Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum > Palazzo Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 04-15-2019, 01:36 PM   #1

New wannabe DP owner

Well as many of you my wife and I are considering an escape vehicle. We plan on short trips of 3-5 days but could be lots of driving. We are in Houston and like going to Big Bend about 500 miles away. We like the idea of dry camping and are really looking at the Palazzo 33.2 maybe 13-17 year models.

I have read many reviews about issues with Thor but I am very good at fixing most anything. I am an Electrical contractor and have a large shop with just about any kind of tool you can imagine. I work on electrical systems and have repaired TV's, computers', Scissor lifts, truck, trailers, etc... so I do not mind getting my hand dirty.

I really like the price point, layout, and features of the Palazzo, there does not seem to be much else in a DP in a small format and price range. The only negative I would have is the outside storage, inside looks great.

I looked at the Tiffin 32 breeze but to many issues with the Pre 17 engines and the 17's are more than I wanted to spend.
I also looked at the 26ft Class C Mercedes but I think its just too small and not able to pull a jeep comfortably. I have also looked a Class A gas in the 26-30ft but after riding in friends 34ft gasser it was really had a lot of engine noise, especially pulling up hills. He has since gone to DP

Any comments would be much appreciated while on our quest to find the perfect MH. We want to spend around 100k or so and would prefer a 15-17 year model