RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2014, 10:44 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Tleader51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
Gauge malfunction

Lost all gauges this morning. All accessories are working. I was even able to start engine. Checked front fuse panel and all appeared to be working. All suggestions welcome.
__________________

Tleader51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-01-2014, 11:27 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 19,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tleader51 View Post
Lost all gauges this morning. All accessories are working. I was even able to start engine. Checked front fuse panel and all appeared to be working. All suggestions welcome.

It would help a lot if you add info about make, model, etc. of RV in your signature line. If it's an older model, check for a loose ground connection under dash. You might use a wire to create a new ground path to test. If a newer diesel, it might be a problem with the computer that regulates engine and sends signals to the dash. The computer can get water in it or it could be a loose/bad connector in the cable. Since the engine started, it doesn't sound if the computer is bad, but again it's just a guess since I don't know if it's new/old, diesel, etc.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 11:45 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Tleader51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
2005 Winnebago Journey 39K
Tleader51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 12:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
rgvtexan's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE WA or S TX
Posts: 2,721
A known problem with the FL chassis. If you are a good elect troubleshooter, you may find a poor ground, or broken wire.
Wife just hollered and said I need to get dressed for a NY Party.
I will get back later with links to this problem.
Check posts by Scott (Fire up)
__________________
04 Horizon QD, 12 Ford Flex, Excalibar, Brakemaster, Winter Texan, RVin! since 1974
Norm, Donna & Tinker Kat 74 MGB-GT, 75 MGB, 01 Z3
Life is a Timed Event, you only get One Go Around!
rgvtexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 07:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
rgvtexan's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE WA or S TX
Posts: 2,721
Back from the party! Happy New Year.

Search for posts on VDV and MMDC or Google the same. Good luck and post for more info and your success.


check here Could this be an MMDC problem?
__________________
04 Horizon QD, 12 Ford Flex, Excalibar, Brakemaster, Winter Texan, RVin! since 1974
Norm, Donna & Tinker Kat 74 MGB-GT, 75 MGB, 01 Z3
Life is a Timed Event, you only get One Go Around!
rgvtexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 07:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma
Posts: 352
We have a 2001 Horizon, and had to replace the VCM. That was a few years ago, so don't recall the cost. It was mounted in the engine compartment under the top cover. Simple plug in and 4 bolts holding it onto the firewall. Solved the gauge problem.
__________________
2017 DSDP 4054 Spartan Chassis
BattChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 10:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond Hill, GA USA
Posts: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tleader51 View Post
Lost all gauges this morning. All accessories are working. I was even able to start engine. Checked front fuse panel and all appeared to be working. All suggestions welcome.
Call the Freightliner help desk (free service). Have the last 6 digits of your VIN number handy. They can give you some troubleshooting directions.
1 800 385-4357

They are good.

Fred
__________________
Fred & Vicki
St. Augustine, Fl.
Fred Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 07:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
FIRE UP's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 6,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tleader51 View Post
Lost all gauges this morning. All accessories are working. I was even able to start engine. Checked front fuse panel and all appeared to be working. All suggestions welcome.
Tleader51,
Well Sir, I just read your post today, on the 3rd. Well, this could be a serious night mare, or, it also could be a simple fix. I need to ask a few questions before I can answer you accurately.

1. You say you lost all gauges. Does your fuel gauge work? Air pressure gauges?

2. Does your "cruise control" work?

3. Does your "Exhaust brake" work?

4. Do you have the "Medallion Information Center" in your dash?

5. If so, does it say anything when you either start your rig, are driving it, or, at anytime at all and, if so, exactly "what" does it say in that LCD screen?

6. Are any of the colored icons lighting up in the Annunciator panel? (that's the panel on your dash that has all the colored icons that light up when you turn the ignition on? And if any light up, which ones?

You see, at this point, until you send that other information on your issue, I hesitate to tell you what I think you may have as a problem. The "MMDC" or, "VDC" does not control your engine. Those are two different computers, that came in different model year coaches. The VDC or, Vehicle Data Computer is the predecessor of the MMDC or, Multi-Module-Data-Computer.

Those two computers, simply gather information from your engines ECM, your transmissions ECM and your ABS Brake module and, decipher it, then convert it to a language that your gauges can understand. There's more to it than that but, that's the basic operation of either one of them. The VDC was used on prior models up to the change over to the MMDC.

The MMDC, which in your year coach, should be the version you should have, can be located in a couple of different places. In our Itasca Horizon 36GD with C-7 330 CAT, it's located in the left front compartment, in front of the left front tire.

But, on the Journeys, I'm not too sure where it could be.

But, again, I'd need those questions answered before I go any farther with an explanation of what could be your problem. Otherwise, I'd be blabbering about technical stuff that may not apply to your situation.
Scott
__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '08 GL 1800 Gold Wing
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 10:35 AM   #9
Member
 
Mikey143's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Buda, Tx
Posts: 44
I have a 2003 Itasca Horizon 39QD. I had the same problem. Lost all of the gauges, motor ran fine. I have to say my first sign of a problem was the cruise control quit working. The ground strap is on the steering column. Mine has two side by side, lots of ground wires. It took care of the problem. Good luck.
__________________
Pauly and Mikey
2003 Winnebago Itasca Horizon 39QD
Buda, Tx.
Mikey143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 10:44 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 54
Sorry, I'm a little late to this party. I have a 2000 Itasca Horizon, sister to the Journey. I have the same problem, but I'm not 100% sure how relevant my experience is as my coach is a bit older than yours. In my case, I traced it to the master connection at the back of the instrument panel where all the input wires plug in. It is loose and if I jiggle it, I can induce the failure or make them start working again. Mine normally work, but will fail intermittently while driving.

I haven't gotten around to trying to permanently repair. Sometimes they come back by themselves and sometimes a little whack on the top of the panel does it. I also installed a ScanGauge D, so I have a backup speedo, tach, temp, etc.
__________________
-Scott
2000 Itasca Horizon 36LD
Jagnweiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 11:26 AM   #11
Member
 
Mikey143's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Buda, Tx
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagnweiner View Post
Sorry, I'm a little late to this party. I have a 2000 Itasca Horizon, sister to the Journey. I have the same problem, but I'm not 100% sure how relevant my experience is as my coach is a bit older than yours. In my case, I traced it to the master connection at the back of the instrument panel where all the input wires plug in. It is loose and if I jiggle it, I can induce the failure or make them start working again. Mine normally work, but will fail intermittently while driving.

I haven't gotten around to trying to permanently repair. Sometimes they come back by themselves and sometimes a little whack on the top of the panel does it. I also installed a ScanGauge D, so I have a backup speedo, tach, temp, etc.
I ended up calling the Freightliner helpline, they sent me Service Bulletin 54-12. It walks you thru testing the Message Center and the VDC. I found my 15-pin harness had a bad ground. A single 16gauge wire did the trick. I had spent $110.00 on a new sending unit and $267.00 on a new gauge, it was a simple grounding problem that would have been a free fix. I was able to return the gauge, minus a $50 restocking fee, but I have a perfectly useable fuel tank sending unit sitting in my garage. I learned a valuable lesson, call the helpline first. Good luck.
__________________
Pauly and Mikey
2003 Winnebago Itasca Horizon 39QD
Buda, Tx.
Mikey143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 10:23 AM   #12
Member
 
bruce Dixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hillsboro, Or
Posts: 82
I have 2002 Itasca Horizon 39QD
I Have lost fuel gage (stuck at Empty Slight movement when key turned on)
I have lost Message sender no lights displayed other than turn signals working.
I Can't reset trip or view information other than current miles. I assume rocker switch next to message sender (right Side) is for trip reset???
Cruise is working for warming up engine have not tried it for trips yet.
Don't know about Exhaust brakes.
I just bought this motor home.
Other than in front of motor home where are all the fuse panels at for Dash panel?
Trying to install a ScanGauge D, sales person told me any 5 Year old could find the connector, I can not find any round connector to plug it into. Anyone got a 5 year old I can borrow?
__________________
Bruce , Donna Dixon MSgt. USAF Ret.
Hillsboro, Or.
Itasca Horizon 39QD
bruce Dixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:17 PM   #13
Member
 
Mikey143's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Buda, Tx
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruce Dixon View Post
I have 2002 Itasca Horizon 39QD
I Have lost fuel gage (stuck at Empty Slight movement when key turned on)
I have lost Message sender no lights displayed other than turn signals working.
I Can't reset trip or view information other than current miles. I assume rocker switch next to message sender (right Side) is for trip reset???
Cruise is working for warming up engine have not tried it for trips yet.
Don't know about Exhaust brakes.
I just bought this motor home.
Other than in front of motor home where are all the fuse panels at for Dash panel?
Trying to install a ScanGauge D, sales person told me any 5 Year old could find the connector, I can not find any round connector to plug it into. Anyone got a 5 year old I can borrow?
Call the Freightliner help desk at 1-800-385-4357 available 24/7. Great technical help and they are very friendly. They can email you service bulletin 54-12. It will walk you through the diagnostic steps to get the message center back up. I would first suggest pulling the cowling off the back of the dashboard and checking the grounds on the steering column braces below the message center. Yes the rocker switch is for the odometer trip reset. Hold it about 4 seconds for it to reset. When you turn on the key, the fuel gauge should flutter near empty a couple of seconds after the key is turned on. This means the gauges are good. Call the help desk, they will get you going. Good luck.
__________________
Pauly and Mikey
2003 Winnebago Itasca Horizon 39QD
Buda, Tx.
Mikey143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 04:05 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruce Dixon View Post
Trying to install a ScanGauge D, sales person told me any 5 Year old could find the connector, I can not find any round connector to plug it into. Anyone got a 5 year old I can borrow?
Bruce-

It's down there. If I recall, mine was just to the left side of the steering column. The problem is that there is just a mass of wires in front of it. Start feeling behind wires. I think I found it first by feel. Once I found it, it was also difficult to pry the wires away enough to get the connector on. It is very tight.

I would take a picture for you, but I won't be able to go over to my coach until Saturday. If you still haven't found it by then, let me know.

Once I got the connector installed, I ran the cord up under the dash. I took the cover for the dash "pod" off and ran it out the back of that. I mounted the ScanGauge on top of the dash.

Good luck.
__________________

__________________
-Scott
2000 Itasca Horizon 36LD
Jagnweiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.