RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2019, 09:19 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
lp5151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Or-E-gun
Posts: 793
Rand McNally error

Our Rand McNally is cutting in and out...working/not working intermittently. with that said the rest of the info center seems to be working fine. also, I updated the Rand McNally a month ago which is when we noticed the problems starting. any recommendations as what to do next to correct the problem? would it hurt to re-install the updates? Or??
__________________

__________________
2019 Anthem 2019 44b
2019 Ram 1500
lp5151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-18-2019, 09:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
DebbieMH's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana & Alabama
Posts: 3,394
Call Riverpark in Elkhart. They will send you a new card.
__________________

__________________
Lynn & Dan Hochradel, & fur kids Carl & Alvin
2015 Entegra Anthem 44B with HWH Active Air
2019 Dodge Ram 1500
DebbieMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 09:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 21,437
Try doing a 12v reboot. It has fixed glitches in my GPS more than once.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B"
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 11:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 6,308
Blog Entries: 1
Rand McNally Customer service is pretty good. You say the problem started occurring after you did an upgrade.... that suggests you might have gotten an incomplete or corrupted software download. I would all Rand McNally and see what they can do.... Ive been impressed with them.

Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5Fi
Gary.Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 06:59 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 21,437
There was also a trick the worked on the Classic GPS. Remove the card, turn on the GPS and wait for it to asked for the card. Insert the card and let the unit do a hard reboot. That was passed on from Riverpark that someone posted. If still having problems, I would try a reload of your card. If your computer timed out during the updating of your card, do the update again. If the unit worked good up until the update, I would look at any of the update problem, reboots, reloads, etc.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B"
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 09:18 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pollock Pines, CA
Posts: 954
I agree with Gary and Debbie...corrupt SD card, call Riverpark, they're great folks and will work with you to resolve.

Riverpark 574-522-7781
__________________
John Arenz N6YBH
2017 Cornerstone 45B, 2012 JK Rubicon in tow
2014 Anthem 44B (sold)
RubiconTrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 10:32 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 21,437
Please let us know what the problem was. I am curious if I have to learn the new models all over again, or if the fixes from the Classic still work.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B"
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 10:43 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
TonyMac's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 2,878
My RM GPS was giving me fits. It would not switch to night shade, it would not display speed, it would hang up and get lost. I called RM and they had me reload the software. So far, so good. The trip planner is a bit wonky, but ok.
__________________
Cheers,
TonyMac
2006 Monaco Safari Cheetah 40PMT
TonyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 10:48 AM   #9
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 39,755
Our RVND7710 has done that and it was the power adapter. I've replaced two of them already and it is out again!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 12:19 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
lp5151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Or-E-gun
Posts: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyMac View Post
My RM GPS was giving me fits. It would not switch to night shade, it would not display speed, it would hang up and get lost. I called RM and they had me reload the software. So far, so good. The trip planner is a bit wonky, but ok.
This is problems I'm having. Currently reloading updates...per RM .
RM dock says I'm up to date...so calling RiverPark
Update: ran a RM diagnostics and found 3 corrupt files...did a repair which seems to have worked...now will do a live road test to see if problems fixed.
lp5151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 12:36 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 21,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by lp5151 View Post
This is problems I'm having. Currently reloading updates...per RM .
RM dock says I'm up to date...so calling RiverPark
Update: ran a RM diagnostics and found 3 corrupt files...did a repair which seems to have worked...now will do a live road test to see if problems fixed.
I have had that problem, it was because my computer went to sleep during the update. After that I made sure I stayed at the computer, got on the forum, etc until the update finished. Hope that is the simple fix.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B"
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 12:39 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
creativepart's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Spring Branch, TX
Posts: 1,169
When getting ready for my last trip I wanted to update maps as it's been a while. Usually, when I load in my trip plan from the RM Trip Planner it also updates maps. The dock software kept telling me my maps were up to date. But the Xite system kept warning of out of date maps.

I called Riverpark and they walked me though deleting on file on my SD Card. Then the next time I loaded the card in the computer it recreated the missing file and updated the maps. I should have noted the file name, but didn't, it was some config file in the RM Maps folder.
__________________
2017 Winnebago Adventurer 37F
2016 Lincoln MKX Toad
creativepart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 08:30 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
lp5151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Or-E-gun
Posts: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
I have had that problem, it was because my computer went to sleep during the update. After that I made sure I stayed at the computer, got on the forum, etc until the update finished. Hope that is the simple fix.
Did another update and diagnostic check on SD card. Rand McNally Dock found 3 corrupt files which it fixed. Took coach out on a test run and all seems fine.
lp5151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 10:57 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 76
My unit will come on but the screen is blank, so can't get to different functions, etc. Any ideas on how to fix it??
Thanks
Bob
__________________

macbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fatal error message on Rand McNally navigation system Breezy2006 Newmar Owner's Forum 3 03-10-2019 10:38 PM
Rand McNally Dock Error getting updates wlf00 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 1 07-21-2015 11:49 PM
Rand McNally RVND7730 + Rand McNally dock Ray,IN Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 12-04-2014 04:15 PM
Rand McNally GPS GaryKD Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 0 05-11-2011 06:01 PM
Rand McNally TND 700 GPS Pro's & Con's lllkrob Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 11-18-2010 07:51 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×