Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum > Palazzo Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2015, 03:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Columbus, Ga
Posts: 12
Electrical connections

Can i connect a 50amp female plug alone with a 14 gag electrical cord with a male end. During storage i have a house hold outlet (110). in our covered shelter.
I did this with our Class C 30 amp with no problems. Not sure if i can with our 50amp class A.
__________________

__________________
Big Larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-30-2015, 03:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
audigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Larry View Post
Can i connect a 50amp female plug alone with a 14 gag electrical cord with a male end. During storage i have a house hold outlet (110). in our covered shelter.
I did this with our Class C 30 amp with no problems. Not sure if i can with our 50amp class A.
They make a cheater cord for this...15/20amp male on one end with 50amp female on the other.
__________________

__________________
Bob & Sandy
2013 Thor Palazzo 33.2
audigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2015, 03:38 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Berlin Kid's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 500
I have a 50 amp to 30 amp adapter along with a 30 amp to 20 amp adapter. Combo allows me to connect to everything.
__________________
Jim & Sandy, Columbus, OH
2014 Thor Palazzo 33.1 Folkstone
FMCA-F434648, TDC, FCOC
Berlin Kid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2015, 06:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,820
A 50 amp plug (NOTE PLUG) should NEVER be hooked to 14ga wire. That's a 15 amp limit

What I"d do.
Get one of the following.
50 to 15 adapter (Low cost, Hockey puck type)
50 to 30 (Dog bone type.. YOU should have one of these anyway) PLUS
A 30 to 15 (your choice of dog bone or hockey puck stylee

12 ga extension cord of the proper length this is from Either K-Mart or Sears (There is a reason for limiting to these suppliers) With a PUSH BUTTON on the OUTLET end of the cord.

Push button, plug in the 15 amp adapter and release button.

now all your "Conversion" is done (well if you go the two adapter you need to plug the 30 into the 15 amp adapter than the RV into the 30 amp adapter's 50 amp outlet)

And in fact.. I do it that way.

Oh, whey the Sears/K-Mart..... Only cords with that push button outlet on them.. You push button to insert or remove a plug from the socket.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 01:28 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Columbus, Ga
Posts: 12
electrical connections

Need help...In install a new 50 amp surge guard in the TV. While RV in in storage i connected a 50amp plug (male) with a female end.Then connected a 30 amp female then on down to a extension card 12 ga with push buttons (sear). I cut off my battier with a switch located inside box.

problem every time i turn power on and when the surge Procter cut on it trips the electrical outlet?
Did i do something wrong.
Big Larry
__________________
Big Larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 01:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Larry View Post
Need help...In install a new 50 amp surge guard in the TV. While RV in in storage i connected a 50amp plug (male) with a female end.Then connected a 30 amp female then on down to a extension card 12 ga with push buttons (sear). I cut off my battier with a switch located inside box.

problem every time i turn power on and when the surge Procter cut on it trips the electrical outlet?
Did i do something wrong.
Big Larry
Hi Larry, just plug it into a NON-GFCI outlet, and your problem should be solved. Change the outlet if there is not another normal outlet close.
I am not sure what you mean in the highlighted above?
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 03:26 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Columbus, Ga
Posts: 12
electrical connection

Thanks, I ran my extension cord over to a plug without GFC1 works great!
Surge kicks on power stays on .

Thanks,
__________________
Big Larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 03:37 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,747
Thanks for the update Larry, glad it worked......Happy Holidays to ya!
__________________

__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounder: Lost power to 3 kitchen electrical outlets WriteOn Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 23 11-27-2015 09:47 AM
Two Interior Electrical Outlets Not Working dlduck Class A Motorhome Discussions 7 11-15-2015 02:40 PM
2003 Kountry Star Electrical System Clarifications heyskipper Newmar Owner's Forum 3 04-12-2015 05:20 PM
I'M having major electrical problems Tumble Weed 5th Wheel Discussion 8 01-27-2015 07:22 PM
Tracking an electrical short? RufussSewell Class A Motorhome Discussions 8 02-14-2014 05:20 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.