Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2016, 04:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
Woooooops A/C problems

My son left the AC on in our 1998 National class A, when it was hooked up to a standard 110v outlet at the RV storage facility. I would sometimes turn it on while getting it ready for a trip but never for more than 20 minutes or so at a time. Well, he left it on for a weekend.

Now, the duel control thermostat acts like it doesn't have enough power to even keep the display screen lit up. When you select zones, it won't even show heat and when you turn on AC, NOTHING happens. no blower, no air......NOTHING

So, any ideas besides taking it to the shop?
__________________

__________________
RVKenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-04-2016, 04:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Phoenix,Az
Posts: 344
I'm pretty sure the AC pulls more amps than the 110 volt outlet could handle. Are you sure it did not trip the 110 volt breaker? It also would then pull battery power, so if you can start the generator that would be the quickest way to re-charge your batteries and restore power to the T-Stat.
__________________

__________________
2009 Holiday Rambler Navigator
Cummins ISX-650/1950-tq, Allison 4000
2007 Lexus LX470
RVNewbie55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 06:21 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Rich-n-Linda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 884
A standard 110-volt outlet will run one AC. I do it all the time when in storage and I'm working in the coach. However, it doesn't take much additional current demand to trip the breaker. If the battery charger cycled to an Absorption rate, for example, that would do it.

In this case, it sounds like the 12 house batteries are dead.
__________________
Rich-n-Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 02:49 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
tinstar 1114's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 310
Out of curiosity, was the outlet that was plugged into a 20 amp and were you using at least a 12 gauge wire and how are you trying to power it now? If you're still trying with the same cord it was plugged in over the weekend, the cord may be burned up. Small gauge wire doesn't last long if you are powering something that takes higher amps than is available. Other than that, it sounds like a dead house battery and maybe a tripped breaker,,,,,,,,,,,, like RVNewbee55 said. I assume you know that you have to have good 12 volt power to the a/c for it to work.
__________________
tinstar 1114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 10:14 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
jerboy's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 393
If the coach was plugged to 110 should not the house batteries have been charged thru the converter?
__________________
WE WORK HARD SO OUR DOG CAN HAVE A BETTER LIFE
2005 ADVENTURER 38J
jerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 10:21 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Podivin's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,101
This seems more like a 12 volt problem, I would expect the thermostat to be powered by 12 volt, not 120.
Have you checked the charge on the batteries?
__________________
1996 Fleetwood Southwind 34'
Podivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 11:44 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Bryantclan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 105
The controls on most RV thermostats are 12 volt, sounds to me like your converter was not keeping the batteries up likely due to an open shore power breaker or possibly due to low voltage from melting the cord.

Fire up the big engine and see if everything gets happy again.
__________________
Shaun & Jarese - Denver Co
3 Kids, Nicholas 16, Alex 13, Cassie 9 Years
Newmar AllStar 3950 (mid-engine diesel)
Bryantclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 12:39 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
530ktm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 1,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich-n-Linda View Post
A standard 110-volt outlet will run one AC.
It may, but not for long if the wires are not big enough which will over heat something and cause problems.
__________________
2014 Itasca Sunova 33C towing a Jeep JK Wrangler
530ktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 02:19 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Rich-n-Linda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 884
What wires are you talking about?

The wires in the house/garage will certainly handle the 11-12 amp current draw for one AC. The outlets are fused at 15 or 20 amps and by code the wiring HAS to be sized for the rated current.

If the extension cord is 12 gauge, that's fine, too. If the extension is 14 gauge, a steady draw of 11-12 amps is going to be a problem, but it will work...for a while.

And if it's a little 16 gauge home extension cord, get the fire extinguisher ready.
__________________
Rich-n-Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 12:09 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Bryantclan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 105
In my experience it is the connection points that overheat long before the wire is a problem.
__________________
Shaun & Jarese - Denver Co
3 Kids, Nicholas 16, Alex 13, Cassie 9 Years
Newmar AllStar 3950 (mid-engine diesel)
Bryantclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 01:09 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryantclan View Post
In my experience it is the connection points that overheat long before the wire is a problem.
Yes. A worn out/burnt receptacle, lose connection, dirty prongs, small wire size, and/or running appliances close to the max the circuit is rated for can cause problems.

I used to run our 7,000 btu rooftop on 15 amp service. Even with that little unit, the plug end got a little warm. You can bet i'll never run the 15,000 we have now on a 15 amp circuit.
__________________
03 Itasca Sunova, 8.1 Workhorse on a P32 chassis
Mudfrog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:14 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
Thermostat is powered by 12v.

The OP's description seems to indicate the thermostat does not work, therefore AC will not run.

Check the house battery.
__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:19 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 34
What kind of air conditioner is it?
__________________
PJtraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 11:40 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Rich-n-Linda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudfrog View Post
...You can bet i'll never run the 15,000 we have now on a 15 amp circuit.

I run a 13,500 btu AC on a 15 amp circuit. I use an industrial grade, 10 gauge extension cord and nothing gets warm. But I can't run ANYTHING else on the 110 VAC circuits in the coach when the AC is on. The battery charger has to be in float mode with the batteries fully charged so the charge current is very low. If it goes into an Absorption charge mode, the breaker will trip.
__________________

__________________
Rich-n-Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
problems



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dealers for Palazzo Problems & Thor Slide Problems "007" Thor Industries Owner's Forum 29 11-10-2015 06:29 AM
A/C Problems with heavy condensation problems Help Please!! Tevans Newmar Owner's Forum 6 06-21-2015 09:26 AM
Workhorse springs and supply problems Max Tunnell Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 14 11-29-2008 01:22 PM
Problems with Directv receiver during Set Up wagonmaster2 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 10 11-23-2008 01:41 PM
Leaking problems with Hybrid anyone else have problems? Barrie Expandables, Hybrids, & Lightweights Discussion 2 11-20-2005 09:08 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.