RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Rexhall RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2018, 11:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 39
Air conditioner still no go

We hhave 2 rooftop air conditioner in our 1994 Aerex

The front one works just fine. The one in our bedroom does not...

We checked the fuse box...no problem there...

SO, is the air conditioner kaput??

Thanks!

Mike
__________________

mftroop13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-10-2018, 05:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 14,219
If your generator runs, try the rear air with it running.

Some 30 amp RVs will not let you run 2 ACs at once. The power use is to high.

They often have a switch to choose which one you want to use when plugged in. The generator makes more power then the shore cord.
__________________

twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 11:39 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 39
Thanks We tried that...didn't work

mftroop13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 07:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Rexhall Owners Group
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 158
Mike,

If I restate the obvious, please don't take offense. Just trying to be sure you checked everything.

You said you checked the fuse box. Was there 120 volts on the output side of the circuit breaker? If yes, problem is down stream of the fuse panel.

Do you have 120 volts at the A/C unit itself? If not, there is either a break in wiring or if you have switch to turn the rear A/C on and off it is not working correctly.

IF you have power at the A/C unit, you may have a bad start capacitor, a bad thermostat or possibly a bad blower motor.

Before looking up the capacitor testing. listen to see if you can hear the compressor running or the blower motor humming. If the compressor runs, the problem may just be a burned out blower motor. If you don't hear either, time to check to be sure the thermostat is closing to start the compressor.

If the thermostat checks out, time to check the start capacitor and wiring in A/C unit itself.

I've probably missed something, but if the wiring in the A/C and the start capacitor check out, may be time for a new A/C unit.

Hope the info helps! Good luck and let us know what you ultimately find.
__________________
Jim & Lin
56safari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 04:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 33
Has the rear unit ever worked while you have had the RV? The reason that I ask is that a PO may have decided to change the wiring. As others have mentioned, 2 AC units at the same time is too much for 30A service, the generator will usually run both because it's output is often more than 30A.
I've read about modifications that some people do in order to run both AC units on 30A service, which can involve disconnecting one of the AC units from the OEM wiring and running another power cord to a 15A plug, which they in turn can plug into a separate 15A plug at the shore power. Sometimes sites will have both a 30A and a 15A plug.
With these older RV's, you never know what others have done to them. :-)
Our RV is a 1997 Rexair, it is a 30A coach, with 2 AC units. There is a special management box that manages just the two AC units, offloading one or both AC units when there isn't enough power. If we're on shore power and have one AC unit on, and then we try to turn on the other one, it will shut off the first and enable the second, and vice-versa. If we start our microwave up, it will shut down whichever AC unit is on until the amp draw drops below 30A. If we run the genset, we can run both units at the same time.

1997 Rexhall Rexair 35'
questvent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air, air conditioner



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is correct direction of air flow on air conditioner Biggee RV Systems & Appliances 10 08-21-2013 08:44 PM
Basement air conditioner air flow azloafer Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 63 09-07-2010 06:57 PM
Cold Air from Dash Air Conditioner ??? Barrow Bay Monaco Owner's Forum 11 06-10-2010 09:32 AM
Manual for True Air Air Conditioner? #2 Compressor Inop? FlyingW Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 32 09-05-2007 10:05 AM
Loss of Air - Basement Air Conditioner Ducts j griff Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 07-14-2007 10:18 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.