Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class B Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-08-2012, 10:35 AM   #1

I hate my generator.

Im a complete newb at RV'ing. I've spent over 3000 dollars just to get things running again, and I've gone nowhere in it except to drive it home.

When I first got the RV it had sat 1 1/2 years in an enclosed storage unit. You can imagine the fuel went bad and ruined the genset carb., not to mention the fuel pump in the gas tank I had to replace. I bought an OEM carb and replaced the old one on the genset. Started right up and ran fine. It has sat in my driveway for a week or so since. Today we were goning to go to my wifes mom () and spend the day, so I tried running the generator. It ran for 2 min. - maybe - then just died. I tiried starting it again and it ran for 3 seconds or so and died, and never restarted. I took the carb off and dumped the fuel out. It looked yellow. I cranked the fuel pump to the generator and it pumped yellow fule for a few seconds and then pumped clear. Not sure what this means. I cleaned the carb with carb cleaner as best I could. I hooked all back up and it rand for 3 seconds or so again and died. It just keeps doing this.

The fuel tank has fresh fuel in it and the RV ran fine from Houston to Louisiana on that fuel and was the same fuel running the carb when it died. I had previously purged the fule line to the genset prior to installing the new carb.