Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2012, 09:38 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 22
Will 50A RV Work W/30A Outlet?

I recently bought a used class C that has been wired for 50A. My prior class C was wired for 30A.
On a recent camping trip the park we were staying in didn't have any 50A plug ins, offering only 30A. When I plugged in (using a 50A to 30A adapter) I couldnt get any of the appliances to work.
The 12V system worked but couldnt get anything else to come on (microwave, AC, etc.)
Is this normal? of is there a way to switch over somehow that I am missing?
Thanks for your help.
John
__________________

__________________
born free 28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-18-2012, 09:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
nightriderrv's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 1,682
It depends on what the other owner did when it was wired to 50AMP did they just add a 20amp sub panel to run a extra A/C if so then all will work as normal except that sub panel
__________________

__________________
Mark Anderson - Nebo NC - western NC - RV Restoration tech - 9 Doggies - Outdoors person
1990 33ft Wilderness Cimarron 33X
nightriderrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:48 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,423
RV is wired wrong or there is a switch. Only the previous owner would know about a switch. We (here on the forum) are only guessing since none of us did the work,
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
nightriderrv's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 1,682
Sound a little scary to me I would be in there going over that thing good and wire it correct why for the 50amp any way there not that much in a C
__________________
Mark Anderson - Nebo NC - western NC - RV Restoration tech - 9 Doggies - Outdoors person
1990 33ft Wilderness Cimarron 33X
nightriderrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:10 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22
I'd be careful about using that sauna on a 30A circuit.
__________________
rtlowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:14 PM   #6
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by born free 28 View Post
I recently bought a used class C that has been wired for 50A. My prior class C was wired for 30A.
John
What is the make and year of your class C?
Does your name "Born Free 28" supposed to tell us the make, or are we supposed to guess?

Are you saying the C was wired from the builder for 50A?
Or are you saying that someone rewired it for 50A?

If it is a Born Free, and IF it was originally wired by them for 50A......call them for help/info.

However, if it has been rewired, there is no easy way to know how and/or what was done......or how safe/unsafe it my be!
You, (or an electrician), will have to figure out how it was changed from the original, and how to use it.
Mel
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:20 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 22
Sorry for the confusion in my original message.
It is a 28' Born Free and was wired from the factory with 50A (I think because it has 2 AC units).
At any rate, I will take your suggestion and call them to get some more information.
Thanks
John
__________________
born free 28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:16 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Tony Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peru heading for Brasilia, Brazil
Posts: 2,117
I assume the 30 to 50 adaptor that came with mine connects both legs of the 50 amp system together. Base that on being able to run everything on the MH with the proviso that I have to be sensible what gets switched on.
__________________
Tony Lee - International Grey Nomad. Picasa Album - Travel Map
RVs. USA - Airstream Cutter; in Australia - MC8 40' DIY Coach conversion & OKA 4x4 MH; in Germany - Hobby Class C; in S America - F350 with 2500 10.6 Bigfoot camper
Tony Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 01:05 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by born free 28 View Post
Sorry for the confusion in my original message.
It is a 28' Born Free and was wired from the factory with 50A (I think because it has 2 AC units).
At any rate, I will take your suggestion and call them to get some more information.
Thanks
John
Well, that certainly changes my earlier answer!
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 02:27 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
stink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Lee View Post
I assume the 30 to 50 adaptor that came with mine connects both legs of the 50 amp system together. Base that on being able to run everything on the MH with the proviso that I have to be sensible what gets switched on.
Dude!!!! If the adapter hooked both legs of a 50a curcuit together it would short and pop the breaker. You should have a switching system that spreads the single 30a power to both sides like an intilitec or something, anybody to help?
__________________
Dave and Laura & two cats
02 Discovery with Accord toad
retired auto rv tech and teacher, wife rt nurse
stink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:03 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Tony Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peru heading for Brasilia, Brazil
Posts: 2,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by stink View Post
Dude!!!! If the adapter hooked both legs of a 50a curcuit together it would short and pop the breaker. You should have a switching system that spreads the single 30a power to both sides like an intilitec or something, anybody to help?
I didn't suggest hooking both legs of a 50 amp plug together and plugging it into a 50 amp service. Why would you want to do that anyway.

The system you use is different to most of the rest of the world, but my understanding is that the 50 amp plug has 4 pins. An earth and two actives 240V apart plus the neutral. In the motorhome, assuming there is no 240V appliances, each active feeds a separate circuit (or circuits) so they all are running at 120V. Theoretically this can supply 2 x 50 a 120 = 12kW

The 30 amp plug only has three pins - earth, line and neutral and can supply only 1 x 30 x 120 = 3.6kW.

So if I have an adaptor (male plug) that feeds from a 30 amp service into a 50 amp socket (into which the 50 amp motorhome lead is plugged), but only connected inside the adaptor to one leg of the 50 amp socket instead of both, I can only power up half the circuits in the MH - and even then would have to be careful how much load I switched on to keep it to 30 amps.

If I connected the line from the 30 amp plug to both line connections in the 50 amp socket, then I would power up all the 120V circuits in the coach BUT of course I would still have to be careful to limit the load to the 30 amp rating. I don't have any 240V appliances, but even if I did, all that happens is the 220V appliance doesn't work.

Since I'm pretty sure everything in the airstream can with care be powered up whether I use a 30 to 50 adaptor or plug into the 50 amp, I assumed that was how the adaptor is wired.
__________________
Tony Lee - International Grey Nomad. Picasa Album - Travel Map
RVs. USA - Airstream Cutter; in Australia - MC8 40' DIY Coach conversion & OKA 4x4 MH; in Germany - Hobby Class C; in S America - F350 with 2500 10.6 Bigfoot camper
Tony Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:18 AM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
Stink...the 50A/30A adapter routes the single 30A hot feed of the 30A outlet to both of the hot legs of a 50A shore cord, thus providing shared power to them. That does not constitute a short.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:39 AM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
Something to consider - I've had a 30-to-50 dogbone adapter go bad (it's still in the electrical bay of my RV right now in case I need to scavenge the plugs) such that it drops one of the 50 amp legs of the feed to the RV. If all else fails, check for continuity between the L1 pin on the 30 amp side of the adapter to both L1 and L2 on the 50 amp side of the adapter.

Rusty
__________________

__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.