Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2013, 10:09 AM   #1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Troy Mo
Posts: 1,951
Econo mode selection

Do you guys with the Anthem or Aspire mh with the Allison 3000 tranny notice a difference in the shift pattern between normal mode and econo mode. My Anthem has no difference between the modes. My previous mh with the 3000 had a distinct difference. I ask Spartan about this and was told they don't program the econo mode on the 3000. I'm not sure I believe that and would like some feedback from you. Noel
__________________

__________________
loisjop is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-22-2013, 10:22 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ann n Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Stillwater, Ok
Posts: 3,507
I see no difference on my Anthem and did not on my previous Anthem. I thought it was just me. Allison says it changes the shift points and maybe it does and I have just not paid enough attention to notice. These things shift so smooth it would be easy to not notice those changes.
__________________

__________________
2016 Entegra
Cornerstone 45B
2017 Ford F150 King Ranch
Ann n Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:31 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Troy Mo
Posts: 1,951
Gene, I know there is absolutely no difference on mine. If the econo mode is programmed the tranny will stay in o/d a lot longer and shift much quicker from a stop. Mine does neither. I don't know the reason for not programming the econo mode unless they think the 450 Cummins has too much torque under a hard pull.
Mark, do you have any ideas, I know your Tiffin has the econo mode programmed. Noel
__________________
loisjop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:40 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
DSL417's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6,213
Blog Entries: 2
Curious, did you read up on your Owners Manual Disc. Its been several weeks now, and I didn't go through the whole thing when I was digging on my issues. I didn't even know there was an "economy" mode, and I didn't see anything about it. Most vehicles that have that mode will have a light on the dash indicating your in that mode or selected that mode.
__________________
Dave and Beth
2015 Cornerstone 45J
Ford F-150 and 2016 Polaris Razor
DSL417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:55 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Ann n Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Stillwater, Ok
Posts: 3,507
WHAT?????? Read the instruction book?????? All else has NOT failed yet, way too early to read the book! LOL. No I have not, just experimented while driving hunting better fuel mileage to no avail.
__________________
2016 Entegra
Cornerstone 45B
2017 Ford F150 King Ranch
Ann n Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:57 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Troy Mo
Posts: 1,951
Dave, your shift control panel has an econo mode push button and a light when that mode is selected, just no difference in shift pattern on mine.
__________________
loisjop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:20 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 179
Easiest way to find out is have a Allison tech plug into it and pull it up on the computer and tell you what the set points are. If it's not what you want or what is recommended by Allison then it's changed right then and you're good to go, and now know exactly what the difference is between the two.

Now that being said, when ever I have one changed we have the performance mode put in. All Prevost coaches come from factory with this function, even says perf on the keypad, with that setting on, the coach will downshift sooner and upshift later giving a better passing response for the driver. Most of those coaches come with 500hp series 60's that I've seen turned up over 550hp and others that have been replaced with the bigger 14-liter with horsepower closing in on 650hp - - what's fuel mileage when mines bigger then yours!
__________________
InfinityJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:19 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
DSL417's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6,213
Blog Entries: 2
Thanks, it appears once again, I signed off on something at the delivery run through that I didn't get or understand or both. Who'd a thought?

Your right Gene, we didn't even know we had one until Tom pointed us in the direction of the upper right bulkhead storage. Again, who'd a thought!
__________________
Dave and Beth
2015 Cornerstone 45J
Ford F-150 and 2016 Polaris Razor
DSL417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 162
NOEL,
I haven't seen one bit of difference in mine either and I have pulled some pretty good hills in my first 13,000 miles.
__________________
Chuck, Judy, Sam and Willie (The Boys)
2013 Anthem 44 DLQ
2007 GMC 2500 HD 4wd
iquailhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 04:43 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
hogdriver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wintering-Orange Beach AL
Posts: 2,916
Economy mode

There is a thread somewhere on IRV2 in either the Allison Forum or the Spartan forum about Econ mode. The tech from Allison discusses Econ mode and he basically said he runs his RV ALL the time in Econ, even on mountain passes. I'll try to find it. He confirmed as others have said the shift points can be customized and that Econ mode generally keeps the tranny in high gear more often vs seeking the perfect rpm.
__________________
Dave & Debbie
2014 Anthem 44B
2012 Jeep Rubicon toad
2016 Ford Edge toad
hogdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 04:52 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
bill2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 646
Wow it sure is great to have you guys who know this technical stuff on board to ensure all is functioning as it should. I have been using mine as I thought appropriate but I wouldn't have a clue whether it is working or not. Hopefully some resolution to this issue will be found.
__________________
_________________________
Bill
2017 Entegra Coach Anthem 44B/450 Cummins/Spartan
bill2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:15 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
Allison Transmission

The above link will supply you with the information on your transmission,
you will need the transmission ser number.
__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:37 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
hogdriver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wintering-Orange Beach AL
Posts: 2,916
Econo mode thread

Here's some info about Econ mode from the Allison Transmission thread


Econo mode operation

Hope it helps
__________________
Dave & Debbie
2014 Anthem 44B
2012 Jeep Rubicon toad
2016 Ford Edge toad
hogdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 04:15 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Troy Mo
Posts: 1,951
All of that is good. However, the problem is the econo mode DOESN'T work!!!! Noel
__________________

__________________
loisjop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECM set to Latch mode, not working mel s Caterpillar Engine Forum 7 04-02-2012 06:19 PM
econo mode flukey81 Allison Transmission Forum 12 09-01-2011 06:02 PM
Driving In Tow/Haul Mode When Empty Frank P. Martin Duramax Engine Forum 3 09-21-2009 09:08 PM
Info center nite mode jimandsue60 Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 6 09-14-2007 10:31 PM
Allison Trans Econo Mode Button? Lucchese1 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 35 12-08-2006 01:13 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.