RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-21-2019, 03:10 PM   #1

Creating Routes with BaseCamp

Sensing the frustration that some have with BaseCamp. Perhaps this will help. The information below seems like just too much work. But it really goes fast once learned.
Mac version but pc is very similar

Routes are a collection of waypoints in a specific order. If you can create one waypoint you can create several and from those you can create a route. I’m self taught and like a challenge, BaseCamp provided it. It is free and the only gps with its own application I have found.

Creating a Folder in BaseCamp
1. Folders and Waypoints (wp) reside to the left of the BaseCamp (BC) map
2. From the File menu in BC select “New List Folder” and change the name to “Test”
3. With Test selected. From the File menu select New List
4. The wp that you create will reside in New List (at the bottom of the column)

Creating a WayPoint in BaseCamp
1. The BC Tools menu includes: Hand, Zoom, Selector, Waypoint, Route, Track, Measure.
2. Select the wp tool
3. Move the wp tool to the BC map and click
4. A wp window appears entitled “001” which contains info about your new wp.
5. Under the General tab you can change the symbol and rename the wp.
6. Under the Advanced tab you can view the coordinates of your wp or change the coordinates.

Gathering WayPoints from GoogleEarth
Because of added features like Street View I prefer to use Google Earth (GE) and gather my coordinates there. I am going to create a route from Emporia, KS to the Garmin Headquarters in Olathe, KS.
1. Launch GE