Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2016, 09:24 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
John Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 416
Xantrex shows no AC, but inverter seems to work?

I am chasing an issue on my 2000 CC Allure. I leave my inverter on and my coach plugged into my 50 amp shore power at my house. When I went in the other day, my house batteries were dead and I don't see a AC green light on my control panel showing that I am hooked up to my shore power. I have checked voltage across the terminals on the surge protector, I hear the transfer switch clicking over. After charging my batteries overnight, I turned on my inverter. Everything works fine, but I still don't have a green light showing that I am getting shore power. When I run my generator, everything works like it should in the coach.

Hopefully I explained everything, but please, give some advice we are headed on a short trip in 2 weeks and I need to get this resolved. I'm not sure if something is wrong with my inverter or??

Thanks for the help
__________________

__________________
John Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-26-2016, 09:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Pexring's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Aberdeen, SD
Posts: 586
You sure the transfer switch is working properly? Hearing it may not be enough. Does the inverter also have it's own transfer switch?
__________________

__________________
2000 Newmar Dutch Star 38' Class A, Spartan chasis, MM-2242, Cummins 330 pulling a 2014 Ford Focus.
Pexring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2016, 05:50 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 470
Call Mike at emarinesystems. I recently has a Xantrex problem, and Mike was very knowledgable and helpful.

Mike Stanczyk
Service Manager

954-581-2505 Office
2821 SW 23rd Terrace, Unit #3
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
www.emarinesystems.com

Paul
__________________
Paul Whittle
2005 Monaco Signature 45'
515 HP/1850 Ft Lb C8.3 ISX-15/6-Speed Allison 4000
pwhittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2016, 08:23 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
gemert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 847
Sounds like shore side relay in the transfer switch may be bad. Hook to shore power and measure the output of the transfer switch or the 115 input to the inverter.
__________________
Jerry, "EWC (SW)" USN Retired
2003 Beaver Patriot Thunder 505 HP C-12 1550 TQ
Allison 4000MH Ram 4X4 towed
gemert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2016, 09:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
John Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 416
I have checked the transfer switch. I pulled the panel cover off and I have 120v on each leg. I am beginning to think that the charge function of this Xantrex freedom 20 is bad. I will probably pull it out tomorrow and see if there is an internal fuse thats blown, keeping my fingers crossed....
__________________
John Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2016, 10:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 470
Xantrex shows no AC, but inverter seems to work?

I had the same non-charging condition. Mike from emarinesystems talked me through removing the cover and tapping the relays which got it going again temporarily and diagnosed the problem

I either need to buy a replacement relay board, or try to replace the relays.

If I do the latter, I will post about it.

Paul
__________________
Paul Whittle
2005 Monaco Signature 45'
515 HP/1850 Ft Lb C8.3 ISX-15/6-Speed Allison 4000
pwhittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2016, 10:32 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
John Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 416
Thanks Paul, I will pull the inverter tomorrow. I just wanted to do some checking before I removed it. I will call Mike friday since I have the day off.
__________________
John Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2016, 10:46 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
gemert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Jones View Post
Thanks Paul, I will pull the inverter tomorrow. I just wanted to do some checking before I removed it. I will call Mike friday since I have the day off.
Wait! You said above that everything works while on genie power? If that is the case it can't be the inverter. Maybe I misunderstood when you said everything works as it should. When you checked the output of the transfer switch was the coach on genie or shore? What you described above was a classic Transfer switch problem. I have a friend that fixes Xantrx and Magnum inverters. He told me day before yesterday that people replace good inverters all the time because they misdiagnose the problem. He replaced a bad transfer switch yesterday because someone brought him an inverter and asked him to install. He did and the problem remained. They got mad at him because they then had to pay to replace the transfer switch also. My point is that you should just be sure that it is bad before you spend a couple grand on a new one. Check the 115 input with the genie only running and then again with the genie off and shore power hooked up. If good then you may need one but thats not what you posted in your first post which concerned me. Good luck and happy camping!
__________________
Jerry, "EWC (SW)" USN Retired
2003 Beaver Patriot Thunder 505 HP C-12 1550 TQ
Allison 4000MH Ram 4X4 towed
gemert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2016, 10:53 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
John Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 416
Maybe I should clarify everything works fine. When I am hooked up to shore power I don't see any AC coming in on my control panel and my house batteries are not charging. When I start the generator, I can get everything working in the coach, but still my batteries won't charge.

The only way I got my batteries charged was to hook up an external battery charger.

Thanks
__________________
John Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2016, 11:14 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
gemert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Jones View Post
Maybe I should clarify everything works fine. When I am hooked up to shore power I don't see any AC coming in on my control panel and my house batteries are not charging. When I start the generator, I can get everything working in the coach, but still my batteries won't charge.

The only way I got my batteries charged was to hook up an external battery charger.

Thanks
OK, remember I'm not an expert or a professional. If you are getting everything working in the coach on genie, your charger may be working. I say that because it is what puts out the 12VDC that both charges your batteries and operates all 12VDC items in your coach. This does sound like a weird problem. I think you need to check the shore power with an actual meter and see what it is. Then, if necessary, follow it through the switch to the inverter. I will try to attach a functional diagram of how the 115VAC system works. Hope it attaches and it helps. Good luck.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Inverter.JPG
Views:	62
Size:	116.2 KB
ID:	125472  
__________________
Jerry, "EWC (SW)" USN Retired
2003 Beaver Patriot Thunder 505 HP C-12 1550 TQ
Allison 4000MH Ram 4X4 towed
gemert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2016, 11:25 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
John Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 416
I took the covers off of both my transfer switch and surge protector. I measured 120 on each leg. (They are both together in a cabinet in the rear of my coach) I then pulled off the breaker panel cover and made sure I had 120v on each leg.

Thanks for the help and the diagram, I will look it over!
__________________
John Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016, 07:15 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Coastal Campers
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,405
Quote:

Maybe I should clarify everything works fine. When I am hooked up to shore power I don't see any AC coming in on my control panel and my house batteries are not charging. When I start the generator, I can get everything working in the coach, but still my batteries won't charge.

The only way I got my batteries charged was to hook up an external battery charger.
Sounds like you have two problems. Transfer switch and converter(charger).

- You should have AC in either generator or shorepower mode. This is pointing to a transfer switch problem You can verify this with a voltmeter, checking the output voltage on each leg, measuring each leg to ground. Check in both generator and shorepower mode. Typical for the relay contact points to arch and pit if power is switched without turning off high current devices. This ruins the contact points, eventually causing high resistance which will then not pass the voltage thru.

- Once you fix the transfer switch problem and have confirmed AC output voltage in both modes, I'd check that you don't have a breaker/fuse tripped feeding the converter. If you don't find a problem there, need to verify the AC voltage is correct at the input to the converter....and it's panel control is calling for it to charge. Check the DC voltage on it's output. Make sure the output voltage you are seeing is the higher charge voltage that your converter puts out, and not the lower residual voltage coming back from the batteries.
__________________
DaveB, Raleigh, NC
2015 Tiffin RED 33AA, w/Honda CRV
VMSpc, Magnum BMK/ARC50
Kiawah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016, 10:47 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SC
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Jones View Post
I am chasing an issue on my 2000 CC Allure. I leave my inverter on and my coach plugged into my 50 amp shore power at my house. When I went in the other day, my house batteries were dead and I don't see a AC green light on my control panel showing that I am hooked up to my shore power. I have checked voltage across the terminals on the surge protector, I hear the transfer switch clicking over. After charging my batteries overnight, I turned on my inverter. Everything works fine, but I still don't have a green light showing that I am getting shore power. When I run my generator, everything works like it should in the coach.

Hopefully I explained everything, but please, give some advice we are headed on a short trip in 2 weeks and I need to get this resolved. I'm not sure if something is wrong with my inverter or??

Thanks for the help
On the back of the control panel is a plug that looks like a telephone plug, unplug this and wait 5min then plug it back in to reset control center.
__________________
Alphuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016, 08:06 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
John Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemert View Post
Sounds like shore side relay in the transfer switch may be bad. Hook to shore power and measure the output of the transfer switch or the 115 input to the inverter.
I want to double check that I am checking the transfer switch properly. I pulled off the cover and measured 120V to ground on each of the black and red wires. The white and green are neutrals/ground and have 0 volts.
__________________

__________________
John Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ems, inverter, xantrex



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xantrex inverter/charger shows full charge at 12.2V michelb Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 07-16-2013 07:04 PM
Water pump won't turn on but panel shows its on Lindenberg Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 7 04-20-2010 12:55 AM
Flipped Axles but now it seems to bounce.. Help suebruce Travel Trailer Discussion 22 05-04-2005 06:30 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.