RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Rexhall RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2018, 01:37 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Rexhall Owners Group
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Wherever I park it.
Posts: 10
Electrical Problems, short circuit or worse?

A friend offered his driveway to park my 2002 Aerbus for a month while I stay at my son's house in Seattle.

He had had a 30 amp outlet installed for his own rig on the outside of his garage. Since mine is 30 amp we plugged it in. I was inside the rig and when he plugged it in and the microwave went crazy, the panel on it lit up, made a sparking noise, and went out.

I checked and turned off and back on the GFI and all the circuit breakers, then turned on the generator which started fine, but still no electric power.

Any ideas of what I can check/do when I go out there sometime this week.
__________________

Donna942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-11-2018, 01:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
krivanj's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
American Coach Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fort Pierce, FL
Posts: 713
I'm really thinking he had a 30 amp 220v outlet installed. Your motorhome does not run on 220v! A lot of people think a dryer outlet is the same as an RV outlet. They are both called 30 amp outlet.
You need an RV 30 amp outlet which is 110v plus a common and a ground.

IF I am correct, lots of stuff in the motorhome is fried.
( I do hope I am wrong, but suspect I am correct... :-(

Sorry....
__________________

__________________
Revolution LE 38X C9 Cat
2011 Scion TC toad
krivanj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 01:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Tugboat's Avatar
 
Mid Atlantic Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mayberry NC
Posts: 591
Send a message via Skype™ to Tugboat
Get a circuit tester. Start at the plug with adapter and work in.
I always plug one in before I even plug in my surge protector that will check the system before it opens the circuit if it finds something it will not send power to my unitClick image for larger version

Name:	power-gear-voltage-tester-50542-64_1000.jpeg
Views:	29
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	206721
__________________
2014 Columbus 320RS
2011, Ford, F250 srw, 6.7
Life member GoodSam, KOA, F.R.O.G
Tugboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 03:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 14,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tugboat View Post
Get a circuit tester. Start at the plug with adapter and work in.
I always plug one in before I even plug in my surge protector that will check the system before it opens the circuit if it finds something it will not send power to my unitAttachment 206721
What's he going to do with that tester. It won't fit in a 30 amp plug.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 03:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 14,248
You will need a volt meter with probes to see what voltage you connected to.

Take a close look at his outlet and see if it says 120 volts or 240 volts. If it says 240 volts, your plug should not have fit.

If its an incorrectly wired 120 volt 30 amp outlet, it will burn out everything that was on in your RV.

Converter/charger or inverter/ charger, microwave, fridge if it switched to AC, and what ever else was on.

Did your friend use an adaptor to plug in ?
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 04:01 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Rexhall Owners Group
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Wherever I park it.
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
You will need a volt meter with probes to see what voltage you connected to.

Take a close look at his outlet and see if it says 120 volts or 240 volts. If it says 240 volts, your plug should not have fit.

If its an incorrectly wired 120 volt 30 amp outlet, it will burn out everything that was on in your RV.

Converter/charger or inverter/ charger, microwave, fridge if it switched to AC, and what ever else was on.

Did your friend use an adaptor to plug in ?
He did not use an adapter. It was supposed to be a 30 amp, and had the 30 amp type opening.
Donna942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 04:05 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Rexhall Owners Group
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Wherever I park it.
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by krivanj View Post
I'm really thinking he had a 30 amp 220v outlet installed. Your motorhome does not run on 220v! A lot of people think a dryer outlet is the same as an RV outlet. They are both called 30 amp outlet.
You need an RV 30 amp outlet which is 110v plus a common and a ground.

IF I am correct, lots of stuff in the motorhome is fried.
( I do hope I am wrong, but suspect I am correct... :-(

Sorry....
This is what I am afraid of. I will let the home owner know. My thought was the electrician might have wired it for 50 volt but put a 30 outlet on it. Hmm, I wonder if my insurance will cover some of it if it's a big repair.
Donna942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 04:29 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Rexhall Owners Group
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Wherever I park it.
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
What's he going to do with that tester. It won't fit in a 30 amp plug.
I'm thinking it could be used with an adapter plug?
Donna942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 05:08 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Tugboat's Avatar
 
Mid Atlantic Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mayberry NC
Posts: 591
Send a message via Skype™ to Tugboat
I had said start at the plug with a adapter.
It is a quick check
__________________
2014 Columbus 320RS
2011, Ford, F250 srw, 6.7
Life member GoodSam, KOA, F.R.O.G
Tugboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 07:45 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 892
Chances are pretty good that it was wired for 240 volts. You have to get a meter and check the voltage. If it was 240 , many of the electrical item will have " fried ".

Have seen many electricians make the error of wiring the RV receptacles to 240 volt.
__________________
1993 Tiffin Allegro Bay 32'
Soppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 07:58 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
TonyMac's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 2,040
if you're like me, now's the time to buy a surge suppressor to check and approve the pedestal power before it smokes your rig. Like me, hopefully it only smoked your transfer switch. Your friend had this receptacle installed for his RV, so I'm assuming he used it in an RV application, so at one time, the receptacle worked for an RV.


Question: What was the power status of your rig when you plugged in the shore power? Was everything 120vac off, especially the air conditioners, 120vac usage at its minimum? I even turn off the fridge., and certainly the 120vac water heater.
__________________
Cheers,
TonyMac
2006 Monaco Safari Cheetah 40PMT
TonyMac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 08:32 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Tugboat's Avatar
 
Mid Atlantic Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mayberry NC
Posts: 591
Send a message via Skype™ to Tugboat
This is the one I use.

https://www.amazon.com/Surge-Guard-3...BxL&ref=plSrch

Click image for larger version

Name:	81YXQcq30RL._AC_SL1500_.jpeg
Views:	23
Size:	37.3 KB
ID:	206816
__________________
2014 Columbus 320RS
2011, Ford, F250 srw, 6.7
Life member GoodSam, KOA, F.R.O.G
Tugboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 06:19 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Hangfive's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Rexhall Owners Group
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 164
Unplug from the outlet and check your 110V circuit breakers
__________________

Hangfive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical, ems, problems



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newmar Messaging Problems or Worse? Sky_Boss Newmar Owner's Forum 6 04-13-2016 09:16 PM
Electrical circuit short Fat Fiat RV Systems & Appliances 6 11-21-2013 05:44 PM
Short Circuit K-Star 5th Wheel Discussion 5 04-22-2005 07:23 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.