Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-09-2015, 08:57 PM   #1

Excel Owners Club
Strange loopes in fuel filler area

I have a 2005 Forrest River Charleston on a Freightliner XC chassis. I am new to Class A life, but not to RV'ing, and certainly been fueling vehicles for ages!

I think this is a Freightliner item, but in each of the fuel filler areas, a little below the diesel fuel cap, is a wire loop. The wire is about 16 gauge, wrapped in clear plastic tubing, and is crimped to make about a 3/4 inch pull loop.

Wasn't sure if maybe it was to be pulled before filling with diesel, to maybe select which side I am filling from, but when I pulled one of the loops I could hear some air being vented. Maybe these are to vent moisture from air tanks?

Anyway, someone must know what these are for. The folks I bought the (used) rig from had no idea what they were, and they sell a lot of class A's

Been raining like crazy here in the Seattle area, or I would include a picture

2005 Forrest River Charleston 400TS DP
D and J is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!