Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-11-2018, 03:45 PM   #1

Transfer Switch - Southwire 40350RVC in '19 Cornerstone

I am just beginning to look at the power situation in my new Cornerstone. I had, and loved, the Progressive Industries HW50C energy management system and assumed that I would install it into my new coach. As I have begun to look into this new Southwire Model 40350RVC, it appears that it is a somewhat similar unit, a transfer switch but also it has for additional money, a digital display which reads out errors, and it claims to protect against power surges, open ground, open neutral, low voltage (<102 VACV) and High Voltages (>132 Volts), reverse polarity, and high and low AC frequency. The optional remote monitor (~$70.00) supposedly shows the error codes. It says it is designed for circuits up to 65A on each leg, has 3350 Joules of surge protection, and will take the coach off line for 2.5 minutes when ity detects any abnormal condition before it tries to apply power again if the fault has cleared. It is unclear in my reading at this point if this is now a system that is able to deal with repeated surges or like the transfer switch on my Anthem, is a "one surge and done ("blown")) EMS system.