Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2017, 11:34 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atascadero, CA
Posts: 26
Wire run to install new backup cam system

On my '02 TS 40' I am installing a newer model 3 camera backup system by Voyager. The older single rear camera system uses standard coax that appears to run through the overhead to the front area but the new camera uses a 4-wire cable to carry video, voice and power +/- between front and back. Has anyone discovered whether it is possible to use the existing coax to pull the new cable though whatever channel through the ceiling that it follows. Are there possibly any fixtures that are strategically located along that channel that would allow for intermediate fish/pull access points. I would prefer to use the existing run if feasible vs. running the new cable under and through the chassis rails somewhere.
__________________

__________________
Joe & Cathy
2002 TS 40 Spartan Mountain Master MG
2014 Honda CR-V
calflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-03-2017, 12:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 15,717
I doubt the coax can be used as a fish tape. If it's not fastened along the chase it's in, it's likely wrapped or entangled in other wires in the same chase. Pulling on the coax could mess up other wiring. I think it'd be wiser to go underneath, using lots of zip ties to tuck the new wiring up out of the way. JMHO
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 12:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bigd9's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 3,733
I agree with BFlinn181, at least that was the way it was in My Discovery. I ended up running the new wire under the coach along the frame then up the front through the window post and to the new camera. I love the new camera. It is so sharp, clear and much better wide angle viewing. https://www.rearviewsafety.com/safet...er-rv-cam.html
__________________
Good Luck, Be Safe and Above All, Don't Forget To Have Fun
Pete
2006 Fleetwood Discovery 35H, being pushed by a 2014 Honda CRV
Bigd9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 11:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Minden nevada
Posts: 150
I put a new camera kit on my 02 country coach. I cut the old connectors of the existing cable and soldered the new connectors in there place after cutting them from the new cable worked fine
__________________
Roy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 11:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 15,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy1 View Post
I put a new camera kit on my 02 country coach. I cut the old connectors of the existing cable and soldered the new connectors in there place after cutting them from the new cable worked fine
Yes, I've done that too. But the OP is talking COAX, which is one center wire and a woven ground surrounding it. He has to run 4 wires to the new camera and monitor, not two.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 10:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Minden nevada
Posts: 150
Didn't know they could power the camera with only a single wire coax. The old existing wire in mine had 4-6 wires in the cable I had a couple of wires in it I didn't use.
__________________
Roy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 11:20 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 4,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy1 View Post
Didn't know they could power the camera with only a single wire coax. The old existing wire in mine had 4-6 wires in the cable I had a couple of wires in it I didn't use.
Same here ... not coax but a shielded cable with a bunch of wires.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 11:32 PM   #8
Member
 
TOM356C's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Newport Beach,Ca
Posts: 99
I ran new wire down rear shell then along the frame to the front floorboard. Drilled a hole then up to dash. Old wiring was not compatible with new camera. Tom 07 Pacifica
__________________
TOM356C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 08:50 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 4,920
Just had a look at my camera wiring diagram. It has Video Out, Ground, and 12vdc.

So, assuming the coax shield is ground, the Video Out could be on the center connector and then you only need +12vdc switched from some source near the back.

This also assumes your camera has no additional features like left/right movement or zoom.
__________________

__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Backup Cam - Funny Story TVS iRV2.com General Discussion 8 09-13-2017 07:24 PM
Replace B&W Panasonic backup cam? frogger1 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 12 08-10-2016 10:00 AM
Backup Cam - guess I'm slow bobs51 RV Systems & Appliances 1 06-27-2015 09:49 PM
Backup Cam is sick? NVMike Monaco Owner's Forum 5 03-26-2015 05:11 PM
Backup Cam removal Ed & Caroline National RV Owner's Forum 8 09-03-2012 05:02 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.