Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2017, 06:43 PM   #1
Member
 
SAS2012's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
House Batteries and Main Switch

Having a Senior Moment here, so please bear with me. Coach plugged in to Shore Power, but only at 15 amp. Second Magnum monitor is showing a fault/low battery because I left the Main Power switch on. Disconnected from Shore Power and started gen to bring the batts back up.

Does the Main Power switch have to be on to charge the House batteries when the Gen is running? If I leave it off, will the House Batts still charge?
__________________

__________________
AL & Kathie Squarebriggs FMCA# F435718
2014 Entegra Anthem 44B
2017 Kia Forte5 SX Turbo/22ft Enclosed car hauler
SAS2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-20-2017, 06:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 15,087
If plugged into 15 amps push the "shore" button and set the amps to 5 amp on both inverters. Push the knob to lock 5 amps in. Batteries will now have power to charge the batteries and share amps with other items.....not much on 15 amps though.

Not sure what "main power" switch you are referring to? Maybe it's me with the senior moment. With the generator running you should be able to power everything and charge the batteries.
__________________

__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Classic" 2014 Entegra Anthem 42RBQ
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 07:09 PM   #3
Member
 
SAS2012's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Thanks Chuck,

I'll give it a try. Having a 30 amp outdoor plug installed next week, so I'm limping along at 15 for now. THe Main Power switch that I was referring to is the Batt Disconnect Switch.


Will try what you said.

Cheers,
__________________
AL & Kathie Squarebriggs FMCA# F435718
2014 Entegra Anthem 44B
2017 Kia Forte5 SX Turbo/22ft Enclosed car hauler
SAS2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 07:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 576
Yes
__________________
tfryman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 08:57 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 15,087
The only battery disconnect switch I have is for the engine batteries and will have no effect on the coach batteries. That explains why I was confused.

Also when storing on your "new" 30 amp service, setting shore to 5 amps will keep the batteries charged all the time, yet you can turn on and A/C and not worry about popping the breaker.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Classic" 2014 Entegra Anthem 42RBQ
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 09:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
gizmo123316's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: FMCA# F461871
Posts: 344
I have a 30A plug at home and keep my coach plugged in all the time. I have the inverters/chargers on 30A and can run 2 air conditioners. If I were to run anything else in the coach, I would turn off one of the a/cs. I don't think there is any need to set them to 5A when you have a 30A power supply if you are mainly just parking it for storage.
__________________
Bob
Shebandowan, On (near Thunder Bay)
2014 Entegra Anthem RBQ/ 2013 Chev Avalanche
gizmo123316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 09:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Butte64's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aiken County, SC
Posts: 1,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAS2012 View Post
Thanks Chuck,



I'll give it a try. Having a 30 amp outdoor plug installed next week, so I'm limping along at 15 for now. THe Main Power switch that I was referring to is the Batt Disconnect Switch.





Will try what you said.



Cheers,


Why only a 30 amp instead of 50? Not much cost difference.
Also make sure it is the proper kind of 30 amp receptacle. You don't want to feed 220 VAC from a dryer receptacle into your coach.
__________________
Jerry
2018 Entegra Aspire 42DEQ Sweet Victory
2017 Grand Cherokee
Butte64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 08:31 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
757driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo123316 View Post
I have a 30A plug at home and keep my coach plugged in all the time. I have the inverters/chargers on 30A and can run 2 air conditioners. If I were to run anything else in the coach, I would turn off one of the a/cs. I don't think there is any need to set them to 5A when you have a 30A power supply if you are mainly just parking it for storage.
Bob,

I think that if you plugged in to 30 amp with two AC's running AND your batteries were fairly low you would pop a breaker. If the batteries are already charged they only take about 1 AC amp to keep them there.
__________________
Don & Gerri
2014 Entegra Anthem 44B
2014 Honda CRV Touring

FMCA F443497
757driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 10:29 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
gizmo123316's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: FMCA# F461871
Posts: 344
Don,I use the coach so seldom in the summer that the batteries would be topped up all the time. When parked at home I rarely have the need to stay in the RV. Thanks, Bob
__________________
Bob
Shebandowan, On (near Thunder Bay)
2014 Entegra Anthem RBQ/ 2013 Chev Avalanche
gizmo123316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 03:58 PM   #10
Member
 
SAS2012's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Update - House Batteries and Main Switch

First of all - Thanks to everyone for their great advice and suggestions. It certainly is much appreciated.

The update is that we are now charging on both Magnum Energy monitors ! Why, - I have no idea. Here's what happened. Last night based on everyone's great input, I first disconnected the Shore power, fired up the Gen, let it run for an hour, no change. The 2nd monitor was still reading "Dead Batt Chg" and registering .6V. (red Fault light on, green charging light flashing). Shut down the Gen, restarted Shore power, (each monitor set to 5V), and left it for the night.

This morning, no change. The 2nd monitor was still reading "Dead Batt Chg" and registering .6V. (red Fault light on, green charging light flashing). Frustrated, I went to the Shore power outlet, pulled the plug, but then reluctantly, pushed it back in and went up to the house for a coffee. Came down about a half hour later and to my surprise, the 2nd monitor was now reading "Absorb Charging", and reading 14.4V.

At 5pm this evening, 1st monitor is reading "Full Charge" at 12.9V, and 2nd monitor is reading "Absorb Charging" at 14.4V.

I know very little about the system to begin with, but this is really weird. Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
__________________
AL & Kathie Squarebriggs FMCA# F435718
2014 Entegra Anthem 44B
2017 Kia Forte5 SX Turbo/22ft Enclosed car hauler
SAS2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 04:05 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 15,087
Anything electrical on our coaches not working always reboot first.
Also check the circuit breaker on the generator to make sure it is on .
__________________
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 11:31 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
757driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAS2012 View Post
First of all - Thanks to everyone for their great advice and suggestions. It certainly is much appreciated.

The update is that we are now charging on both Magnum Energy monitors ! Why, - I have no idea. Here's what happened. Last night based on everyone's great input, I first disconnected the Shore power, fired up the Gen, let it run for an hour, no change. The 2nd monitor was still reading "Dead Batt Chg" and registering .6V. (red Fault light on, green charging light flashing). Shut down the Gen, restarted Shore power, (each monitor set to 5V), and left it for the night.

This morning, no change. The 2nd monitor was still reading "Dead Batt Chg" and registering .6V. (red Fault light on, green charging light flashing). Frustrated, I went to the Shore power outlet, pulled the plug, but then reluctantly, pushed it back in and went up to the house for a coffee. Came down about a half hour later and to my surprise, the 2nd monitor was now reading "Absorb Charging", and reading 14.4V.

At 5pm this evening, 1st monitor is reading "Full Charge" at 12.9V, and 2nd monitor is reading "Absorb Charging" at 14.4V.

I know very little about the system to begin with, but this is really weird. Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Al,

From what you describe with what the two Magnum monitor panels are reading should be impossible. Somewhere you still have a problem.

The 12v lines from your two inverters are attached to the back wall behind your batteries. After the class T fuses there should be a short cable connecting the two inverter lines together prior to the two lines heading to the batteries. One inverters line goes to each bank (one top and one bottom). With the two banks of batteries (top and bottom) being tied together they act as one large battery bank. For you to have one inverter showing full charge at 12.9v and at the same time the other inverter is showing Absorb charge at 14.4v tells me you in essence have two separate battery banks, not one.

Either that interconnect cable has failed or was never installed or some other strange thing is going on with your 12v wiring from the inverters through to the batteries.
__________________
Don & Gerri
2014 Entegra Anthem 44B
2014 Honda CRV Touring

FMCA F443497
757driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 02:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
MoHoGo's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by 757driver View Post
Al,

From what you describe with what the two Magnum monitor panels are reading should be impossible. Somewhere you still have a problem.

The 12v lines from your two inverters are attached to the back wall behind your batteries. After the class T fuses there should be a short cable connecting the two inverter lines together prior to the two lines heading to the batteries. One inverters line goes to each bank (one top and one bottom). With the two banks of batteries (top and bottom) being tied together they act as one large battery bank. For you to have one inverter showing full charge at 12.9v and at the same time the other inverter is showing Absorb charge at 14.4v tells me you in essence have two separate battery banks, not one.

Either that interconnect cable has failed or was never installed or some other strange thing is going on with your 12v wiring from the inverters through to the batteries.
Don, you are certainly the authority on all things electric. But, just a thought from the peanut gallery... Could the readings he is seeing be the status of the chassis battery on one and the house batteries on the other?

Thing of my 2017 I do see something similar on the Vegatouch display.
__________________
Jim & Clatie
2017 Anthem 44A, 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited, Blue Ox Avail, M&G Braking
MoHoGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 03:09 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
757driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoHoGo View Post
Don, you are certainly the authority on all things electric. But, just a thought from the peanut gallery... Could the readings he is seeing be the status of the chassis battery on one and the house batteries on the other?

Thing of my 2017 I do see something similar on the Vegatouch display.
On a 2014 the only place you can read chassis battery voltage in on the Onan EC-30 panel, and then it only says "Engine Bat xx.x".
__________________

__________________
Don & Gerri
2014 Entegra Anthem 44B
2014 Honda CRV Touring

FMCA F443497
757driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
batteries, house batteries, switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batteries main and aux new rver RV Systems & Appliances 8 04-03-2017 08:42 PM
Isolation switches for main and aux batteries wongo mongo iRV2.com General Discussion 3 02-09-2017 06:54 AM
House lights running off house batteries while plugged into 50AMP iRent2u RV Systems & Appliances 8 10-07-2016 01:48 AM
Auxiliary Batteries vs. Main Batteries - which is which? Batteries dying.......😞 Napabeth Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 16 08-05-2015 01:54 PM
Battery Main and Aux switch won't turn off Mooneypaul Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 3 06-18-2014 10:02 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.