Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2017, 11:29 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 14,591
Do they have to go through the closet floor to change AC Compressor?

For those that have had dash A/C compressor changed, did they have to go through the closet floor to get to it? Need to know if the closet needs to be unloaded before tomorrows appointment.

I know a skinny guy can get to it from outside, but not sure about "most" shops. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Classic" 2014 Entegra Anthem 42RBQ
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-24-2017, 11:34 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 170
On my 2013 Anthem they didn't NIRV did it all from outside while we were in the coach. Took a while though, they had to clean all the lines, etc out. Plus they had to order another part that the debris from the compressor failing caused to also go bad.
__________________

__________________
roadrunning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 12:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Milford, Michigan
Posts: 682
Spartan changed ours from the outside only.
__________________
2013 ANTHEM RBQ
AL and Sally and Ava and Ivy
jestal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 12:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 14,591
Good to know thanks. I have already asked them to have an accumulator on hand before they start and I do want the lines flushed. Thanks for the heads up.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Classic" 2014 Entegra Anthem 42RBQ
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 08:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Milford, Michigan
Posts: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
Good to know thanks. I have already asked them to have an accumulator on hand before they start and I do want the lines flushed. Thanks for the heads up.
Ideally they should disconnect the lines at the compressor and the fittings at the condenser. Back flush the condenser itself with mineral spirits or brake clean and compressed air. Same for the long chassis hose connecting the compressor to the condenser. Flush from the condenser end with brake clean and air. Replace the accumulator and that is the best you can do. Nice also to back flush the line from the condenser to the accumulator but that is more difficult and likely the condenser is holding most of the debris so there should be much less to worry about with the condenser to accumulator line. In any case.....you are likely to have a plugged accumulator within the next year so it would be preventative maintenance to just evacuate the system, replace the accumulator again and recharge when you are back at home. Used to be able to put a filter in the liquid line to catch the debris but now the accumulator becomes the filter as it is somewhat designed that way anyway and is not that difficult to replace again later.
__________________
2013 ANTHEM RBQ
AL and Sally and Ava and Ivy
jestal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 03:18 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 14,591
Thanks for the heads up Al. I am at the mercy of the shop and hope they do it all correct. They can say it's been done......but?
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Classic" 2014 Entegra Anthem 42RBQ
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 06:38 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
lowejug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: st george
Posts: 755
are you getting any help from spartan on this?

your probably like me and just outa warranty but wondering if you asked for some help..

I have my anthem in the shop as we speak for the yearly service.. I felt my dash air was not very cold on my last trip out and they are telling me one of my hoses
is leaking freon and my system was low... my chassis warranty officially expired 9/6/17..

my shop called spartan and they said send some photos and they might warranty it... my fingers are crossed... should know today.. maybe they will help you..
because I think others have posted 2 grand cost for what you are faced with..
__________________
lowejug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 05:02 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Dieselgem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PA & FL
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by jestal View Post
Ideally they should disconnect the lines at the compressor and the fittings at the condenser. Back flush the condenser itself with mineral spirits or brake clean and compressed air. Same for the long chassis hose connecting the compressor to the condenser. Flush from the condenser end with brake clean and air. Replace the accumulator and that is the best you can do. Nice also to back flush the line from the condenser to the accumulator but that is more difficult and likely the condenser is holding most of the debris so there should be much less to worry about with the condenser to accumulator line. In any case.....you are likely to have a plugged accumulator within the next year so it would be preventative maintenance to just evacuate the system, replace the accumulator again and recharge when you are back at home. Used to be able to put a filter in the liquid line to catch the debris but now the accumulator becomes the filter as it is somewhat designed that way anyway and is not that difficult to replace again later.

Do you replace your accumulator yearly?
__________________
2015 Cornerstone (Classic) 45B Topaz
2013 Aspire DEQ Sold
Dieselgem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 05:14 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 14,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dieselgem View Post
Do you replace your accumulator yearly?
I am going to do this one after replacing the compressor just to make sure nothing was in the line. JMO, but cheap insurance.

lowejug: My warranty was up in May. I did not ask for any help. My A/C quit last year on the way home from our PDI. It was not covered. All it was was a simple thermister, but $750. to find the problem. Not impressed with Charlotte RV. in Port Charlotte FL. I had to go there for "maybe" warranty coverage as they were a Evens Tempcom dealer. This time, I just wanted good and have it fixed right.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Classic" 2014 Entegra Anthem 42RBQ
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 09:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Milford, Michigan
Posts: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dieselgem View Post
Do you replace your accumulator yearly?
No, only if something happens to the AC system and it has to be worked on and opened up. Anything that generates debris in the system (like the compressor failing) will inevitably send some tiny chunks thru the system regardless of how well cleaned the lines were. So, if i had a problem like chuck's I would put a fresh accumulator in with the repair and then change it in a year (hopefully) before it clogs from any remaining debris.

Even if a system is OK and just has a slight leak and the refrigerant is low I would replace the accumulator when it is recharged. The refrigerant used today (R134a) is more sensitive to any moisture in the system so the fresh desiccant charge is a preventative measure.

If the system is working fine and has not been opened for repair, no, I would not replace the accumulator as a matter of course.

Always replace the accumulator if you are converting an older system, that used R12, to R134a. Leaving the original accumulator in place when converting from R12 to R134a is the cause of many complaints with the R134a. R134A got a bit of a bad reputation years ago when it first came out and many systems were being converted as the supply of R12 dried up. The conversion will work fine with the R134a if the accumulator is replaced.
__________________

__________________
2013 ANTHEM RBQ
AL and Sally and Ava and Ivy
jestal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compressor, floor



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Closet ceiling can't support closet rod CARLnJANIS Excel Owner's Forum 17 12-07-2016 06:52 AM
Does MASA actually provide the service they say they do Nedra Just Conversation 3 05-22-2013 05:24 PM
DirectTV Transponders - What are they and what do they do? Logthumper Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 12-17-2007 10:06 AM
thetford did as they said they would bmanSC Damon 1 10-06-2007 03:41 PM
They Walk Among Us and They Vote SeeTheUSA RV'ing Humor & Crazy but True Stories 6 03-19-2007 05:44 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.