Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-13-2015, 06:11 PM   #1

The Logic of Jacks ?

I am new to the concept of hydraulic jacks as my only prior coach had full HWH air bag leveling on my Dynasty. So I am just trying to get an idea of how I should be using these. We tend to stay in some RV parks with gravel or non-concrete pads for the coach, or we have inhabited state parks in the past which virtually never have concrete pads. We have been warned that even on blacktop, one may create dimples in the black top if you use the jacks as the coaches are heavy and compress the asphalt. So, I don't know what I should be doing.

Let me digress. When parked next to a '14 Winnie Tour a few months ago, in an RV park with dirt and gravel spaces, I watched as he set his jacks automatically and watched as the rear jacks simply sunk down into the gravel. He then went down to the front office and got some 4x4s and placed some of those under the jacks and then again sunk the 4x4s and his jack pads down into the gravel and dirt and managed to bend three of his four metal jack end pads as the 4x4s slipped every which way and he needed to eventually replace three pads.