RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2018, 11:28 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
C-Hymas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 20
Fuel stops don't work correctly



Works okay for a short trip. However, when planning a long trip the system seems to bog down and won't update the fuel level when you update how much fuel you plan to add.

Went back the next day, some were updated, others didn't show the fill amount, others show the amount in the RV being at full with the amount used being what it should.

For a paid for program I am expecting better interaction that this.
__________________

__________________
07 Monaco Dynasty AKA - the other woman
C-Hymas is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-27-2018, 04:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Mr.Goodbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Nolensville, TN
Posts: 95
I agree and no one has answered why the routing of a recent trip sent right up under a 10'0" railroad bridge, when I specifically set my RV specs to 11'6".
__________________

__________________
Tom & Kathy & our Goldendoodle, Sandy
2017 Thor Citation Sprinter 24SS (Diesel)
2014 Honda CR-V FWD, Blue-Ox Baseplate, Roadmaster Falcon 2 tow bar
Mr.Goodbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 09:34 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3
Frustrated

I just purchased this today and so far I think the concept is great, but it's very frustrating. The fuel stops don't take your added fuel into account and it's frustrating to work out a long and complicated trip and then have your start date change by a week or so with no way to update the program. I'm wondering if I just wasted 40 bucks...
GoJipSeeGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 09:36 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3
I thought it did that to me also, but when I zoomed in really tight I realized it was a side street that ran parallel to the main road.
GoJipSeeGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 01:28 AM   #5
Member
 
Mr.Goodbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Nolensville, TN
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Goodbar View Post
I agree and no one has answered why the routing of a recent trip sent right up under a 10'0" railroad bridge, when I specifically set my RV specs to 11'6".
The low bridge is marked in RVTW, so it knows about it being on the map.
I did zoom in to check it on Google Maps Satellite & Street View. The location in question is Geneseo, IL when coming from I-80 on the south side of town heading to the Geneseo Campground, RVTW tells you to take Illinois State Route 82 thru town which takes you up thru the 100 underpass. Fortunately, if you actually go that route, they have a truck route marked to turn right and it takes you around the low bridge. The campground website warns about this low bridge and to ignore your GPS and just follow all the blue and white signs to the campground. That route takes you straight up Oakwood St., across the RR tracks, left on Exchange St, then right on SR 82 just north of the low bridge.

Something like this, issue makes me wonder about the ability to route me correctly for other low bridges and underpasses based on my RV height setting.
__________________
Tom & Kathy & our Goldendoodle, Sandy
2017 Thor Citation Sprinter 24SS (Diesel)
2014 Honda CR-V FWD, Blue-Ox Baseplate, Roadmaster Falcon 2 tow bar
Mr.Goodbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 11:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
pbucha's Avatar




 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ft.Worth, TX.
Posts: 211
As far as I know, the fuel stops are working correctly. I'd like to hear for certain if they aren't, after following the information below.


At the beginning of your trip, it is assumed the fuel tank is full. As you plan your stops, the fuel warning icon will appear at the mileage point for your rig, based on the Miles Per Gallon, Fuel Tank Capacity, and Reserve Gallons you have specified in the RV Info tab, in the Trip Preferences. Somewhere around that fuel warning, you'll need to create a stop, either a specific fuel stop, or simply a campground with fuel nearby. In the details of that stop, where you would enter how many nights you are staying, cost, and other details, is a field for Fuel Added. Enter the number of gallons you have put in or expect to put in and it will show the next fuel warning at the appropriate distance as you continue to create your trip.If you look at that stop again, the Fuel Added will now be empty, but the remaining fuel will have increased by the amount you added, and as mentioned, the next fuel warning will show up at the appropriate distance on your map.
__________________
Ft. Worth / Dallas
2015 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH - All Electric
Cummins 8.9L 450hp
pbucha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 02:01 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
C-Hymas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbucha View Post
As far as I know, the fuel stops are working correctly. I'd like to hear for certain if they aren't, after following the information below.


At the beginning of your trip, it is assumed the fuel tank is full. As you plan your stops, the fuel warning icon will appear at the mileage point for your rig, based on the Miles Per Gallon, Fuel Tank Capacity, and Reserve Gallons you have specified in the RV Info tab, in the Trip Preferences. Somewhere around that fuel warning, you'll need to create a stop, either a specific fuel stop, or simply a campground with fuel nearby. In the details of that stop, where you would enter how many nights you are staying, cost, and other details, is a field for Fuel Added. Enter the number of gallons you have put in or expect to put in and it will show the next fuel warning at the appropriate distance as you continue to create your trip.If you look at that stop again, the Fuel Added will now be empty, but the remaining fuel will have increased by the amount you added, and as mentioned, the next fuel warning will show up at the appropriate distance on your map.
I have set up all the preferences and it works for a while. When you get to building a large trip and you set a planned fuel stop and adjust what you add for fuel the total doesn't always update and then the whole trip from that stop forward is off.

The program seems to get bogged down with the more you add to it.
__________________
07 Monaco Dynasty AKA - the other woman
C-Hymas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 03:12 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,497
I add my fuel stops in one of 2 ways...

1. Pre-planned in the route with out any fuel added until I actually do add fuel.

2. On the fly and then admit after the route has been built.

Personally, I use the fuel stop indicator as a ball park time to refuel. It is kinda nice but not essential. However, my experience over 3 years of travels and use of RVTW is that it works as expected.
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 10:52 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Moxxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Boss View Post
I add my fuel stops in one of 2 ways...

1. Pre-planned in the route with out any fuel added until I actually do add fuel.

2. On the fly and then admit after the route has been built.

Personally, I use the fuel stop indicator as a ball park time to refuel. It is kinda nice but not essential. However, my experience over 3 years of travels and use of RVTW is that it works as expected.
What is the name of this 'fuel stop' program?
__________________
2008 Itasca Suncruiser 38T
Moxxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 10:55 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Moxxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moxxi View Post
What is the name of this 'fuel stop' program?
Never mind.
Looks like maybe 'Trip Wizard '?
__________________
2008 Itasca Suncruiser 38T
Moxxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 02:08 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
The Trip Wizard fuel stops portion does not work at all.
When I add a fuel stop and "add Fuel" the next stop shows a negative fuel value.

I'm not impressed with the software so far.
Essayon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 02:53 PM   #12
Member
 
Fanukalum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: SW FL
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Essayon View Post
The Trip Wizard fuel stops portion does not work at all.
When I add a fuel stop and "add Fuel" the next stop shows a negative fuel value.

I'm not impressed with the software so far.
Sorry , but your not doing it right. I have used trip wizard for to years including planning several long trips. It is not the simplest way to do fuel stops but it does work.
__________________
B Sears
2016 Palazzo 36.1 2019 Dutch Star 4310
2015 jeep 4d wrangler
Fanukalum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 10:41 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Knightab's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,387
The fuel stops is all messed up. I gave up on it
__________________
2015 Thor ACE 29.3
https://rvhappenings.blogspot.com/
Ohio, 900 Watts Solar 400 ah lithium batteries, 2014 Honda CRV Toad
Knightab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 07:30 PM   #14
Member
 
Oldmso54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Winter Springs, FL
Posts: 43
I've had decent experience with the fuel added function but it also has failed to register and update too. In that case I deleted the fuel stop, went back to the beginning of the trip to make sure all entries were accurate and updated, and then added the fuel stop back in and it corrected itself to the correct calculation. Cumbersome... but it did end up working...
__________________

__________________
Shawn, Susan & Maya (aka "The Baby")
Oldmso54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuel



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low bridge/rest stops/trk stops for US wb7auk Just Conversation 10 03-03-2014 06:38 AM
Wired new toad for "All" tail lights to work correctly. FIRE UP Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 03-03-2012 07:21 AM
Correctly Driving Your Big Rig Chickadee Newmar Owner's Forum 31 02-02-2010 03:06 PM
Step Light Wired Correctly? JavaJelly Newmar Owner's Forum 6 12-22-2006 12:31 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.