RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Travel Supreme Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2012, 02:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
thormsby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Front TV and video caera

I have an off the wall question. Is there a way to link the front TV and the camera monitor together so the cameras would display on both while driving? Sometimes it's just a little hard to see the small monitor.
__________________

thormsby is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-13-2012, 02:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BCooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,523
Most of the time the camera system is just a composite out. The problem is getting 110 to the tv...
__________________

__________________
2017 F350 Lariat Diesel Dually, White, Hitch Kit.
2013 Dutchman Voltage 3200 Epic II 5th wheel.
BCooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 02:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 179
Sure, I've got my satellite system plumbed in thru my back up monitor. Just need to “Y” the video signal from the camera to your monitors. Depending on your back-up system you may need an adaptor.
InfinityJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 10:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
slabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Plano TX
Posts: 2,224
"The problem is getting 110 to the tv..."

Help me out here.....wouldn't ALL TV's in a coach have a 110v outlet nearby to plug into?
__________________
Slabman
2014 Newmar Essex 4544
2007 Lexus LX470 Toad
slabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 03:49 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
Yes, but some are, by law, disabled with the ignition on. Mine has both.



__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 05:20 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Steve N Sal's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunner View Post
Yes, but some are, by law, disabled with the ignition on. Mine has both.
X 2
__________________
Steve & Sally / Hudson Our Little Pom / Heidi, Houston & HiTee Forever in our Hearts
04 NEWMAR MACA 3778 W22 / 05 PT Vert
Michigan (Summer) Michigan (Winter For Now)
Steve N Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 08:23 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
slabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Plano TX
Posts: 2,224
These TV's are disabled ELECTRICALLY by using a shut-off relay, wired to the ignition switch. It's really a no-brainer to remove that relay....and lots of people have done so.
__________________
Slabman
2014 Newmar Essex 4544
2007 Lexus LX470 Toad
slabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 07:32 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
TerryO's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Midland, Texas
Posts: 582
I've got the navigation running on our front TV. DW likes it and I even find myself using it because it's far easier to read than the little screen.
__________________
Terry & Gloria O
Midland, Texas
2012 Entegra Aspire 42RBQ, 2013 Ford Edge
TerryO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 03:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
BCooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,523
Yes, but not all have a long enough shore plug to reach. :-) Many of the units that have inverters do not connect the TV so that you are not in violation of the law whilst driving.
__________________
2017 F350 Lariat Diesel Dually, White, Hitch Kit.
2013 Dutchman Voltage 3200 Epic II 5th wheel.
BCooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 04:38 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
Speeding is against the law, but people still do that.



__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 06:52 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
TerryO's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Midland, Texas
Posts: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCooke
Yes, but not all have a long enough shore plug to reach. :-) Many of the units that have inverters do not connect the TV so that you are not in violation of the law whilst driving.
And some laws are dumb. Which is better, squinting at the little navigation screen or looking up at the large 26" screen that just takes a second to read? We're on the Entegra / Travel Supreme forum. I believe they all have inverters so we don't need no stinking cord. Anyone remember those "good old days" when we had to have those 12 volt coffee makers and such. I'm loving it!
__________________
Terry & Gloria O
Midland, Texas
2012 Entegra Aspire 42RBQ, 2013 Ford Edge
TerryO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 10:58 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,022
Two answers: First. if the "Front TV" is where the driver can see it, then by law it must be off, HOWEVER.. I think there is an exception when it's used as a "Rear View Monitor"

Second; is a 2 parter.. If the front TV can be operated while driving, THEN if it has A/V inputs (Yellow lead only needed) and you can identify the VIDEO lead in the connector which is most likley under the dash (I can tell you how to do this) you can simply tap it off and run a lead up to the TV.

IF it does not have A/V in, only RF, a Modulator (Radio Shack, Best Buy, Fry's most any A/V store) will convert NTSC video to RF for the antenna input (Chan 3 or 4)

To ID the video lead.

The camera connector will have 4 or 5 leads.
One is somewhat clearly a GROUND (may also be a shield on a coxaial lead)
One is power, usually 12 volts
One is Video
The remaining lead(s) audio

With the speaker turned up take a DIGITAL volt meter and connect the black lead to a known ground (I use a test lead with clips to do that)

Touch the red probe to each unknown lead one at a time. A Straight pin can pierce the insulaiton, contact the wire inside and give you a test point.

Power will register on the meter, NOT on the monitor (usually 12-13 volts)
Label and move aside.

If you HEAR a sound,, audio, Label and move aside
If you ((or your partner)) Sees an effect,, that one is video, (Most likely to be shielded)

NO effect at all, NO reading on meter.. Ground.

Each company has it's very own connector, often used only by them, so unless you can get a break out box from the unit's maker that's it.

How I know this: I drive a gasser.. Ever try to line up a gasser on the pump with a partner who is absolutly NO HELP in those contitions? Right.

Well I found my Back UP monitor has a "B" input.

I got a "Door Camera" installed it in a panel near the Gas Cap (under the filler in fact) and now.. When I pull into Murphy's I hit the A/B button, and when the pump is in the center of the screen. The filler tube is centered on the pump, 1st try every time.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 01:55 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
Does the voltmeter need to be in the ohm function to hear a sound or see a video change?



__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 02:19 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Ramblin's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Ford Super Duty Owner
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunner View Post
Does the voltmeter need to be in the ohm function to hear a sound or see a video change?
I'd guess you set it to measure 12VDC.
__________________

__________________
2002 National Dolphin LX 6356
Workhorse W-22 chassis
Don't believe everything you think.
Ramblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
soft ceiling areas and soft sidewall issues fsubob2003 Expandables, Hybrids, & Lightweights Discussion 30 04-20-2012 09:49 AM
Question on trailer lights and tool for changing oil moejean Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 11 03-18-2012 08:51 AM
adding batteries and isolator KayLarGo MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 03-14-2012 03:32 PM
Introduction and question Teddyspapi Monaco Owner's Forum 4 03-13-2012 07:02 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.