Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2013, 10:14 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
tnrzryd's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,022
Aqua hot basement heat

I'm trying to set the thermostat for the basement heating. Found the white colored thermostat and know how to set the temp. However there is a small slide switch on top to turn on the device. Looking closely the small lever is marked off and there is an arrow pointing to the Right. That is the position it is in now. My assumption is that the lever must be moved to the left to activate. It is stuck and I'm afraid to force it. Anyone know if there is a trick to making it move right?
__________________

__________________
Tom and Regina
2013 Entegra 44DLQ
tnrzryd is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-03-2013, 10:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 162
Tom--
You just have to force it---I had the same question and sure enough it doesn't break it is just hard to move---go for it!
__________________

__________________
Chuck, Judy, Sam and Willie (The Boys)
2013 Anthem 44 DLQ
2007 GMC 2500 HD 4wd
iquailhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:36 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
DSL417's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6,208
Blog Entries: 2
Tom,

Thought the same thing. Day before yesterday, I just did it...moves hard, but it does.
__________________
Dave and Beth
2015 Cornerstone 45J
Ford F-150 and 2016 Polaris Razor
DSL417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
tnrzryd's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,022
Thanks guys. I'll give a try later today.

I'm going to hijack the thread and ask a semi related question. I noticed that some but not all lights in the basement are on when I open a bay door. Are they automatic or must each be turned on/off with their individual rocker switches? I did open each bay and turned off each light just in case. The lite in the genset compartment was left on by the dealer - caught that one the first night out.
__________________
Tom and Regina
2013 Entegra 44DLQ
tnrzryd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 06:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
dusty56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 610
Tom the basement lights are all manual on and off. Dealer must just left them all on. you will need to turn all of them off. Then when you open the door turn it on at the light switch.

I found a fix, we are installing two switches on the passenger side exit that will turn on the basement lights when you exit the bus to go outside and open the cargo doors. it beats fumbling around for the light at night. Just a quick fix that I have seen on some of the other Entegras at Lazydays. it would be a nice if the factory thought of it first.
__________________
Lisa & Mike
2017 KA
dusty56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 06:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
DSL417's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6,208
Blog Entries: 2
May have been part of the reason that the batteries were run down. Constant pull in cool temperatures, that draw from the batteries would have been enough.
__________________
Dave and Beth
2015 Cornerstone 45J
Ford F-150 and 2016 Polaris Razor
DSL417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 04:14 PM   #7
Member
 
mfrazier's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 66
Lisa/Mike
Can you give detail on your switch install - maybe even a picture? If it is a quick fix that implies the wires are readily accessible to run to a switch.
__________________
Mike and Cindy
2013 Entegra Anthem RBQ
2009 Escalade 4 down
mfrazier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:36 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Ultratravler's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 365
Dusty56, I would be interested in the switch's as well. Thanks
__________________
Ultratravler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:48 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
MRUSA14's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,529
I put a switch like this in my Beaver. The big question is where is the main supply line for the lights in relation to where you want the switch. Unfortunately for me my 12V fuse panel is in the bedroom, so that was where I had to install the switch unless I wanted to run a wire all the way to the front, and there was no easy way to do that. Cs a result the switch did not serve me very well as it was inconvenient to use.

I imagine you would have to run a wire from the 12V fuse panel in the Entegra also to the desired switch location. I would be interested in know how/where they ran the wire going from the switch location to the electric circuit.
__________________
Marc and Jill, Wellington FL
2013 Entegra Anthem 44SL
MRUSA14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
dusty56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrazier View Post
Lisa/Mike
Can you give detail on your switch install - maybe even a picture? If it is a quick fix that implies the wires are readily accessible to run to a switch.
I will start off by saying sometimes things are a lot easier in theory than in real practice. Two methods I saw from Entegra owners, both work one requires relocating wire to the front of the bus and the other requires a work around for the awning wind sensor.

The fuse panel in the bathroom is clearly marked left cargo and Right cargo basement lights (if my memory serves me well). You can do a switch at the fuse panel that would be the easy way to do it. I have seen one Entegra done that way and it works well. You just have to remember to turn it on before you go out to the cargo bay area.

The method I am choosing is to have the switch mounted at the entrance door at the front of the coach. Seams logical you go outside to get something in the cargo area you hit the switch on the way out and the cargo area is lighted. You turn it off when you enter the coach. You will have to locate the light in the cargo area that has the hot lead coming from the fuse block (remember left side and right side so you will need two switches). You tap into that lead and run a wire to the front passenger wheel opening and feed the line up into the coach and connect your switches. Same for the other side. That will give you the ability to have your Ds /Ps switches at the door.

Now for the disclaimer, apparently Entegra has the girard awning wind sensor on the same fuse. I think it is in the 12v plug in the cargo area. If you chose method one (the two switches at the cabinet in the bathroom) when you turn the switch off for the cargo lights you also disconnect the wind sensor for your awning and the 12 v plug. The go around is to have the awning sensor re-directed to another live 12v wire in that situation.

If you are somewhat handy with electrical you should not have a problem. Any tech can accomplish the same in about an hour labor plus materials. I hope this helps those that are interested in the mod. Either way it requires some work.
__________________
Lisa & Mike
2017 KA
dusty56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:48 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
dusty56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrazier View Post
Lisa/Mike
Can you give detail on your switch install - maybe even a picture? If it is a quick fix that implies the wires are readily accessible to run to a switch.

just a quick update on the cargo light installation. I attached some pictures. Decided not to chase wiring, instead I used .99 cent door jam switches. I had some in my garage from former projects. If you are familiar with GM cars the switch becomes the ground. Same as an alarm system. The white wire going into the lights in the cargo compartment is the ground. Cut the white wire, and connect it to the switch that you installed, which becomes the new ground, Door opens,light goes on, door closes lights go off. Installed 10 switches at 99 cents, took about 10 to 15 minutes per door. Results each door when opened lights up that cargo light. You still have the option of doing in manually for each door. No draw on the battery when door is shut. You can find these on ebay, a parts store or auto alarm store. I have seen them for as little as 79 cents. Questions send me an email. $10 dollars and 1 1/2 time to do it.

Just a thought, you can attach an alarm as well, someone opens a cargo door engine door or generator door, it will trigger the alarm for further protection. Haven't gone that far but it could probably be hooked up to the existing alarm that we have now if someone breaks the glass.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Entegra cargo lights 007.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	491.9 KB
ID:	33626   Click image for larger version

Name:	Entegra cargo lights 009.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	313.7 KB
ID:	33627  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Entegra cargo lights 013.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	178.7 KB
ID:	33628   Click image for larger version

Name:	Entegra cargo lights 014.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	203.0 KB
ID:	33629  

__________________
Lisa & Mike
2017 KA
dusty56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:39 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnrzryd View Post
I'm trying to set the thermostat for the basement heating. Found the white colored thermostat and know how to set the temp. However there is a small slide switch on top to turn on the device. Looking closely the small lever is marked off and there is an arrow pointing to the Right. That is the position it is in now. My assumption is that the lever must be moved to the left to activate. It is stuck and I'm afraid to force it. Anyone know if there is a trick to making it move right?
After you "force it" once, you will be comfortable. I thought that I would certainly break it since it was just a little piece of plastic, but didn't. It remains stiff, but not as much as the first time you turn it on. "Warm" regards.
__________________
slowspokes1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:18 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
tnrzryd's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowspokes1 View Post
After you "force it" once, you will be comfortable. I thought that I would certainly break it since it was just a little piece of plastic, but didn't. It remains stiff, but not as much as the first time you turn it on. "Warm" regards.
I finally "forced it" and it works just as you state. Good thing too as we recently had a mid - 20s night and the basement remained nice and toasty.
__________________

__________________
Tom and Regina
2013 Entegra 44DLQ
tnrzryd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.