Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2010, 03:51 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Oil Pressure Gauge problems

I am in the midst of sorting out the last issue of many before embarking on a 7000 mile cross country adventure with my family. Thanks to your help, I have resolved everything but this. The oil pressure gauge was first sweeping all over and is now pegged at high with key engine on. I am thinking that it must be a bad ground, but I have no idea where it is grounded. The fuel gauge also sweeps occasional but ussualy works OK most of the time. Coach is a 1998 HR Endeavor 5.9 cummins 275. Thank in advance.
__________________

__________________
evotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-12-2010, 05:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
greystroke's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring Hill, Florida
Posts: 814
Got the same rig.

At first glance it sounds like and oil pressure guage or wiring as you stated. Could be anywhere.


I have some chassis wiring for it so it is circuit 1113 in the diagrams that goes from the sensor to H1 on the Coach interface harness. (White Wire) From the interface harness it goes to pin 9 of instrumentation harness.

The Engine drawings i got from Access freightliner which I can send to you if you want. Send e-mail by PM

The oil sensor has two wires going to it. The white one goes to main sensor an another wire goes to the oil switch inside the sensor.

My best guesses

Bad oil sensor
Open wire to sensor,(maybe from rodents)
Bad ground at meter in the panel
Bad connection on one of the two harnesses

When you go to cummins for the sensor you will probably need your Engine and CPL numbers stamped on the engine.
__________________

__________________
98 Endeavor DP, ISB275
RX300, Falcon II hitch, Brake Buddy
VMSpc, 2002 Grey Ford Powerstroke
TST 507 w/ 10 Sensors
greystroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 05:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15,699
I used to have just that issue with my car, back when I had a car. Turned out to be a bad oil pressure SENDER.

Now.. On my car disconnecting said sender shut off the engine.

But... Just so you know it might not be a bad ground. (likely not since the gauge grounds , normally, via the sender) or short.

But you can do this.. Locate the sender, Lift the wires and turn the ingation to RUN, (Do not try to start) note the reading.. Now, use a test lamp to,, ALMOST short the lead to ground.. Note the reading.. That will give you informaiton.
__________________
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 05:38 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
I used to have just that issue with my car, back when I had a car. Turned out to be a bad oil pressure SENDER.

Now.. On my car disconnecting said sender shut off the engine.

But... Just so you know it might not be a bad ground. (likely not since the gauge grounds , normally, via the sender) or short.

But you can do this.. Locate the sender, Lift the wires and turn the ingation to RUN, (Do not try to start) note the reading.. Now, use a test lamp to,, ALMOST short the lead to ground.. Note the reading.. That will give you informaiton.
Great info. Pm sent
__________________
evotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 07:08 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
MaverickBBD's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Formerly of Washington State
Posts: 1,131
Have you called 1.800.FTL.HELP and spoken with a technician? Leave a message, they are 100% on call backs if they don't speak with you right away. Have you coach VIN ready because they will need to know what kind of dash unit you have.
__________________
Tom, Cheryl & Blossom(coonhound mix) Formerly of Bellingham,WA'05 Winnebago Journey 36G. FL-XC, Cat 350, aero muffler, AFE filter, 4 FSD Koni's, ultra track bell, SafeT+, FMCA397030, WIT 129107
MaverickBBD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 09:15 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
greystroke's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring Hill, Florida
Posts: 814
EVO

Drawings sent. You have to study it awhile. It does not include the HR coach wiring. That should be in you tech data furnished by HR


Also I haven't found the wiring to the Engine computer on this file. I assume it comes off the egine harness

Tom
__________________
98 Endeavor DP, ISB275
RX300, Falcon II hitch, Brake Buddy
VMSpc, 2002 Grey Ford Powerstroke
TST 507 w/ 10 Sensors
greystroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 11:50 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
I am not really getting anywhere on this, but I do have one more question. There are 2 oil pressure senders Right? One goes to the ECM and one to the gauge. If a oil pressure problem presented itself, the ECM would throw a code. Right? Do I really need to drive myself nuts sorting out this problem with the gauge or do you think it is safe to let the one going to the ECM just do it's job? I am going to call freightliner and present this issue and see what they say.
__________________
evotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 02:56 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
greystroke's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring Hill, Florida
Posts: 814
I have reached the end of my tech abilities on this one. In the drawings I see one oil pressure sensor with switch and a oil temp sensor. I don't think there are seperate sensors just for the Computer.

Since yo said the fuel guage had a problem sometime you might have loose grounds at the panel.

You could ohm out the white wire off the sensor to the panel

Code wise I don't know. If your close to Spring Hill Fl I could check your codes for you with my VMSpc.

But by all means check with cummins. Can't hurt.
__________________
98 Endeavor DP, ISB275
RX300, Falcon II hitch, Brake Buddy
VMSpc, 2002 Grey Ford Powerstroke
TST 507 w/ 10 Sensors
greystroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 03:05 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
greystroke's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring Hill, Florida
Posts: 814
Found some ISB codes.

ISB Fault Codes List

You can scan the list and form an opinion.

This is why I purchased the VMSpc.

Tom
__________________
98 Endeavor DP, ISB275
RX300, Falcon II hitch, Brake Buddy
VMSpc, 2002 Grey Ford Powerstroke
TST 507 w/ 10 Sensors
greystroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 03:48 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
tom wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 193
the oil pressure sender is so easy to replace that is the first thing i do when the guage goes crazy. i have replaced mine twice. if it is the vdo sender it is warranted for 2 years. they are not expensive.
__________________
tommy wilson
1996 kountrystar
spartan mountainmaster cummins 8.3L
tom wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 05:10 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by greystroke View Post
I have reached the end of my tech abilities on this one. In the drawings I see one oil pressure sensor with switch and a oil temp sensor. I don't think there are seperate sensors just for the Computer.

Since yo said the fuel guage had a problem sometime you might have loose grounds at the panel.

You could ohm out the white wire off the sensor to the panel

Code wise I don't know. If your close to Spring Hill Fl I could check your codes for you with my VMSpc.

But by all means check with cummins. Can't hurt.
Greystroke,

First off. Thank you very much for all the time that you put into this for me. I did call freighliner and also talked to a cummins tech. Both said that there are 2 sensors. The one to the ECM is the important one and it will throw a code and go into limp mode if there is a problem. Replacing the (probably) faulty sensor for the gauge is an easy job. I just don't want to spend another $200 right now. It has been an expensive few weeks getting ready for this trip and fixing more important problems.
__________________
evotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 08:05 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
greystroke's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring Hill, Florida
Posts: 814
Well that is great info and I thank you for it.

I went to quickserve.cummins.com and put in oil sensor and there is two listed in the pictorial but it does not identify them.

The VMSpc will naturally read the computer sensor.

When I get back from my San Antonio trip I will locate them and do some tracing.

Good luck on your trip.

Tom
__________________

__________________
98 Endeavor DP, ISB275
RX300, Falcon II hitch, Brake Buddy
VMSpc, 2002 Grey Ford Powerstroke
TST 507 w/ 10 Sensors
greystroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
erratic oil pressure gauge rambler05 Roadmaster Motorhome Chassis Forum 16 03-21-2011 08:00 AM
Oil pressure sender location on an 8.1? doubleB Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 9 05-29-2010 08:47 PM
oil pressure woes gla Country Coach Owners Forum 10 04-22-2010 01:55 PM
Solution ? for Cummins ISL oil sensor problems Bikeboy57 MH-General Discussions & Problems 1 04-09-2007 04:48 PM
oil light warning on, owner says oil pressure is ok? Drives Mopars Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 09-13-2005 04:56 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.