RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2018, 07:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 70
Two AC Input Sources.

I assume this question is largely for 757Driver.

I have an Entegra Aspire. I happen to have 1,340 watts of solar on the roof. So far I haven't had much opportunity to use it... but we will later. We're full timers (just started less than a year ago) and we're still on the East coast.

At any rate, in the near future we'll be in a campground with only 30A. We're currently in the South and it's hot and humid. On 30A I imagine I can run the normal house stuff and I'm hoping/presuming one AC unit. I know I can run the house on 15A.

Perhaps I won't find myself in this situation ever again... but it got me thinking. It would be nice if I could isolate the 110V system into two sections... AC's and "all other" (house). Then I could run the house off of Solar / Battery and comfortably run an AC or maybe two off of 110V.

Any thoughts? Is this a totally crazy idea..? if so, please say so. I'm not afraid of the work or the wiring. I'm experience in those fields but I'm at a loss regarding the intricacies of the way the rig is wired and the way the multiple system's work together. There must be an 110V transfer device, probably an active device, not just a passive bus.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.
__________________

__________________
2018 - Entegra Aspire, NIRVC
2011 - Subaru Outback
Just4Fun20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-21-2018, 07:11 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 99
Sounds like your looking to have the inverter assist when extra juice is needed. Think I have read where some Tiffins have this ability
__________________

KenZ71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 02:57 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13,517
You would need to replace your inverter/charger with this.

https://www.wholesalesolar.com/29403...3012m-inverter

When drawing more then 30 amps from shore power, it will supplement the power by using your battery bank.
The solar will help keep the batteries charged during these times and the inverter/charger will revert to charging when your not using all of the avalable shore power.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 04:57 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
MRUSA14's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,263
Yup. That is exactly what the hybrid inverter is desgned to do.
__________________
Marc and Jill, Wellington FL
2013 Entegra Anthem 44SL
MRUSA14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 08:56 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
757driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 3,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just4Fun20 View Post
I assume this question is largely for 757Driver.

I have an Entegra Aspire. I happen to have 1,340 watts of solar on the roof. So far I haven't had much opportunity to use it... but we will later. We're full timers (just started less than a year ago) and we're still on the East coast.

At any rate, in the near future we'll be in a campground with only 30A. We're currently in the South and it's hot and humid. On 30A I imagine I can run the normal house stuff and I'm hoping/presuming one AC unit. I know I can run the house on 15A.

Perhaps I won't find myself in this situation ever again... but it got me thinking. It would be nice if I could isolate the 110V system into two sections... AC's and "all other" (house). Then I could run the house off of Solar / Battery and comfortably run an AC or maybe two off of 110V.

Any thoughts? Is this a totally crazy idea..? if so, please say so. I'm not afraid of the work or the wiring. I'm experience in those fields but I'm at a loss regarding the intricacies of the way the rig is wired and the way the multiple system's work together. There must be an 110V transfer device, probably an active device, not just a passive bus.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.
To accomplish what you are suggesting with wiring would be very involved and complicated and may not be possible to run wires where you need to get them.

As others have suggested already a hybrid inverter may be just what you are looking for for load sharing/supplementing when on 30A service or less.
__________________
Don & Gerri
2014 Entegra Anthem 44B
2014 Honda CRV Touring

1100W Solar, 1200AH LiFePO4 FMCA F443497
757driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 03:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 70
Thank you all very much.

Yes the dual input inverter sounds like the cleanest, most reliable solution.

I appreciate the guidance.
__________________
2018 - Entegra Aspire, NIRVC
2011 - Subaru Outback
Just4Fun20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 06:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 295
I used to do that all the time in the Monaco I used to have, and as soon as I get the solar on the roof of the Aspire, it will work here too.

The 110 volt stuff is all ready split in our coaches. The left breaker box is everything that has to run from shore power.
A/C's
Aquahot electric heater
Cooktop
washer dryer
fireplace
inverter. (charger)

The right hand panel is all the inverter stuff.
Basically everything else.

To separate them, the only thing you have to do is flip off the inverter breaker in the left breaker box.

It's really mislabelled, it should say charger, cause that's all it runs.
With it off, the magnum's inverter side will contiinue to operate normally.

So (only) the solar will charge the batteries
The magnum inverter will power the right hand breaker box normally.
And the left panel will power all of it's stuff from the 30 amp shore power.

It works, honest. Go flip your breaker and try it.
__________________
Jim and Carol, plus furrballs Riley, Nikko, and Kobi

2017 Entegra Aspire, 2008 Monaco Knight, 2000 Fleetwood Pace Arrow
oneknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 07:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 18,311
Jim, I just learned something.....what a great way to make it work. Thanks for sharing that.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B"
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 10:07 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRUSA14 View Post
Yup. That is exactly what the hybrid inverter is desgned to do.
Both of the Magnum inverters on my Anthem are labeled on their boxes as Hybrid inverters. Is this part of the solar package? That might help explain the amazingly high cost for 2 100 watt panels and a little controller.
__________________
2018 Entegra Anthem 44A
DeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 04:49 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 18,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeGee View Post
Both of the Magnum inverters on my Anthem are labeled on their boxes as Hybrid inverters. Is this part of the solar package? That might help explain the amazingly high cost for 2 100 watt panels and a little controller.
Interesting. I skipped solar this time around.....didn't work in inside storage I will have to check if the inverters are the same.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B"
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 09:28 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
kevinantholt's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
You would need to replace your inverter/charger with this.

https://www.wholesalesolar.com/29403...3012m-inverter

When drawing more then 30 amps from shore power, it will supplement the power by using your battery bank.
The solar will help keep the batteries charged during these times and the inverter/charger will revert to charging when your not using all of the avalable shore power.
Just for Fun, check your current inverter, I have the solar option in my Aspire and that is the inverter Entegra has installed in my coach.
__________________
Kevin, Caroline and IZZY
-2018 Entegra Aspire 44B, 2013 Ford C-Max (Toad), 2017 CanAm Maverick X3RS
-2004 Tiffin Phaeton QDH40 (Sold)
kevinantholt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 01:41 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
LWBAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
Interesting. I skipped solar this time around.....didn't work in inside storage I will have to check if the inverters are the same.
Chuck, I believe Entegra installs the same inverters whether you opt for solar panels or not.

Like you, I passed on solar when we ordered our 2018 CS. I'm not adverse to running the generator and I figured we could buy a lot of diesel fuel for the cost of the solar option.

The inverters in our coach are Magnum MSH3012M's.
__________________
Larry & Amy Beckner
Scottsdale, AZ
2018 Entegra Cornerstone 45B
LWBAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 02:35 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 18,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by LWBAZ View Post
Chuck, I believe Entegra installs the same inverters whether you opt for solar panels or not.

Like you, I passed on solar when we ordered our 2018 CS. I'm not adverse to running the generator and I figured we could buy a lot of diesel fuel for the cost of the solar option.

The inverters in our coach are Magnum MSH3012M's.
I kind of figured they did being that all of the coaches are pre-wired for solar. Good to know that is a fact and they do have the 3012's.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B"
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 03:27 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
LWBAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
I kind of figured they did being that all of the coaches are pre-wired for solar. Good to know that is a fact and they do have the 3012's.
Didn't know that but I'm glad to hear it. Should mitigate any disappointment the next owner may have regarding no solar panels.
__________________

__________________
Larry & Amy Beckner
Scottsdale, AZ
2018 Entegra Cornerstone 45B
LWBAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two different voltage sources, one switch to switch between my 12 volt and 110 volt wrq1103 RV Systems & Appliances 23 12-01-2016 05:42 PM
CAT 3126B will not start need input on two CAT service centers (Gilroy CA) NathanJS Caterpillar Engine Forum 23 07-23-2016 10:31 AM
I have AC Input with 110 but not with 50 or 30 amp input Bluefoot53 Country Coach Owners Forum 15 06-27-2016 09:57 PM
Sources for drawer/door closures? InflatableBoats4Less Monaco Owner's Forum 6 03-01-2009 07:13 AM
Help switching between Internet sources itdave Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 01-02-2009 02:05 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.