Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2013, 09:45 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Shore power at home

As a new owner I am unsure if I can connect in any way to the electric system at my home when my Aspire is parked at my house. And if so, what adaptors are required?
__________________

__________________
JeffK is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-12-2013, 10:06 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Kazoo Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 1,182
The adapters that you need are available at any RV dealer. I suspect that your unit has a 50 amp service, or maybe a 30 amp. You can by a 50 to 30 and a 30 to 20 amp adapter to plug into any normal household outlet. You will not be able to run many of the systems with this, but you will be able to operate the lights and get the battery charged. If you were to attempt to run the air conditioner you will probably pop the circuit breaker. In our case we had a 30 amp outlet installed near where we park. I can plug in and run most systems in the coach. I keep it plugged in 90% of the time when parked here at home. It allows me to run all systems (not necessarily at the same time) and keeps the house batteries fully charged. We are fortunate that we can park it here at home without hassle. As we live in sow country, it also serves as emergency housing if the power show go out.
__________________

__________________
Tom and Barb
'07 Winnebago Voyage 35L
Workhorse W22 chassis FMCA 219315
Kazoo Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 10:10 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
MRUSA14's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,516
If you just want to keep your batteries on charge and run light loads, you can connect to any household outlet with an adapter. I use a 20M-30F adaptor in combination with a 30M-50F adaptor for this. The advantage here is that you can use the 30M-50F adaptor by itself when you encounter an RV park that has 30A hookups but not 50A service. These adapters are available online, or at Camping World and most RV dealers.

If you want to be able to run AC or other heavy loads then you will have to get an electrician to install a 30A or 50A outlet at your house.
__________________
Marc and Jill, Wellington FL
2013 Entegra Anthem 44SL
MRUSA14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 12:49 PM   #4
Member
 
dianestew's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Green Valley, AZ
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffK View Post
As a new owner I am unsure if I can connect in any way to the electric system at my home when my Aspire is parked at my house. And if so, what adaptors are required?
We went ahead and had a 50amp service installed on the side of our home in Arizona for comfort when we load and unload. It really wasn't that expensive. if I remember right, it was around $150. Am very glad we did it so we can run heat pumps when parked here even though we can only park for loading and unloading (72 hours)
__________________
Stew & Diane and Marco Polo, Labradoodle
2015 Cornerstone 45B, Ford Flex toad
Green Valley, AZ
dianestew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 12:59 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
glenda1908's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianestew View Post
We went ahead and had a 50amp service installed on the side of our home in Arizona for comfort when we load and unload. It really wasn't that expensive. if I remember right, it was around $150. Am very glad we did it so we can run heat pumps when parked here even though we can only park for loading and unloading (72 hours)
Yes we did the same thing some years ago. We have a 50 ft. pad and full hook ups too. Added the sewage last year so if we need to dump tanks we can do it here. I suggest having an electrician come and install a dedicated line for your RV. Just safer that way and you won't overload your house usage.
__________________
glenda1908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:49 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Thanks for the info. I understand it now.
__________________

__________________
Jeff and Anne
2013 Entegra Aspire 43DLQ
JeffK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.