RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2019, 10:33 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
Fuel Warnings

I am planning my first trip with this software. The trip is 2200 miles. I have defined my fuel tank size, fuel consumption and reserve. I get no fuel warnings for my entire trip. I search everywhere in this software if there was a button or a filter to enable/disable this feature and I have not found one. I changed my configuration such that I want to burn only 10 gallons of fuel (I set my reserve to be high) so that a warning would show close to my departure point. No fuel warning at all.

I watched videos to see if I missed something and I have used 2 different browsers just in case.

How do I turn this feature on ? Thanks.
__________________

Bill_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-28-2019, 04:19 AM   #2
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,655
I just checked and it doesn't appear to be working. Send them an email, should be an easy fix.



I find it best to drive on the top half of my tank. At half tank I start looking. I find fuel warning a bit useless. If I am doing mountain driving I use a lot more fuel than if I am doing prairie driving. I a
__________________

__________________
Sue and Tom

2015 Winnebago Vista 36Y
Sue46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 04:44 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
pbucha's Avatar




 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ft.Worth, TX.
Posts: 242
The fuel warnings have worked perfectly in the past. Just did a test and something is definitely up. I'm sure we'll see a fix in a day or two.
__________________
Ft. Worth / Dallas
2015 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH - All Electric
Cummins 8.9L 450hp
pbucha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 06:30 AM   #4
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,586
Yup, not working for me either.
__________________
Tim
Tampa Bay
'07 40' American Tradition & '14 Honda CRV
timjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 06:35 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by timjet View Post
Yup, not working for me either.
DITTO for a new trip not started.

However, I have a previous trip that still shows the fuel stop. Go figure.
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 06:50 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sue46 View Post
I just checked and it doesn't appear to be working. Send them an email, should be an easy fix. I a
I will send them an email for support. In the past, I have received no answer from them. I will keep this post updated.
Bill_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 10:40 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
I received the following response from the company: "I did some additional testing and found similar behaviour. I have used the fuel functionality for years, and I know it works great. I reached out to our development team and learned they are indeed having some issue with the fuel functionality. They are estimating they will have the issue fixed on Tuesday."
Bill_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 09:05 AM   #8
Community Moderator
 
JMonroe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Deer Creek, Davenport FL
Posts: 7,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sue46 View Post
...I find it best to drive on the top half of my tank. At half tank I start looking. I find fuel warning a bit useless. If I am doing mountain driving I use a lot more fuel than if I am doing prairie driving. I a
I know it's been a while since you posted this, but...

I too like to drive off the top half of the tank although that gives enough reserve that any difference between estimated and actual mileage is unlikely to cause me a problem.

Second point, for every up there is a down. I find mountain driving generally has little effect on my fuel mileage. If watching the real time mpg it may read 2.0 on the steep uphill but will max out at 99 on the downside.
__________________
Jay & Peggy Monroe with Dolly
Can't take it with you - don't plan on leaving any behind
2016 Newmar London Aire 4553, Spartan chassis
2017 GMC Acadia toad
JMonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 10:42 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMonroe View Post
I know it's been a while since you posted this, but...

I too like to drive off the top half of the tank although that gives enough reserve that any difference between estimated and actual mileage is unlikely to cause me a problem.
Class A are typically shorter than a truck/5th wheel so choosing a gas station might be easier when using a Class A. I find the gas station with the pumps parallel to the building to be the easiest but they are not available at each exit on the interstate. My preference is to use the software to estimate the 1/2 tank then find the closest location where it will be easy for me to refuel. The gas station can be viewed with Google maps within the application. The low fuel warning is an advertised feature of the software so it should be available.

The software manufacturer did a change to the software. It will now estimate properly the first low fuel warning however the software does not save to the server with the trip the refills that were done during planning. Consequently, each time a trip is open the location of the low fuel warning is always at the same location. The software manufacturer is working on another patch.
Bill_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 06:42 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill_21 View Post
...

The software manufacturer did a change to the software. It will now estimate properly the first low fuel warning however the software does not save to the server with the trip the refills that were done during planning. Consequently, each time a trip is open the location of the low fuel warning is always at the same location. The software manufacturer is working on another patch.
You can "reset" the full warning by adding a stop or using an existing stop to update fuel status.

As an example, if you refuel at a location within a few miles of your programs stop you just go to that stop and edit it to reflect the fuel added. Otherwise, if you refuel somewhere in between, add the stop with zero days and inter the fuel added.

You might have to close the trip and reopen it for the fuel warning to update. No big deal.
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 06:43 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill_21 View Post
I received the following response from the company: "I did some additional testing and found similar behaviour. I have used the fuel functionality for years, and I know it works great. I reached out to our development team and learned they are indeed having some issue with the fuel functionality. They are estimating they will have the issue fixed on Tuesday."
I also "lost" the fuel warning about the same time others reported the problem but it appears to be working normal again.
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 06:43 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Victory Blue's Avatar
 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill_21 View Post
Class A are typically shorter than a truck/5th wheel so choosing a gas station might be easier when using a Class A.
Although itís not the point of this thread I have to offer a different view based on knowledge. There are some shorter class As but, in my experience, you have this backwards; I often see 5th wheels (even long ones) make turns I wouldnít attempt. Iím almost 70í long towing and I canít back up while towing so finding accessible fuel is critically important to me.
__________________
Bill & Lynne
Memphis, TN
2017 Entegra Anthem 44B - Victory Blue
2016 Ford Edge Titanium
Victory Blue is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 10:57 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Boss View Post
You can "reset" the full warning by adding a stop or using an existing stop to update fuel status.

As an example, if you refuel at a location within a few miles of your programs stop you just go to that stop and edit it to reflect the fuel added. Otherwise, if you refuel somewhere in between, add the stop with zero days and inter the fuel added.

You might have to close the trip and reopen it for the fuel warning to update. No big deal.
Correct however once you close your trip and open it again, the added fuel needs to be added again because it did not get saved. The manufacturer have done a 2nd update on low fuel but I have not tested it yet.
Bill_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 01:28 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Fuel Indicator

I just got Trip Wizard. I started planning my trip. My fuel usage from my starting point to my first stop is correct, but I am not adding fuel at my first stop. When I look at the second stop (which is where I am adding fuel), it only shows fuel comsumption between stops 1 and 2, not from my starting point.

Also, for future fuel stops, I put in the cell that I added the amount of fuel it shows that I consumed, but it doesn't seem to register that I have filled up. I plan to put in the actual information while I am on the trip, but like to pre-plan my stops as I plan my trip.

Pretty sure that this is probably user error, but can't figure it out. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
__________________

shuggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuel



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Gear Level warnings Goldseabreeze National RV Owner's Forum 11 12-10-2011 04:27 PM
Redneck warnings...................... mick RV'ing Humor & Crazy but True Stories 1 10-23-2011 05:32 PM
TPMS false WARNINGS, self-induced Paul T Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 07-06-2011 05:51 AM
Here at Nappanee - Flash Flood Warnings JavaJelly Newmar Owner's Forum 7 02-06-2008 02:39 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.