 5 button CCC?

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Richard, yes i do have the manuals inquired to dometic last week. now it makes a lot of sense to me when reading them. there are two things i am not sure but think so:

(1) for zone 1, corresponding to front unit, there is no dip switch labeled as zone 1, so it defaults on; i just need to make sure to turn off that for "zone 2" here. on the rear unit, i will set "zone 2".

(2) there is a problem on front unit, how to set furnace? from the document diagrams, there is a furnace to be set on front unit, as furnace mode is only available on zone 1 from comfort control center. looking at the document for front unit, it appears to be no "furnace" dip switch. currently my hurricane hydronic heater (similar to aqua-hot equipped on some rvs) has no power, i guess the config may be wrong.

i will climb up to check the configs first thing in the morning. big thanks to all of you!!
__________________

__________________
2000 Country Coach Intrigue 40', ISC 350
2014 Ford C-Max Energi
CountryFit is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-29-2014, 06:02 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
CountryFit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Between the Oceans
Posts: 3,530
Blog Entries: 1
well, i went up and opened the lids of a/c units on rooftop, both boards appear correctly configured -
(1) front unit: all switches are off
(2) rear unit: zone 2 is on, all others are off

iisc, these settings are what should be. now i am thinking my control center may be at fault...
__________________

__________________
2000 Country Coach Intrigue 40', ISC 350
2014 Ford C-Max Energi
CountryFit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 06:19 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,688
The major reason a 30A RV is not wired to run both simultaneously is, if both switch on at the same time it WILL trip the pedestal breaker or your main, every time.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 04:30 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 118
When you want to run the generator do you have to unplug the shore power?
__________________
Dave, Vanessa & Mindye
SFC E-7, US Army Retired
2003 Kit Road Ranger 5th Wheel
dvkiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 04:48 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Keeseville ny
Posts: 361
Out 2 airs are 8,000 btu's and the rear has a delay start. System works great.
__________________
cwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 06:59 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray,IN View Post
The major reason a 30A RV is not wired to run both simultaneously is, if both switch on at the same time it WILL trip the pedestal breaker or your main, every time.
Ray: this statement is incorrect. If you have an intellitec shed system, as many Fleetwood products with 30 amp service have, You can run both AC's at one time.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 05:14 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,688
gatraveler, go back and re-read the original question that started this topic. The intellitec system is NOT in the topic/question. I was correct for the original question. And yes, you are right, a power management system WILL permit doing so safely.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 06:43 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,790
I will point out,, For those who run both A/C's on 30 amps.

Some RV's have a management system that will cycle back and forth between two A/Cs so both run, but only one at a time. These systems are handy but they also eat 12 volts (for their computer) so if you loose 12 volts you loose... everything.

And I mentioned I have Two A/Cs on made in 2005 is 13,500 BTU and 13.5 amps, the other is 2012, 15,000 BTU and 13.5 amps, yes the exact same amps.

Some makes and models are more efficent,, I would think that with modern higher efficiencies it might be possible to get a 13,500 down to as low as 10 amps,, And two of those on 30 amps.... Possible.

Plus they make smaller units, say 7,500,, two of those on 30, also possible.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 07:19 PM   #23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
I will point out,, For those who run both A/C's on 30 amps.

Some RV's have a management system that will cycle back and forth between two A/Cs so both run, but only one at a time. These systems are handy but they also eat 12 volts (for their computer) so if you loose 12 volts you loose... everything.

And I mentioned I have Two A/Cs on made in 2005 is 13,500 BTU and 13.5 amps, the other is 2012, 15,000 BTU and 13.5 amps, yes the exact same amps.

Some makes and models are more efficent,, I would think that with modern higher efficiencies it might be possible to get a 13,500 down to as low as 10 amps,, And two of those on 30 amps.... Possible.

Plus they make smaller units, say 7,500,, two of those on 30, also possible.
I will have to check the amp draw on my A/C units as I suspect they are twin 13500's. But I power my A/C at home when getting ready for a trip and run the living area A/C with no problems all day. I did forget to turn off the rear A/C and after 15 minutes or so the circuit breaker tripped in the garage (20amp). Took some time to figure out why my coach was all of a sudden kicking that breaker until I found out my rear A/C was turned on. I have a load sharing device for the A/C as you can see LED's showing "Shed". So it was commanding both A/C compressors on at the same time.
__________________
jamesrxx951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 07:34 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
aauummm's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Altoona, Iowa
Posts: 1,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
I will point out,, For those who run both A/C's on 30 amps.

Some RV's have a management system that will cycle back and forth between two A/Cs so both run, but only one at a time. These systems are handy but they also eat 12 volts (for their computer) so if you loose 12 volts you loose... everything.

And I mentioned I have Two A/Cs on made in 2005 is 13,500 BTU and 13.5 amps, the other is 2012, 15,000 BTU and 13.5 amps, yes the exact same amps.

Some makes and models are more efficent,, I would think that with modern higher efficiencies it might be possible to get a 13,500 down to as low as 10 amps,, And two of those on 30 amps.... Possible.

Plus they make smaller units, say 7,500,, two of those on 30, also possible.
True, I have the two 13.5K BTU high efficiency AC's and they each draw 10 Amps according to the specs (at standard conditions). I've even had them draw less, right around 9 Amps each. We run both all of the time on a 30 Amp service and the EMS doesn't have to shed load very often.
__________________

__________________
2010 Itasca Sunova 33C, mucho mods
2011 Honda CRV, 2004 Rubicon (mucho mods)
aauummm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.