RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2019, 12:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 42
VDC Problems

Hello all,

HAve a 2002 FLiner chassis under a Winnie LD. I am having guage problems ( speedo and tach) that Fliner says are related to the VDC. I have previously pulled the VDC and had a computer shop re-do the cold solder connections to correct a rear air guage problem. Which worked for about 15 minutes.

So, I am planning on replacing the VDC. I have run across some used ones at www.visonerv.com but with the usual disclaimer that if it doesn't work, tough twinkies. Not feeling that. Looks like $565+ for a new one from FLiner.

The big question is..... has FLiner corrected the faults that they built into these things back in 2002? Has anyone had success putting in a used one?
Thanks to anyone who can offer their knowledge and experience.
Darwin
__________________

medarwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-16-2019, 01:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Randy125's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 463
I replaced my VDU with a new one from Freightliner last year and I have about 11000 miles on it now and have had no hiccups yet. I think that the VDU gets a onetime flash from the ECM on mileage , so used one will not reflect your current mileage. Might want to verify that if going the used route.
__________________

__________________
2002 KSDP 3669/Freightliner XC CHASSIS/Cummins 5.9 ISB 300hp
Joplin, MO
Randy125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 12:40 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
FIRE UP's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 7,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by medarwin View Post
Hello all,

HAve a 2002 FLiner chassis under a Winnie LD. I am having guage problems ( speedo and tach) that Fliner says are related to the VDC. I have previously pulled the VDC and had a computer shop re-do the cold solder connections to correct a rear air guage problem. Which worked for about 15 minutes.

So, I am planning on replacing the VDC. I have run across some used ones at www.visonerv.com but with the usual disclaimer that if it doesn't work, tough twinkies. Not feeling that. Looks like $565+ for a new one from FLiner.

The big question is..... has FLiner corrected the faults that they built into these things back in 2002? Has anyone had success putting in a used one?
Thanks to anyone who can offer their knowledge and experience.
Darwin
Well,
Other than the cold solder issues for the air pressure transducers, I've not heard of any other issues with the VDC units. Ours is an MMDC which is the newer model of the VDC but, is not interchangeable. Hope you get your issues corrected with the new unit.
Scott
__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '08 GL 1800 Gold Wing
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 02:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
winniman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Muskoka Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,464
We took mine apart and re-soldered it. All was good. That was three years ago, and about 10,000 miles. As stated, the newer ones are different. If your repair only lasted 15 minutes, I would have to question the quality of the repair.
__________________
2000 coachmen santara 370 5.9 cummins isb
winniman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 06:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 154
I did the same early last year pulling my VDC off and re-solderd. I also have put close to 11000 miles on since with trips to Alaska and Montana. If your going to replace go with new. Regardless if they have improved the product it did stand up for 17 years on my RV and 70000 miles. So it could outlast your ownership.
bizzerbiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 08:45 PM   #6
Member
 
Snowmobile1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Kennewick, wa
Posts: 66
I bought a used VDC from www.visionerv.com after solder did not fix problem. It worked great. Do not think mileage is part of the VDC unless it just relays the information as my mileage did not change.
Snowmobile1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 09:05 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,553
VDC ?
__________________
Terry & Alice
2006 Bounder 38L DP
2012 GMC Terrain
firedoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 11:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 18,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by firedoc View Post
VDC ?
It's the computer that collects data for the dash gauges and broadcasts it from the engine / trans to the dash in Frightliner chassis ; it was used up till 2003 .

VDC ( Vehicle Data Controller or Computer )

File from Freightliner on testing gauges.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Freightliner gauges operation , testing.pdf (127.9 KB, 7 views)
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 01:14 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 42
I'm a little confused. Does a NEW VDC pick up the existing mileage from the ECU? Does replacing current with another used unit turn the mileage to zero (or to whatever miles the donor unit had on it)? New or used, is there the possibility that I would have to have the odometer recalibrated to reflect correct mileage?
Thanks if anyone knows.
Darwin
medarwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 07:36 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 18,504
Page 13 of the file I posted on testing the system ( post *8) give the speedo and odometer source of info as the engine ECM , I don't believe the VDC stores the info.
But maybe a call to Freightliner's free help line would confirm , tell them you're installing a new VDC and ask if there is any programming required.

Have your serial number handy.
1-800-385-4357
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 09:46 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Foothills, Yuma, Az
Posts: 1,004
The Engine CPU creates and stores the ODM, and other related info. The VDC only displays the info from the CanBuss
__________________

__________________
Dale&Susan, 08 Alfa Gold, DaGirlsRv Blog
2015 F-150XLT_1600W Solar_880 AmpHr
Magnum_MSH 3812 & PT100
gatorcq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ems, problem, problems



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freightliner VDC problems Sardogs122 Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 04-22-2018 07:47 PM
Air problem, location of VDC? smlranger Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 34 08-21-2009 03:45 PM
Air pressure problems where is VDC Brassmonkey MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 02-01-2009 07:09 AM
vdc ? liralen Monaco Owner's Forum 7 12-22-2008 09:42 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×